How to get the best car insurance in Nevada
Part of getting car insurance that meets your own needs includes meeting the legal requirements in your state. Compare the kind of coverage you’ll need to meet Nevada’s minimum requirements and how the state’s laws can impact you behind the wheel, plus find the best car insurance rates.
- Top-rated insurer
- Online quotes & claims
- Bundle and save
Our top pick: Progressive
Save up to 31% with safe driver discounts and bundling all your rides in one convenient policy.
- Top-rated insurer with 80 years of experience
- Easy online sign-up and reporting
- Multiple discounts available
- Transparent quoting
Car insurance quick facts
Minimum liability requirements
Average car insurance costs in Nevada
Nevada comes in right at the national average for car insurance costs, ranging from $1,250 to $1,400 annually for most drivers. If you’re seeking standard auto insurance in Nevada and you’re older than 25, you can expect your costs to fall within this range.
However, because so many individual factors contribute to calculating insurance costs, your annual bill could also fall well outside of that range.
Cheapest car insurance in Nevada
Cheap car insurance in Nevada
How to get cheap car insurance in Nevada
- Age. Drivers younger than 25 or older than 65 will pay more for car insurance because the insurance company considers you to be at higher risk for car accidents.
- Gender. Males can often expect higher premiums. If you’re single you could pay even more.
- Type of car. Sports cars are designed to go fast and tend to be driven aggressively, not to mention they’re expensive. Most insurers consider them as a higher insurance risk.
- Marital status. Single people are considered riskier than people who are married. If you get married, you could see your premiums decrease.
- Location. Some places are at higher risk of theft, vandalism and other potential hazards, which incurs higher costs. Urban drivers who live in Las Vegas, Reno or other major cities are at higher risk for an accident than people who live far outside the city limits. Similarly, if one area is more prone to flooding or storms, you may expect this to impact your premiums.
- Driving history. The more claims you’ve made and violations you have on your driving record, the more you’ll likely pay for your car insurance. And if you insure more than one driver to your car, their driving record will impact how much you’ll pay for insurance.
- Typical driving habits. The distance you drive, how often you get behind the wheel and where you drive all play a part in your car insurance prices. If your job requires you to drive a lot, whether it’s for commuting or transporting goods, you could pay more for your coverage.
Can my credit score affect my insurance rates in Nevada?
Yes, it can. Separate studies by the University of Texas and the Federal Trade Commission both show correlation between poor credit scores and elevated accident risk. Because of these findings, many insurance providers throughout the US will factor your credit score into their calculation of your insurance costs.
How can I save on car insurance in Nevada?
Looking for some ways to save money on your auto insurance in Nevada? No matter what state you’re in, you can follow general tips to lower your premiums and get a better value out of your coverage.
Compare Nevada car insurance providers
State minimum requirements in Nevada
To drive in Nevada, you’ll need to have insurance coverage that includes:
- $25,000 per person in liability coverage
- $50,000 per accident in liability coverage
- $20,000 per accident in property liability coverage
Some states require drivers to purchase additional coverage for uninsured or underinsured motorists, but Nevada is not one of them.
When you’re shopping for car insurance, you might see these numbers written as 25/50/20. These minimums were raised to 25/50/20 on July 1, 2018, so make sure you’ve updated your insurance since then.
What additional coverage can I get in Nevada?
While the above is just the bare minimum insurance coverage required in Nevada, consider getting additional coverage to further protect yourself, your passengers and your property.
- Collision. Helps pay for repairs if your car is damaged in an accident.
- Comprehensive. Covers you in case your car is damaged by something other than an accident — for instance, a fire or vandalism.
- Uninsured and underinsured. Pays for any damage or injury caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver.
- Medical and funeral services. Assists in paying for medical bills or funeral services as a result of an accident.
- Rental. Helps cover expenses to rent a car while yours is being repaired after an accident.
Uninsured drivers in Nevada
According to the Insurance Research Council, roughly 10.6% of drivers on the road in Nevada were uninsured in 2015. While this is slightly less than the national average of 13%. Consider looking into uninsured or underinsured motorist insurance to better protect yourself in case of an accident where the other driver doesn’t have proper coverage.
Car insurance for high-risk drivers in Nevada
Nevada drivers without perfect driving records can still get covered. If you’re considered a high-risk driver, you can find options through the Western Association of Automobile Insurance Plans (WAAIP). WAAIP will assign you an affordable provider from its network of participating insurance companies.
What happens if I get caught driving in Nevada without insurance?
You’re probably in for a ticket and a fine, at the least; recurring offenses can get your license suspended or revoked, or even land you with an SR-22 filing. If your car insurance has lapsed for one to 30 days you can expect:
- First offense: $251 license reinstatement fee, plus a traffic citation
- Second offense: $501 license reinstatement fee, plus a traffic citation
- Third offense: $751 license reinstatement fee, plus a traffic citation; required SR-22 filing after mandatory 30-day license suspension
In Nevada, how long it’s been since you last had insurance plays a big part in your fine or possible sentencing when you get caught driving without coverage. If it’s been less than 30 days, the fines are as stated above — but the costs can double or even triple within a six-month period of letting your coverage lapse, and even on your first offense you can wind up with a mandated SR-22 filing.
What can I use for proof of insurance in Nevada?
If your insurance provider allows for it, you can display proof of coverage on the screen of a smartphone or tablet when requested by a police officer. A paper copy of your insurance card is also acceptable.
Can I buy temporary car insurance in Nevada?
Yes, you can. You might need coverage for a short period for a borrowed car or rental car. It’s perfectly legal to purchase short-term car insurance for less than six months, but most insurance companies won’t offer this option.
Your best bet might be to call your current insurance provider or look into an online provider to find out your options. You might want to look for a policy that lets you cancel for no or low fees, and transfer to a more long-term option when you’re ready.
Nevada drunk driving laws
Nevada has the same laws as other state when it comes to blood alcohol content limits for drivers — 0.08% for standard motorists, and 0.04% for commercial drivers. Below are the criminal penalties toexpect when charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in Nevada.
First DUI offense
- Jail sentence of two days to six months or 96 hours of community service
- Fine of $400 to $1,000
- Mandatory attendance at DUI school
- Possible court-ordered substance abuse program
- Driver’s license revoked for 90 days
Second DUI offense within seven years
- Jail sentence or house arrest of 10 days to six months
- Fine of $750 to $1,000
- 100 to 200 hours of community service
- Possible suspension of car registration
- Possible court-ordered substance abuse program or clinical supervision for up to one year
- Driver’s license revoked for one year
Third DUI offense within seven years
- Prison sentence of one to six years
- Fine of $2,000 to $5,000
- Possible suspension of car registration
- Driver’s license revoked for three years
Can I get SR-22 insurance in Nevada?
Yes, you can. You might need an SR-22 in Nevada if you’ve gotten a DUI, lost your license or have too many violation points on your driving record. SR-22 is a certificate that your car insurance provider files with your state’s DMV or other authorities to let them know you have the minimum coverage required to get back behind the wheel.
What happens after a car accident in Nevada?
Car accidents can be unsettling, even small fender benders. Stay calm and follow these steps to keep your process as simple and safe as possible.
- Get to safety. Check the people around you for injuries and your surroundings for any other potential dangers, and call 911 if necessary. If you’re blocking the road and feel comfortable moving your car out of the way of traffic, that’s a good idea too.
- Contact police. If someone is injured or killed by the accident, or you suspect there’s more than $750 worth of property damage, you’re required by law to report the accident to local law enforcement right away.
- Exchange information. Get the personal information of the people involved in the accident, including their names, driver’s license numbers, addresses and cell phone numbers. Write down information about their car’s make, model, year and tag number, as well as their insurance policy details.
- Notify your insurance agent. Call your insurance company before you leave the scene. Tell them what’s happened and ask what additional steps you might have to take.
- Document the scene. Take pictures of the accident from all angles, especially the areas that got damaged. Take down the names of police officers and any potential witnesses to better protect your claim.
Who’s at fault after an accident in Nevada?
Nevada is an at–fault, or tort, state. That means that if you’re found to be at–fault for an accident, you’re required to pay for the damages, including any potential medical bills to those injured. Victims have the right to further pursue compensation for lost wages and any “pain and suffering” caused by the accident.
When should I report an accident in Nevada?
If anyone is killed, if there is an injury or if there is property damage greater than $750, you’re required to report the accident to local law enforcement. If you don’t have to call law enforcement, you’ll still need to complete a Report of Traffic Crash within 10 days of the accident. If you fail to do so, you may have your license suspended.
Car insurance is both legally required and usually the best way to protect yourself and your vehicle if an accident ever occurs. Research your insurance options to make sure that you’re receiving the coverage that you need — and that your state requires.
Frequently asked questions about car insurance in Nevada
Which car insurance provider is best for me?
Looking to save on car insurance? Answer these three questions to find a provider that best fits your needs and budget.
Question 1 of 2
Based on your answers, check out: