How to get the best car insurance in Oklahoma
Each state has its own driving laws and auto insurance requirements, and Oklahoma can be one of the priciest states for car insurance. Compare the state’s minimum coverage requirements, driving laws you should know about and how to get cheap car insurance in Oklahoma.
Car insurance quick facts
Minimum liability requirements
- Top-rated insurer
- Online quotes & claims
- Bundle and save
Our top pick: Progressive
Save up to 31% with safe driver discounts and bundling all your rides in one convenient policy.
- Top-rated insurer with 80 years of experience
- Easy online sign-up and reporting
- Multiple discounts available
- Transparent quoting
Compare Oklahoma car insurance providers
Most popular Oklahoma auto insurance companies list
|Company||Direct premiums written (billions)||Market share|
|OK Farm Bureau||$106,328||3.8%|
How to get cheap car insurance in Oklahoma
With so many car insurance providers offering many options, it’s hard to narrow down what you might need. That’s before you add in your specific driver history, vehicle and state.
Generally, Oklahoma is among the top 15 most expensive states to insure your car. To find the cheapest car insurance, find a provider that can offer you the best deal for you. And if you don’t have a clean record, look into providers that specialize in high-risk drivers, like The General or Direct Auto.
Looking for ways to save money on your auto insurance in Pennsylvania? No matter what state you’re in, read our general tips to lower your car insurance rates and get a better value out of your coverage in our comprehensive guide to car insurance.
Average car insurance costs in Oklahoma
Depending on which city or town you live in, your monthly insurance costs can be affected by the place you call home. Factors include crime rates, climate, your commuting distance and average costs of living in your area. The average cost for car insurance in Oklahoma in 2017 was $123 per month, compared to $112 in Colorado and $97 in Illinois.
You tend to pay higher insurance costs to live and commute around a city like Tulsa or Oklahoma City than you would out in the country.
Cheapest car insurance in Oklahoma
Does my credit score affect my insurance rates in Oklahoma?
Yes, it can. While factoring a person’s credit score into their car insurance rates is banned in California, Massachusetts and Hawaii, insurers in the 47 other states — including Oklahoma — can use your credit score as an indication of risk.
Independent studies conducted by the University of Texas and the Federal Trade Commission suggest that drivers with higher credit scores are less likely to file claims with their car insurance provider. In most US states, providers can use this information to assess risk when insuring drivers. This means that a higher credit score could translate into lower monthly rates, and vice-versa.
Oklahoma minimum car insurance requirements
To legally drive in Oklahoma, you’ll need liability insurance that includes at least property damage and bodily injury liability. When shopping for car insurance, you’ll sometimes see this written as 25/50/25. When it comes to uninsured/underinsured motorists (UM/UIM) coverage, Oklahoma is an opt-out state. Oklahoma insurance companies are required to offer you UM/UIM insurance, and you must sign a waiver to opt out of carrying it.
- $25,000 for injury or death to one person
- $50,000 for injury or death to more than one person
- $25,000 for damage to property
What additional coverage can I get in Oklahoma?
Many drivers purchase additional insurance to protect themselves in case of an accident. Insurance companies in the state of Oklahoma also offer:
- Comprehensive. Covers damage to your car caused by something other than a collision, like weather or vandalism.
- Collision. Helps pay for repairs if your car is damaged in an accident.
- Medical and funeral services. Helps cover medical bills or funeral services as a result of an accident.
- Uninsured and underinsured motorists. Protects you if you get into an accident with someone who doesn’t have insurance or doesn’t have adequate insurance.
- Rental car. Assists in reimbursing you for renting a car while you wait for your own vehicle to be repaired after an accident.
- Towing and labor. Provides reimbursement for towing or labor costs you may have incurred as a result of an accident.
What happens if I’m driving in Oklahoma and I don’t have insurance?
Having car insurance in Oklahoma — or having a large cash reserve deposited and documented — is required by law. If you’re caught driving without coverage, authorities may suspend your car’s registration or impound your vehicle until you show proof of financial responsibility. You’ll also face steep fines and fees after the fact to get back on the road.
Accident without insurance
- Up to $250 fine
- License and registration suspended
- Vehicle impounded
- Possible jail time up to 30 days
- $275 license reinstatement fee
- $125 administrative fee
- $175 modified driver’s license fee
Police checkpoint without insurance
- Up to $250 fine
- License plate confiscated
- License and registration suspended
- Possible jail time up to 30 days
- $275 reinstatement fee
- $125 administrative fee
What if I don’t want to buy car insurance in Oklahoma?
The state of Oklahoma allows drivers to place a deposit of $75,000 with any financial institution — typically a bank — instead of purchasing car insurance. If you cause or are at fault for an accident, that deposit is used to pay for any damages or injuries.
While this alternative might be a good option for some, the cost of an accident could easily go over $75,000, especially a severe accident involving bodily injury, property damage or death. You’re on the hook for any expense higher than your deposit amount.
Can I buy temporary car insurance in Oklahoma?
Yes, you can. If you need coverage for a short time for a borrowed or rental car. It’s perfectly legal to purchase short-term car insurance for less than six months, but most insurance companies won’t offer this option.
Your best option might be to call your current insurance provider or contact an online provider to find out your options. Look for a policy that lets you cancel for no or low fees and transfer to a more long-term option after a few months.
Uninsured drivers in Oklahoma
The state of Oklahoma requires all drivers to buy auto insurance or provide some other form of financial responsibility in the event of an accident. But around 10.5% of Oklahoma drivers didn’t have insurance in 2015 — lower than the 13% national average, according to a study by the Insurance Research Council (IRC).
What laws do I need to follow when I’m driving in Oklahoma?
Most traffic laws vary from state to state, and Oklahoma has a few unique rules of the road to remember when driving in Oklahoma.
- After coming to a complete stop at a red light, a motorcyclist can proceed through the red light with caution.
- Left lanes on the highway are for passing only, which is actually a law in all 50 states — but in Oklahoma, you can get a ticket for driving too slow in the left lane.
- Reading a comic book while operating a motor vehicle is strictly prohibited.
Drunk driving laws in Oklahoma
Oklahoma has some serious consequences for drivers caught driving drunk, including steep fines, license suspensions and longer maximum jail sentences than many other states. Consequences are determined on your past driving record and how bad the infraction is.
|First offense||Second offense||Third offense|
|Jail||10 days–1 year||1–5 years||1–10 years|
|Fines and penalties||Up to $1,000||Up to $2,500||Up to $5,000|
|License suspension||6 months||1 year||3 years|
What is the blood alcohol limit in Oklahoma?
Oklahoma’s penalty for driving over the blood alcohol content (BAC) limit depends on the type of driver. However, if a police officer thinks you’re too impaired to drive, you could face a driving while ability-impaired (DWAI) or driving while impaired (DWI) offense, even if you’re technically under the legal limit.
- Standard drivers 21 or older: 0.08% BAC for normal passenger vehicles
- Drivers under 21 years of age: anything over 0% is considered a violation
- Commercial vehicle drivers: 0.04% BAC
What if I don’t want to take a breathalyzer test?
Oklahoma has an implied consent law, which means if you’re driving on public roads, you’ve given consent to a breathalyzer. You’ll face fines, a license suspension and possible jail time if you refuse a roadside breathalyzer or sobriety test.
The consequences for refusing a breathalyzer or sobriety test is to have your license revoked from six months to three years, and to have a ignition interlock device (IID) for 18 months.
Can I get SR-22 insurance in Oklahoma?
Oklahoma is one of the few US states that doesn’t require SR-22 — a certificate that tells the state you have the minimum car insurance coverage required to get behind the wheel. Sometimes a state will require you to file this document after you’ve received a DUI, were ticketed for driving without insurance or accumulated so many points on your driving record. While Oklahoma doesn’t require it, you might need to keep your SR-22 insurance if you move here from a state that does require it.
What happens after an accident in Oklahoma?
Even the most minor car accidents can leave you feeling shaken. If you find yourself in a car accident in Oklahoma, take a deep breath and follow these important steps.
- Get to safety. Make sure that no one involved in the accident is injured. If anyone is hurt call 911 right away. Once you confirm that everyone is safe, look out for any other potential dangers including gas leaks or fires. Even if no one is injured it’s a good idea to call the local police and inform them of what’s happened.
- Exchange information. Write down the full names, car make and model and insurance information of the people involved in the accident. Don’t forget to include their addresses and driver’s license numbers in your notes.
- Notify your insurance agent. Before you leave the scene, call your insurance agent. They’ll guide you on what to do to file a claim.
- Document the scene. Take pictures, paying special attention to multiple angles of the damage. Take down the names of police officers and any potential witnesses.
Who’s at fault after an accident?
Oklahoma is considered an at–fault or tort state. That means if you’re found at fault for an accident, you’re required to pay for the damages, including any potential medical bills. Victims have the right to further pursue compensation for lost wages and any pain and suffering caused by the accident.
When should I report an accident in Oklahoma?
Report any accident resulting in injury, death or property damage over $300 to the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety within 10 days of the accident, even if you aren’t at fault for the crash. Failure to file the Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Collision Report after your accident could result in the suspension of your license.
Although you’ll find alternative options to car insurance in Oklahoma, it’s usually a good idea to carry a personal policy. Research your insurance options to make sure that you’re receiving the coverage that you need — and that your state requires.
Frequently asked questions about car insurance in Oklahoma
Which car insurance provider is best for me?
Looking to save on car insurance? Answer these three questions to find a provider that best fits your needs and budget.
Question 1 of 2
Based on your answers, check out: