Minimum requirements and how to get cheap auto insurance in Wisconsin
Compare car insurance quotes
Enter your ZIP code to see the cheapest rates in your area.
Your information is secure.
Before getting auto insurance in Wisconsin
Non-locals might think all states in the Midwest are basically the same, with many states in this region sharing snowy winters and a coastline on the Great Lakes. But try telling that to a Packers fan.
One thing that varies from one state to the next in any region of the US is the cost and requirements for car insurance. Find out what you can expect when driving in Wisconsin, from legal insurance minimums and traffic safety laws to who’s at fault in car accidents.
Answer 3 quick questions to see the best insurance providers for you.
Are you a new driver?
4 years driving or less
More than 4 years driving
Compare Wisconsin car insurance providers
Average car insurance costs in Wisconsin
With average costs for car insurance landing around $1,150 annually in 2015, Wisconsin drivers can expect to pay less than the national average — around $1,300 — and way less than their neighbors across the lake. Michigan drivers could pay upwards of $2,300 for comparable coverage.
But while Wisconsin has fairly reasonable car insurance rates overall, prices vary throughout the state. If you live in downtown Milwaukee you’ll likely pay more for car insurance than drivers out in Rhinelander or the little town of Kohler. Where you live can affect your insurance costs because city living comes with some additional risks for car accidents, vandalism and theft — and more risks usually means higher premiums.
How can I save money on car insurance?
Looking for some ways to save money on your auto insurance in Wisconsin? No matter what state you’re in, use our comprehensive guide to car insurance to explore types of coverage, tips for saving big bucks on your premiums, how to apply for auto insurance and more.
State minimum requirements in Wisconsin
To legally drive in Wisconsin, you’ll need insurance that includes at least:
$25,000 for injury or death per person
$50,000 total for injury or death to multiple people in a single accident
Your additional coverage options in Wisconsin are about the same as in other states, including:
Rental car.Can help reimburse you for renting a car while your vehicle is getting repaired after an accident.
Towing and labor.Helps pay for towing and labor costs after an accident.
Comprehensive.Covers damage to your car caused by something other than a collision, like weather or vandalism.
Collision. Helps pay for repairs and replacement parts if your car is damaged in an accident.
Medical and funeral services.This coverage will help pay for medical bills or funeral services resulting from an accident.
Uninsured drivers in Wisconsin
About 14% of all motorists in Wisconsin were driving without proper insurance in 2015, according to estimates from the Insurance Research Council. This is slightly above the national average of 13%.
A collision with someone who doesn’t have car insurance will cost you. This is why Wisconsin, like several other states, mandates uninsured motorist coverage.
What can I do if I don’t want to buy car insurance in Wisconsin?
In Wisconsin, you can opt out of traditional car insurance coverage by making a $60,000 deposit in cash or bonds to the state treasury. If you do this, you’ll be given a certificate of financial responsibility; those funds will be used to pay for damages or injuries in the event of an accident where you’re at fault.
Can I buy temporary car insurance in Wisconsin?
Yes, you can get temporary car insurance in Wisconsin. You might need temporary coverage if you’re visiting for a month or more or don’t drive often. It’s legal to purchase short-term car insurance for less than six months, but many insurance companies don’t offer this option. Check with providers like Geico, Allstate and Progressive who advertise short-term insurance.
What happens if I’m driving in Wisconsin and I don’t have insurance?
If you’re caught driving without proper coverage in Wisconsin, you can face some fines and can have your license and registration suspended. You may be fined as much as $500 for not having insurance at all. And if you simply fail to show proof — but are able to present that proof later — you’re still likely to be fined $10. If you show fraudulent car insurance to police or the DMV you can be fined of up to $5,000. The state will also require you to file SR-22 insurance for three years if you’re caught driving without insurance.
What laws do I need to follow when I’m driving in Wisconsin?
Wisconsin shares a lot of common traffic laws with the rest of the country, and it also has a few different laws worth noting before you get behind the wheel.
Headlights must be on between sunset and sunrise, and when visibility is below 500 feet, such as during snow, fog or rain.
Texting while driving is prohibited, and using a phone at all is illegal for drivers with a probationary license or learner’s permit.
Using the median crossing of a divided highway is illegal and puts drivers at risk for a serious accident and holds fines of $263.
What are the DUI penalties in Wisconsin?
Every state in the country — including Wisconsin — now has the same blood alcohol content (BAC) limits when driving: 0.08% for regular drivers and 0.04% for commercial drivers.
If you’re caught driving under the influence (DUI), you can face some steep fines, administrative penalties and possibly even jail time.
5 days to 6 months
30 days to 1 year
60 days to 1 year
6 months to 6 years
Fines and penalties
Can I get SR-22 insurance in Wisconsin?
Yes, you can file an SR-22 certificate in Wisconsin, which is a document that your car insurance company files with the state to prove you have the legal minimum coverage requirements needed to get behind the wheel. You might need to file an SR-22 if you’ve gotten a DUI or have been caught driving without car insurance.
What happens after an accident in Wisconsin?
Even the smallest car accidents can leave you feeling shaken up. If you’ve recently been in a car accident, take a deep breath and follow these steps to keep the process as safe and headache-free as possible.
Get to safety. Make sure you everyone involved in the crash is OK. If anyone needs medical attention, call 911 immediately.
Exchange information.Write down the full names, cars and insurance information of everyone involved in the accident. If you can, include their addresses and driver’s license numbers in your notes.
Contact your insurance agent.Before you’ve left the scene of the crash, call your insurance agent. Once you tell them what’s happened, they’ll be able to guide you through the upcoming insurance process and provide more specific advice to help you.
Document the accident scene.Take pictures of the scene, and try to capture multiple angles of the damage. Take down the names of police officers and any potential witnesses to better protect your claim.
Who’s at fault after an accident?
Wisconsin is a tort or at-fault state, meaning whoever caused the crash is held responsible for damages and injuries afterward.
When should I report an accident in Wisconsin?
Not every accident will require a report to the authorities, but you must report your car crash if:
Anyone is injured or killed.
Anyone involved has more than $1,000 in property damages.
Any government property has more than $200 in damages.
When should I contact a lawyer?
You might want to get in touch with a lawyer if:
You’re being charged with a crime after an accident, such as negligence or vehicular assault.
You plan to file a civil suit against the other driver in the crash.
The other driver plans to file a suit against you.
Your insurance provider is refusing to pay a claim that you believe is legitimate.
Car insurance can help to protect you and your vehicle, plus other drivers on the road — and in the state of Wisconsin, you simply can’t hit the road without it.
Enter your ZIP code and click Compare to see the best rates in Wisconsin.
Your information is secure.
Frequently asked questions about car insurance in Wisconsin
For drivers who aren’t of drinking age, the BAC limit is 0.02%, which is also the lowest accurate BAC most breathalyzers or portable breath tests are capable of reading.
Most insurance providers reserve the right to cancel your coverage during the first 60 days of your policy, but that exact length of time depends on which insurer you’re working with. After those 60 days, your insurance provider usually only cancels your coverage if you fail to make a payment, fraudulently misrepresented yourself on the application or had your driver’s license suspended.
If you’re only passing through, the insurance policy you have in your home state will be just fine. But if you’re moving to Wisconsin, you’ll need to get an insurance policy that adheres to the state’s legal minimums — typically as soon as you register your vehicle there.
Your rates can go up if you file a claim — insurance providers reserve the right to adjust your rates upon your policy renewal. But there’s no guarantee this will happen. You’ll be protected from a rate increase if your insurance provider offers accident forgiveness or some sort of rate-locking deal for the lifetime of your policy.
How likely would you be to recommend finder to a friend or colleague?
Very UnlikelyExtremely Likely
Thank you for your feedback.
Our goal is to create the best possible product, and your thoughts, ideas and suggestions play a major role in helping us identify opportunities to improve.
finder.com is an independent comparison platform and information service that aims to provide you with the tools you need to make better decisions. While we are independent, we may receive compensation from our partners for placement of their products or services. We may also receive compensation if you click on certain links posted on our site. While compensation arrangements may affect the order, position or placement of product information, it doesn't influence our assessment of those products. Please don't interpret the order in which products appear on our Site as any endorsement or recommendation from us. finder.com compares a wide range of products, providers and services but we don't provide information on all available products, providers or services. Please appreciate that there may be other options available to you than the products, providers or services covered by our service.