Finder is committed to editorial independence. While we receive compensation when you click links to partners, they do not influence our content.
State minimum car insurance coverage
Find the cheapest rates for your state's required car insurance.
Most states require at least a specified minimum coverage for bodily injury and property damages, but every state has different limits. You’ll also be required to add uninsured coverage or personal injury protection in some states. Find the limits in your state to find out how much insurance you need to have at a minimum.
Discover coverage that’s broader than competitors, valuable discounts up to 30% off and perks like shrinking deductibles that reward no claims.
- Broad coverage, including for custom car parts or ridesharing
- Transparent pricing tools that help you buy within budget
- Accident forgiveness on small claims or for staying claim-free
- Stack a variety of discounts for multiple cars, autopay or homeownership
All 50 state car insurance minimums
In Arizona, you are not required to have auto insurance to legally drive in the state. However, if you choose not to purchase insurance, you must put up a $40,000 bond to prove you can pay for damages in case of an accident.
In Michigan, you are required to have no-fault car insurance that covers injuries and damages regardless of who’s at fault.
In New Hampshire, having car insurance is optional.
In Virginia, you do not have to buy car insurance as long as the driver can prove they have a way to pay for injuries of property damage in case of an at-fault accident. Below are the minimums in Virginia in case you decide to purchase insurance.
Compare state minimum insurance quotes
How much does state minimum insurance cost?
Average insurance rates vary by state, but expect to pay around $400 to $600 for the cheapest rates.
The good news is many online quotes automatically default to your state’s minimum requirements. You’ll also be able to see explanations of the limits and what each coverage type means, which makes it easier to understand what you’re covered for.
Cheap state minimum insurance quotes
|Company||Average annual rate||Learn more|
|21st Century||$651||Read review|
|Liberty Mutual||$709||Read review|
|State Farm||$726||Read review|
|The Hartford||$727||Read review|
|Average||$598||Compare all reviews|
Is state minimum insurance worth it?
Getting coverage for the bare minimum liability is much cheaper than getting full coverage, but it might not be enough to cover all your expenses in an accident. Consider whether you need the absolute cheapest car insurance or whether you should add extra coverage or increase your maximum coverage.
If your car isn’t worth much and you don’t have a lot of other assets, the minimum insurance levels might be right for you. As you’re getting quotes, consider things like whether you often drive with other passengers or car theft rates in the area where you park your car. Start with the minimum insurance level and then add on only the coverage you need to keep your premiums low.
Why does every state have different requirements?
Like most US laws, every state gets to decide most of the laws for its residents, other than federal laws which apply to every state. And while many states have similar 25/50/25 liability limits, only about half the US requires uninsured or PIP coverage.
Uninsured driver rates tend to increase in states with higher requirements because this leads to higher insurance costs and more drivers who can’t afford to get insurance.
Minimum liability limits are also difficult to change, since this would require data gathering to support the decision and new legislature to be drafted and passed. That’s why many states haven’t changed their liability limits in decades.
Make sure you’re covered with at least the minimum coverage limits for your state. You’ll find the cheapest rates for state minimum only coverage, but sometimes it pays to compare additional coverage you need on top of the bare minimum.
More guides on Finder
Compare full coverage vs. liability car insurance
Which type of car insurance policy fits your car and driving needs?
Compare tuition insurance
If your child gets sick or injured and has to take time away from college, tuition insurance can reimburse you for what you already paid.
Car insurance for drivers 25 to 40 years old
Take advantage of the lowest minimum coverage rates by earning all the discounts you can.
Is credit disability insurance right for me?
Get your loan payments covered when you experience a disability and can’t work, but with limited coverage.
Heacock Classic car insurance review January 2021
Insure your classic car or race car at agreed value with Heacock Classic, but you’ll have to look elsewhere if you have recent claims or major violations.
Whether you’re looking to find a long-lost relative or simply learn about your family’s past, AncestryDNA could meet your needs.
Driving without car insurance
Since driving uninsured comes with steep penalties, look at your coverage options or consider alternatives.
Say car insurance review Jan 2021
Offers a transparent look at your premiums and rewards renewal with a better insurance score.
Compare bus conversion insurance
Find and qualify for the right type of policy when living in a skoolie.
Best home insurance for wildfires
Compare costs, coverage and claims for wildfire insurance, plus how to find high-risk home insurance.
Ask an Expert