How to get cheap car insurance in Mississippi
Car insurance rates in Mississippi are close to the national average, with low minimum requirements. But almost one in four drivers in Mississippi are uninsured, so bare minimum liability insurance might not cover it in this state.
- Top-rated insurer
- Online quotes & claims
- Bundle and save
Our top pick: Progressive
Save up to 31% with safe driver discounts and bundling all your rides in one convenient policy.
- Top-rated insurer with 80 years of experience
- Easy online sign-up and reporting
- Multiple discounts available
- Transparent quoting
Compare car insurance in Mississippi
Car insurance quick facts
Minimum liability requirements
Average car insurance costs in Mississippi
In Mississippi, most drivers can expect to pay about $1,300 annually for their coverage, and the nationwide average is closer to $1,200 a year.
However, because car insurance is influenced by so many outside factors, you could end up paying significantly more or less for your coverage than your state’s average cost.
Cheapest car insurance rates in Mississippi
|Company||Average annual rate||Learn more|
|Southern Farm Bureau||$440|
Car insurance requirements in Mississippi
To legally drive in Mississippi, every driver must carry at least:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person.
- $50,000 bodily injury liability total per accident.
- $25,000 property damage liability total per accident.
When shopping for car insurance, you may see these liability limits written as 25/50/25.
Do I need underinsured motorist coverage?
Underinsured motorist coverage is not legally required in Mississippi. However, approximately 23% of Mississippi drivers drive without insurance. That’s double the national average and the third-highest rate of uninsured drivers in the nation. You’re taking a risk if you don’t protect yourself against other drivers who might not have full — or any — coverage.
Optional coverage in Mississippi
Mississippi drivers can choose to add higher levels of protection for added peace of mind on the road, including:
- Comprehensive. Helps pay for repairs not caused by an accident, like weather damage or vandalism.
- Collision. Covers damages to your car caused by an accident.
- Gap coverage. If an accident totals a car you’re financing or leasing, this coverage pays the difference between what your insurer will cover and the remainder of your existing loan or lease.
- Rental reimbursement. Helps pay for a rental car if one is needed after an accident.
- Emergency roadside service. Provides reimbursement for towing and labor required for your car after an accident.
- Custom parts and equipment (CPE). Helps cover permanently installed custom parts or equipment, devices, accessories or enhancements that alter your vehicle’s performance or appearance.
- Medical payments. This coverage generally provides payment for medical costs from injuries caused by a car accident, regardless of who’s at fault. It may provide money for funeral expenses or injuries sustained by passengers in the vehicle.
What if I don’t have insurance?
If you’re convicted of driving without car insurance in Mississippi, you could lose your license for one year, or until proof of insurance is provided, and face fines up to $1,000.
Digital proof of insurance on smartphones and other devices legally qualify as proof of insurance if you’re pulled over and need to prove coverage.
Uninsured drivers in Mississippi
If you’re caught driving without proper coverage in this state, you’ll face some steep fines — $300 for a first offense, $400 for the second, and $500 for a third or subsequent violations of the state’s insurance laws.
You can also expect your annual insurance rates to increase significantly if you’re caught driving without coverage; drivers in this state typically see their rates go up by 40-50%.
Because Mississippi has a high rate of uninsured motorists — some estimates put it at more than 25% — it may be a wise decision to add uninsured motorist coverage to your own policy. This kind of coverage protects you and your vehicle if you get in an accident with someone who isn’t carrying legitimate insurance. To learn more about this kind of coverage, and why it might be a good idea, visit our guide on the topic.
Drunk driving laws in Mississippi
If you’re caught driving over the limit in this state, you can expect fines, a license suspension, and likely some jail time as well.
|1st Offense||2nd Offense||3rd Offense|
|Jail||Up to 48 hours||5 days up to 1 year||1 to 5 years|
|Fines and Penalties||$250-$1,000||$600-$1,500||$2,000-$5,000|
|License Suspension||90 days||2 years||5 years|
Implied consent law
Like most states, Mississippi has what’s called an implied consent law. This law dictates that by driving on any and all public roadways in the state, you’re giving your consent to a portable breath test (PBT) or sobriety test when requested by a police officer who suspects you might be under the influence.
If you violate this law by refusing a PBT or breathalyzer test, you can lose your driver’s license for 90 days to a full year.
Does Mississippi require SR-22 insurance?
No, Mississippi is one of the states that doesn’t require you to file SR-22 after a DUI or other major driving offense. SR-22 is a form your insurance provider files with your state DMV to prove you meet mandatory insurance requirements.
What happens after an accident in Mississippi?
Mississippi does not require drivers to report an auto accident to the Department of Public Safety if all drivers agree on who’s responsible for repairs.
However, it’s wise to call local law enforcement after any serious wreck. Police officers at the scene of the accident will complete any forms you may need for filing your claim.
Following a few clear-headed steps will ensure safety and an easier claims process:
- Safety first. Make sure that you and everybody involved in the accident are OK. While it is not required by law, call the police if you need assistance.
- Notify your insurance company. After you’ve confirmed that all parties are safe, call your agent to report the accident. They’ll walk you through the information needed for any claims.
- Document the accident. Protect your claim by taking down the name of any police officers at the scene. Take pictures of each car involved from different angles, and talk to any witnesses you might be able to contact for more information later.
- Exchange information with other drivers. Exchange information with all parties, including names, addresses, driver’s license numbers, tag numbers, vehicle descriptions and insurance policy details.
When speaking with other drivers or witnesses, do not admit fault — even if you feel it’s an accurate admission. If you do, your car insurance company could refuse to pay your claim.
There are lots of cars out on the roads, so make sure you’re protected in case of an accident. While Mississippi state laws only requires liability insurance, consider your full options to hit the road knowing you’re protected behind the wheel.
Common questions about car insurance in Mississippi
Which car insurance provider is best for me?
Looking to save on car insurance? Answer these three questions to find a provider that best fits your needs and budget.
Question 1 of 2
Based on your answers, check out: