Getting cheap auto insurance in Louisiana
If you plan to drive in Louisiana, you’re required to have liability coverage for your car, as well as keep proof of insurance and vehicle registration with your car at all times. If you’re caught in an accident without insurance, Louisiana’s No Pay, No Play law limits how much you can claim for damage, and can end up costing a lot more than your car insurance policy itself.
If you’re financing or leasing your car, you could be required to buy additional collision and comprehensive coverage as part of your finance agreement.
Average car insurance costs in Louisiana
Louisiana’s drivers pay an awful lot for car insurance — somewhere around $1,900 each year. This is far above the national average of $1,200-1,300, and second only to Michigan’s sky-high rates when we look at state-by-state rankings.
However, because car insurance is influenced by so many outside factors, you could find yourself paying significantly less than this figure. Here are some examples of things that commonly affect car insurance rates:
- Age. Young drivers under 25, as well as seniors, will pay more for car insurance. Drivers under 25 — and especially male drivers under 25 — are believed by the insurance industry to be at high risk for car accidents. This means the older you get, the lower your car insurance rates will tend to be, until you reach a certain age.
- Gender. Men can often expect higher premiums. This is sometimes further modified by age and marital status; the differences in cost between men and women mostly disappear by the age of 35.
- Driving experience. L platers and P platers typically pay more, which often compounds the effect of age on premiums.
- Type of car. You might think screaming down the highway in a red Corvette sounds like fun, and you’re probably right, but luxury and sports cars are almost always more costly to insure than sedans and minivans. This is for several reasons, but mostly because fast cars tend to be driven fast, putting these cars and their drivers at a higher risk for accidents.
- Occupation. People who have long commutes or who drive around all day for work — say, outside sales representatives or transporters — can expect higher premiums. However, many professionals who drive a lot have work vehicles, or else have car insurance coverage through their employers to cover their mileage when they’re on the clock.
- Marital status. Single people are seen by insurers as less stable than their married counterparts. If you get married, you’ll see your premiums decrease right away.
- Location. Some places are at higher risk of theft, vandalism and other potential hazards, which incurs higher costs. Urban drivers are at higher risk for an accident than people who live far outside the city limits. Similarly, if one area is more prone to flooding or storms you may expect this to impact your premiums.
- Claims history. The more car insurance claims you have made in the past, the higher your premiums will generally be.
- Driving record. The more violations you have on your driving record, the more you can expect to pay for your car insurance. If you’re notorious for speeding, driving under the influence or trying to start a drag race at every red light, your insurer will likely know about it and raise prices accordingly.
- Credit score. Like it or not, nearly all auto insurance providers use your credit score to help calculate your risk before arriving at a policy cost. This is because multiple independent studies indicate that if your credit score is low, you’re more likely to be involved in an accident.
However, there are a few states where car insurance providers aren’t allowed to use credit to determine rates — California, Massachusetts and Hawaii.
- Other drivers. Only certain people will be approved to drive the car, and all of them impact the cost. Even the world’s safest driver will get a substantial price hike by listing another less-safe driver on the policy.
- Typical driving habits. Your typical distance driven, how often you get behind the wheel and where you drive all play a part in your car insurance prices.
Compare Louisiana car insurance
Car insurance laws in Louisiana
You’re required to have liability coverage for your car if you want to drive in Louisiana. Your auto insurance needs to include the following at the minimum:
- $15,000 of bodily injury coverage per person.
- $30,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $25,000 of property damage coverage.
When you’re shopping for car insurance, you may see this written as 15/30/25.
To fully protect yourself from unforeseen accidents, it’s a good idea to consider additional insurance packages commonly offered with car insurance policies:
- Collision. Covers the cost for accidents caused by vehicle collisions.
- Comprehensive. Covers the cost for non-collision incidents, such as fire and theft.
- Underinsured motorist (UIM). Covers the additional cost for when you are involved in an accident with someone who has too little insurance.
- Uninsured motorist (UM). Covers the cost for when you are involved in an accident with someone who has no insurance.
- Medical payments coverage. Covers the cost for medical expenses and funerals after a certain period of time, regardless of who is at fault.
- Rental reimbursement coverage. Covers the cost for rental automobiles after the accident.
- Towing and labor coverage. Covers the cost for towing and labor.
What happens if I’m driving in Louisiana and I don’t have insurance?
Louisiana has the “No Pay, No Play” law — which means that uninsured drivers are limited in the amount that they can collect for property damages and personal injuries.
Regardless of who’s at fault, if you are uninsured and are in an accident in Louisiana, you cannot collect:
- The first $25,000 of a property damage claim.
- The first $15,000 of a bodily injury claim.
Anyone can get into an accident. So, when choosing your car insurance policy, make sure that you weigh the potential cost of damage and the cost of your insurance plan.
Can I get temporary car insurance?
Yes, you can. You might need coverage for a short period for a borrowed car or rental car. It’s perfectly legal to purchase short term car insurance for less than six months, but most insurance companies won’t offer this option.
Your best option might be to call your current insurance provider or an online provider to find out your options. You can also find a policy that lets you cancel for no or low fees, and transfer to a more long term option when you’re ready.
Uninsured drivers in Louisiana
Louisiana requires drivers to have liability coverage for their cars. However, not everyone follows that rule. Based on a survey by the Insurance Research Council, 14% of drivers in Louisiana are uninsured — which is above the national average of 12.6%. Consider adding uninsured or underinsured motorist liability coverage to your policy.
Louisiana’s drunk driving laws
If you’re caught driving over the limit in Louisiana, you can expect fines, a license suspension and most likely some jail time.
|First offense||Second offense||Third & subsequent offense|
|Jail time||10 days to 6 months||30 days to 6 months||1 to 5 years|
|Fines & penalties||$300 – $1,000||$750 – $1,000||$2,000|
|License suspension||Suspended for 1 year||Suspended for 2 years|
Restricted license IID might be required
|Suspended for 3 years|
Restricted license IID might be required
|Driver training||Possible court-approved substance abuse program or driver improvement program||Possible court-approved substance abuse program or driver improvement program||Possible court-approved substance abuse program or driver improvement program|
|SR-22 insurance||SR-22 required||SR-22 required||SR-22 required|
Is SR-22 required in Louisiana?
Yes, you might be required to file for SR-22 insurance in Louisiana if you’ve been convicted of a DUI. Your insurance provider will file this form of financial responsibility with the DMV to prove you have the minimum level of car insurance.
Auto insurance providers for drivers in Louisiana
What happens after a car accident?
Being involved in an accident can be disorienting and frightening. Stop as close to the scene as possible, as it is against the Louisiana law to leave the scene of an accident. Be sure to keep your cool and follow these steps to prevent further harm or damage.
- Safety first. Make sure that everyone involved in the accident is safe and there is no immediate danger. If anyone is injured or there might be a safety hazard, contact the police or 911 right away.
- Contact your insurance company. The insurance agent will guide you through the next steps of the process.
- Document the scene. Take pictures of all angles of the accident. Remember the address of the accident and the available witnesses, as you may require that information for a future report.
- Exchange information. Gather all information possible from the other person involved in the crash. This includes name, contact information, address, insurance information, driver’s license number and the vehicle’s license plate number.
Who’s at fault after an accident?
Louisiana does not require no-fault coverage. Louisiana is an at-fault (“tort”) state, which means that if you’re found at fault for the accident, you have to pay for all the costs involved — like property damages and medical bills for the other person.
When should I report an accident to the authorities?
It’s a good idea to report all accidents immediately to authorities. Take pictures of the accident and gather names and contact information from available witnesses. Drivers must file a report if the accident results in injury or death or property damage over $500.
Do this by sending a written report to the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections within 24 hours after the accident. Failing to do so may lead to punishment by imprisonment for 60 days, fine of up to $100 or both.
If you drive in Louisiana, make sure to take into account the “No Pay, No Play” rule as you consider your insurance package. Compare the options available and decide on the most suitable add ons for your policy.
To learn more, from rules and regulations to getting the best rates and discounts, visit our comprehensive guide to car insurance.
Frequently asked questions about car insurance in Louisiana
Which car insurance provider is best for me?
Looking to save on car insurance? Answer these three questions to find a provider that best fits your needs and budget.
Question 1 of 2
Based on your answers, check out: