How to get the best car insurance in Connecticut
To legally drive in Connecticut, you’re required to carry liability insurance. But unlike many other states, you’re also required to carry uninsured motorist coverage to help you in an accident caused by a driver with no or little coverage.
Compare Connecticut’s driving rules and insurance requirements and get the best rate on your car insurance coverage.
- Top-rated insurer
- Online quotes & claims
- Bundle and save
Our top pick: Progressive
Save up to 31% with safe driver discounts and bundling all your rides in one convenient policy.
- Top-rated insurer with 80 years of experience
- Easy online sign-up and reporting
- Multiple discounts available
- Transparent quoting
Connecticut auto insurance providers
Most popular Connecticut auto insurance companies list
|Company||Direct premiums written (billions)||Market share|
Car insurance quick facts
Minimum liability requirements
Cheapest car insurance in Connecticut
|Company||Average annual rate||Learn more|
State minimum requirements in Connecticut
When driving in Connecticut, you must keep hard-copy proof of your car insurance — either your policy’s declaration page or your permanent ID card — in your car at all times or face up to $50 in fines. State law does not allow you to present a digital version of your ID on your phone or tablet to prove coverage.
Harsher still, if you lend your uninsured car to a friend and they get caught, the burden of responsibility falls on you: the car’s owner. Your friend? They pay up to $1,000 in fines on top of the penalties for driving an uninsured vehicle.
Depending on your state of residence, you face varying minimum requirements for car insurance. In Connecticut, you can’t legally drive unless you carry liability insurance that includes at least:
- $20,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $40,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident
- $10,000 property damage liability coverage per accident
When shopping for car insurance, you may see these liability limits written as 20/40/10.
Some 20 states mandate that its drivers also carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, which protects a driver if they’re involved in an accident with another driver that isn’t adequately covered by a car insurance policy. Connecticut is one of those states, requiring:
- $20,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person.
- $40,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident.
What additional coverage can I get in Connecticut?
Most car insurance providers in Connecticut offer optional coverage for additional financial protection and peace of mind:
- Collision. Helps with repairs if your car is damaged in an accident.
- Comprehensive. Pays for repairs if your car is damaged by something other than an accident, like fire or vandalism.
- Medical coverage. Helps cover medical expenses caused by an accident, no matter who’s at fault.
- Rental reimbursement. Helps pay for a rental car if one is needed after an accident.
- Emergency roadside assistance. Provides reimbursement for towing and labor required for your car after an accident.
Roadside assistance in ConnecticutMany Connecticut insurers offer roadside assistance as an optional extra, and a few offer it free, typically when you buy collision and comprehensive coverage. Connecticut drivers know how stressful it can be to drive around potholes, black ice and construction cones. With the second worst road conditions in the country, topped only by Illinois, Connecticut’s infrastructure funding hasn’t been enough to properly maintain its streets and highways. And if you’re commuting to Boston, New York City or DC, enjoy a long commute marked by high tolls and crumbling roads plus a higher chance of a collision with so much traffic. For all the things you could run into on the road, roadside assistance could be just a phone call away to save your drive and your ride.
Can I get SR-22 insurance in Connecticut?
You might need an SR-22 in Connecticut if you’ve gotten a DUI, lost your license or have too many points on your driving record. SR-22 tells the state you have the minimum coverage required to get back behind the wheel.
What happens after an accident in Connecticut?
Even a fender bender can rattle your senses, making it difficult to clearly plod out your next steps. If you’re in an accident, you’ll want to ensure you’re OK and then line up your info to process a car insurance claim.
- Stay at the scene. Confirm that everybody involved is safe. If you, your passengers or other people involved in the accident are hurt, immediately call 911.
- Call your insurance provider. After you’ve confirmed that participants are OK, call your insurance agent to report the accident. Ask to be walked through the process and any required information.
- Document the accident. To protect your claim against a rattled memory, take down the names of police officers and any witnesses at the scene. This information can be valuable over the process of your claim.
- Exchange information. Record the full names, complete contact details and insurance policy information of the drivers involved. Include car types, colors, models and license plate numbers and the exact address of the incident. For the best chance at getting your claim paid out, avoid admitting fault to the other driver.
What if I don’t have car insurance in Connecticut?
When it comes to uninsured motorists, Connecticut does not mess around. If you’re in an accident or even stopped by the cops and you unable to provide proof of car insurance, you face fines and the suspension of your license, registration and plates — even jail time.
- Failure to provide proof of insurance. You’ll pay $35 for the first offense and $50 for subsequent offenses, with a required court appearance.
- Driving while uninsured. The car’s owner faces a $500 fine, while the driver is penalized with $100 to $1,000 in fines and the suspension of their license that requires another $175 to reinstate. Both parties also face up to three months in jail.
- Failure to maintain insurance. You face a $200 civil penalty to start, followed by license suspension and the possible loss of your privilege to renew or register any car in the state. You also face a $175 fee to reinstate your license.
Who’s at fault after an accident?
Connecticut is not one of the 12 states that requires drivers to carry no-fault insurance. In states without no-fault coverage, insurance claims are typically paid out:
- If you’re injured in an accident caused by another driver. The at-fault driver’s bodily injury liability coverage could help reimburse your medical expenses up to policy limits.
- If you’re injured in an accident you cause. Your medical payments coverage, if you have it, could help reimburse your medical expenses up to your limit.
Connecticut is a tort state, which means that you’re required to pay the medical expenses of any victim of an accident you’re at fault for. Further victims can pursue compensation for lost wages and “pain and suffering” — the legal term for physical and emotional stress resulting from an injury.
When should I report an accident to the authorities in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, you are required to report an accident to the police immediately if anybody is hurt or killed or if there’s any property damages to any party involved in the accident, regardless of the damage amount.
The police officers at the scene will complete the reports necessary for notification.
Uninsured drivers in Connecticut
Connecticut requires auto insurance coverage for all registered vehicles in the state, regardless of who’s driving the car. Combined with the state’s harsh penalties, the payoff is some of the lowest rates of uninsured motorists in the nation: a mere 8% of all Connecticut drivers. This percentage is well below the national average of 12.6%.
Connecticut is one state where you don’t want to take the risk of driving without car insurance. You’ll need to purchase both liability insurance and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage to remain legal under state laws or face a suite of stiff penalties that include fines, suspensions and even a stint in jail.
To get the cheapest coverage for your needs, carefully research your car insurance options when driving in Connecticut.
Frequently asked questions about Connecticut car insurance
Which car insurance provider is best for me?
Looking to save on car insurance? Answer these three questions to find a provider that best fits your needs and budget.
Question 1 of 2
Based on your answers, check out: