Before getting auto insurance in North Dakota
In North Dakota, the towns and cities in this state are spread apart to the point that owning a car is essential, and with a need for a car comes a need for car insurance. North Dakota’s laws require every driver to carry liability insurance, as well as coverage for uninsured driver liability; it’s also a no-fault state. Learn more about insuring your car in North Dakota.
Average car insurance costs in North Dakota
Drivers in this state can generally expect to pay right around the national average for their car insurance, which was in the ballpark of $1,250 to $1,350 annually in 2017. This works out to about $105 to $115 monthly. So if you’re older than 25 and there are no big issues on your driving record, this could be close to what you’ll pay for your coverage.
Location can play a large role in your car insurance rates, but admittedly it’s less evident in North Dakota than it would be in say, New York. The more expensive places in North Dakota to insure a car are cities like Fargo, because with city living comes an elevated risk of traffic accidents, theft, vandalism and other issues that commonly result in insurance claims. And as for the cheaper parts of North Dakota to get car insurance, look to the small towns and rural areas — the lower the population density, the cheaper it typically is to buy coverage.
Cheapest car insurance in North Dakota
Compare North Dakota car insurance providers
How can I save on my car insurance?
Looking for some ways to save money on your auto insurance in North Dakota? No matter what state you’re in, you can use some general tips to lower your premiums and get a better value out of your coverage.
Car insurance requirements in North Dakota
This state has a few minimum requirements when it comes to auto insurance coverage. So when you’re shopping for a policy, keep in mind that you must meet these standards to hit the road.
- Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability: $25,000 per accident
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
- Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage: $30,000 per person
You might sometimes see these requirements written as 25/50/25.
Optional insurance coverage
While having the bare minimum for car insurance gets you on the road, consider looking into additional coverage to better protect yourself, your passengers and your vehicle.
- Collision. This helps pay for repairs if your car is damaged in an accident.
- Comprehensive. Covers you in case your car is damaged by something other than an accident — for instance, a fire or break-in.
- Medical and funeral services. This coverage assists in paying for medical bills or funeral services after an accident.
- Rental. This helps cover the expenses of renting a car while waiting for your vehicle to be repaired after an accident.
Alternative options for car insurance
Instead of paying insurance, you can make a $25,000 deposit with the Bank of North Dakota. You can also place a deposit of $25,000 with a surety company; you’ll get a certificate that you can display if a police officer asks you for your proof of insurance.
North Dakota Automobile Insurance Plan (NDAIP)
The North Dakota Automobile Insurance Plan can help high-risk drivers find minimum insurance coverage by assigning them to one of several area providers. All North Dakota car insurance companies are required to participate in the plan, so that every driver on the road is provided proper coverage. However, if you apply for coverage through the NDAIP, you can probably expect to pay more for your car insurance.
North Dakota’s penalties for uninsured drivers
Driving without the legal minimum of coverage in this state is a misdemeanor crime and can cost at least $150. If you’re caught multiple times, penalties can increase to a license suspension or even jail time.
If you’re in an accident without adequate coverage, you can get up to 14 violation points on your driving record, and your license will be suspended until you can get proper insurance coverage.
Uninsured drivers in North Dakota
This state had far fewer than the national average when it came to uninsured drivers on the road in 2015. The Insurance Research Council (IRC) estimated that only 6.8% of North Dakota’s drivers didn’t have the required insurance coverage. For reference, the national average was 13%.
In spite of this low number, there’s still some risk that you could get into an accident with someone without insurance. This is why it’s a good thing that North Dakota requires you to have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
What about temporary car insurance?
Yes, you can get temporary insurance coverage in North Dakota. However, many providers won’t offer it or charge much higher premiums.
Your best bet might be to call your current insurance provider or look into an online provider to find out your options. You could also find a short-term policy that lets you cancel early for little or nothing in fees, allowing you to transfer to a more long-term option when you’re ready.
Drunk driving laws in North Dakota
If you’re caught driving drunk in North Dakota, you’re likely to face fines and fees, a suspension of your license and possible jail time. The penalties also get more severe for repeat offenders.
|1st Offense||2nd Offense||3rd Offense||4th Offense||5th Offense|
|Jail||None||10 days||120 days||180 days||Up to 5 years|
|Fines and Penalties||$500–$750||$600–$1,000||$2,000+||$2,000+||Up to $5,000|
|Driving Privilege||91–180 days||1 year||2–3 years||2–3 years||N/A|
Implied consent laws in North Dakota
An implied consent law typically means by driving on public roads, you’re consenting to a portable breath test or breathalyzer if you’re asked by police. If you refuse, you could face consequences in addition to the possible drunk driving charge or any other violations you committed that led to you being pulled over.
If you refuse to take a breathalyzer test, you could have your license revoked from one to four years.
How a DUI affects your car insurance
After a DUI your insurance costs are likely to go up. Your insurance provider considers you high-risk after a DUI conviction and will raise your rates.
After a DUI conviction or other major violations, you’ll need to file a SR-22 form to get back on the road. An SR-22 informs the state that you’re in compliance with insurance laws. If you’re unsure whether you need to file an SR-22 form, contact the state or the Department of Motor Vehicles.
What happens after an accident in North Dakota?
When you’re involved in a car accident, the steps you take at the scene can save lives, minimize legal issues and help your provider settle any insurance claims quickly and efficiently.
- Get to safety. Make sure that you and everybody involved in the accident get to safety. If you need assistance, call 911 or the police immediately.
- Notify your insurance company. After you’ve confirmed that all parties are safe, call your agent to report the accident. They’ll walk you through the information they need for your claim.
- Document the accident. Protect your claim by taking down the names of any police officers at the scene. Take pictures of each car involved from different angles, and talk to any witnesses you might be able to contact for more information later.
- Exchange information. Get the full name, contact info and insurance policy details from other drivers. Note the driver’s car color, model and license plate number, as well as the exact location of the accident.
When you talk to other drivers involved in the accident, some lawyers will advise you to avoid admitting or implying fault. If you suggest to anybody that you caused it, your car insurance provider could use this statement to refuse to pay your claim.
Is North Dakota a no-fault state?
This state is one of several no-fault states in the country. This means that in an accident, everyone should be covered by insurance, regardless of who caused the crash.
An at-fault driver could still see an increase in their insurance rates after an accident.
When should I report an accident to the authorities?
If the accident results in any injuries or deaths, or if property damages exceed $1,000 you’re required to inform local police.
Failing to report an accident could land you in serious legal trouble. Depending on the circumstances, you could be charged with a hit and run or with fleeing the scene of an accident — and either of these could potentially result in felony charges.
Since North Dakota requires you to carry car insurance and because you face financial and legal consequences if you don’t, your best route is to look for a conventional car insurance policy that works for you.
To learn more about these topics, from laws and regulations to finding the best values and policies out there, visit our comprehensive guide to car insurance.
Frequently asked questions
Which car insurance provider is best for me?
Looking to save on car insurance? Answer these three questions to find a provider that best fits your needs and budget.
Question 1 of 2
Based on your answers, check out: