250_250

Revolut review December 2018

We take a closer look at the banking app that’s breaking down borders

Since its launch in 2015, Revolut has reached over 2 million users. With an elegant, streamlined smartphone app, Revolut is providing a progressive banking solution for today’s hyper-connected world.

Read on to find out more about Revolut and whether it might be an option for you.

Revolut card: Free delivery worth £5

Use the button below and enter your number to receive a free Revolut card.

  • Spend abroad with no fees
  • Fee free international money transfers
  • Buy Bitcoin, Litecoin and Ethereum with one tap
  • Trusted by 2 million users
  • Sign up takes just 60 seconds

Promoted
Revolut (Business)

Looking for a business account? Get 3 months free trial and free business card

Hold over 150 currencies, transfer money internationally, and issue employees with corporate cards for global fee free spending using Revolut’s business account.

What is Revolut?

Revolut is a digital ‘challenger bank’, offering hassle free global spending. Its app is elegant and simple and Revolut prides itself on being a “world beyond banking, working for those who never stop moving forwards.”

With free international money transfers, fee-free global spending and access to cryptocurrency exchange, Revolut is aiming to break down the borders of banking.

Revolut on the rise

  • Revolut increased revenue by almost 5x between 1 Jan and 31 Dec 2017
  • Users tripled, from 450,000 to 1.3 million in the same period (now approaching to 3 million)
  • Monthly transaction volumes jumped from $200 million to $1.5 billion

How does Revolut work?

After you sign up, you can request a contactless Revolut card. Customers have complete control over their card, with the ability to freeze and unfreeze it at the touch of a button, a feature that provides added security and convenience.

The app is simple, easy to navigate and streamlined. Features include:

  • Accounts: View the balance and transaction history on your accounts. You can hold a physical balance on the app in 16 currencies.
  • Payments: The app enables you to transfer money to 25 countries, fee-free, at the interbank exchange rate (the same rates banks give each other).
  • Pay friends: Pay friends with ease or use the split bill feature to divide a group spend.
  • Analytics: View your spending habits, categorised by type of transaction, merchant or by country.
  • Manage your cards: Freeze a card if you lose it, unfreeze your card if you find it, set monthly spending limits and enable additional security.

When will your Revolut card be delivered?

After you’ve placed your order, your Revolut card should be dispatched the next working day. Standard delivery can take up to 9 days, while express delivery to the UK, US and Canada will get you your card in 2 working days. For all other countries express delivery should take 3 business days.

Customers are warned, though, that these are estimated delivery times. It may take longer.

Using Revolut abroad

Revolut’s most unique and appealing feature is that it enables you to spend fee-free at the interbank rate in 150 currencies.

When spending abroad, it’s common that a portion of holiday funds go on transaction fees or hidden charges.

Revolut provides customers with international spending freedom, making the account popular with holidaymakers and travelers.

For more details about sending money overseas, head to our international money transfer section to find everything you need to know to find a cheap deal.

If you're travelling abroad

If you are heading overseas and are thinking about travel money, head to our travel money section for the cheapest deals on foreign currencies, or to our travel section for tips on how to get cheap flights!

Revolut fees, limits and pricing

  • Card Transactions: Free in 120 countries.
  • Bank Transfer: Fee-free, at the interbank rate, in 24 currencies. Although it charges 0.5% for transfers that exceed £5000 a month.
  • Withdrawals: Free ATM withdrawals of up to £200 per month. After this limit there is a 2% fee.
  • Overdraft: You cannot enter an overdraft. If a purchase exceeds your available funds the transaction will be declined.
  • Delivery: Free with premium subscription, £4.99 with standard subscription.
  • Premium Subscription: £6.99 per month or £72.00 annually in advance (saving £11.88). (Read our review of the Premium service here).

Is Revolut safe?

Revolut is regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), protecting your money if Revolut face problems.

The smartphone app is protected by a password or fingerprint ID. Immediately freeze or unfreeze your card in the app if it’s been misplaced, lost or stolen. Add further control by turning online, ATM and contactless payments on or off.

Revolut has recently launched its disposable virtual card to tackle online fraud. When a customer makes an online payment with a disposable card, Revolut will detect the transaction and automatically destroy those card details, generating new ones that will appear directly in the app.

How to top up with Revolut?

Linking your main bank account with your Revolut card lets you top up instantly. Just head to the app and do the following:

  1. The first time you top up you have to link a main bank account with your Revolut card. Go into the app and put in your 16-digit card number, expiry date, CVC code, and billing postcode.
  2. Make sure the address is correct otherwise the payment might fail to go through.
  3. Press the ‘+’ symbol in the top left corner of the accounts screen.
  4. Add the card you want to top up from, and choose the amount you want to add into your Revolut account.
  5. Tap top up and the money will go into your account instantly.

Another top up option Revolut offers is the automatic top up feature. With this, you get the app to automatically top up your Revolut account from your main card if it drops below a certain amount.

How to use Revolut’s virtual card?

It is a card you can only use for online transactions. Buying shoes off ASOS, or paying your Netflix subscription, for instance. Or maybe paying Deliveroo or UberEATS. It can’t be used for recurring payments like paying for rent (though you can still set up a recurring payment in the app).

So what’s the point of it this card? Can’t you just use your physical card for everything?

Well, the idea is that it’s safer. You can freeze your virtual card, and set monthly spending limits. On top of this you can delete the virtual card every few months, making it harder for fraudsters to steal your details and clone your card.

To use it, head to the ‘cards’ section in your app and scroll to your virtual card. Simply use the displayed card number and cvv at checkout.

However, Revolut’s real show pony is its “disposable” virtual card. They’re only available to premium users, though. After every online transaction Revolut deletes your virtual card and gives you a new one. Revolut says this has reduced fraud by 30%.

How does the app look?

Compare Revolut with other banking apps

Updated December 19th, 2018
Name Product Fees and charges Delivery speed
N26
Free
5-7 working days
App-based bank account that can be used on the go in any EU country. All about the ease of sending and saving money.
Free with finder.com, otherwise card delivery is £4.99
Up to 9 working days
App-based current account with loads of extra features. (e.g. Real time transactions, payment categorisation, save spare change, free international money transfers, buy cryptocurrency)
Free
Between 3-5 working days
Everything you get from a current account, but with new features for mobile living. (E.g. Goals for saving, spending catgorisation, interest on your balances)
None
Between 3-5 business days
A multi-currency mobile banking app that aims to be ‘built around you’. Use it to open a fully functional current account instantly, straight from your phone, all supported by a feature-rich mobile app

Compare up to 4 providers

Updated December 19th, 2018
Name Product Foreign ATM withdrawals ATM withdrawal limit Foreign transactions fee Card cost Delivery speed
N26
ATM fees differ depending on country
€2 after exceeding free withdrawal limit
No fees
Free
5-7 working days
App-based bank account that can be used on the go in any EU country. All about the ease of sending and saving money.
No ATM fees
£200 per month. Anything more is charged at 2% of value of withdrawal.
No fees
Free with finder.com, otherwise card delivery is £4.99
Up to 9 working days
App-based current account with loads of extra features. (e.g. Real time transactions, payment categorisation, save spare change, free international money transfers, buy cryptocurrency)
No ATM fees
£300 per day. Maximum of 6 withdrawals per day.
No fees
Free
Between 3-5 working days
Everything you get from a current account, but with new features for mobile living. (E.g. Goals for saving, spending catgorisation, interest on your balances)
€1 per withdrawal
£300 per day
2% on card spend and ATM usage
Card delivery is free
Between 3-5 business days
A multi-currency mobile banking app that aims to be ‘built around you’. Use it to open a fully functional current account instantly, straight from your phone, all supported by a feature-rich mobile app

Compare up to 4 providers

Updated December 19th, 2018
Name Product Fees and charges Interest Savings goals
N26
Free
up to 1.48%
n26 'Spaces' feature lets the user open sub-accounts to stash your money away
App-based bank account that can be used on the go in any EU country. All about the ease of sending and saving money.
Free with finder.com, otherwise card delivery is £4.99
No interest
Set budgets in the app
App-based current account with loads of extra features. (e.g. Real time transactions, payment categorisation, save spare change, free international money transfers, buy cryptocurrency)
Free
0.5% AER up to £2,000, 0.25% over £2,000 to £85,000
Create up to 10 different spending goals and protect money from daily spending
Everything you get from a current account, but with new features for mobile living. (E.g. Goals for saving, spending catgorisation, interest on your balances)
None
No interest
Not a feature
A multi-currency mobile banking app that aims to be ‘built around you’. Use it to open a fully functional current account instantly, straight from your phone, all supported by a feature-rich mobile app

Compare up to 4 providers

Updated December 19th, 2018
Name Product Direct debits UK ATMs Payments Freeze your card CASS
N26
Yes
Free
Use MoneyBeam to transfer money instantly. Is partnered with Transferwise so can send money to 16 countries.
Yes: touch of a button in app
No
App-based bank account that can be used on the go in any EU country. All about the ease of sending and saving money.
Revolut currently only supports direct debits with the Euro IBAN account
Free up to £200 a month
Easy UK payments and can transfer money between 23 countries
Yes: touch of a button in app
No
App-based current account with loads of extra features. (e.g. Real time transactions, payment categorisation, save spare change, free international money transfers, buy cryptocurrency)
Yes
Free
Pay via bank transfer. Can't pay into paypal currently.
Yes: touch of a button in app
Yes
Everything you get from a current account, but with new features for mobile living. (E.g. Goals for saving, spending catgorisation, interest on your balances)
Yes - can cancel with touch of a button too
£1 per withdrawal
Pay via bank transfer, easier to send to another Monese account.
Report lost/stolen in app to be sent replacement
No
A multi-currency mobile banking app that aims to be ‘built around you’. Use it to open a fully functional current account instantly, straight from your phone, all supported by a feature-rich mobile app

Compare up to 4 providers

What is Revolut cryptocurrency?

When it comes to cryptocurrencies, Revolut stands out from its competitors. In 2017, it became the first challenger bank to let customers buy cryptos in its app.

What’s more, it’s incredibly easy for anyone to use cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin with Revolut. Revolut’s aim is to make them accessible, so you don’t have to be a tech whizz to get your hands on them.

  • Cryptocurrencies: Customers have access to 5 different cryptocurrencies: Bitcoin, Litecoin, Ethereum, Bitcoin Cash and XRP.
  • Unlock: With a basic Revolut account you have to invite three friends to app before you can “unlock” the crypto feature in the app. Premium account holders get it automatically.
  • Exchanges: Exchange one of the 25 base currencies in the app for one of its crypto options. So, change Pound Sterling into XRP, or change Euros into Bitcoin. The choice is yours.
  • Real-time rates: Real-time cryptocurrency graphs show you current rates. Plus set up price alerts to hear when your cryptocurrency hits a certain value.
  • Fees: Revolut do charge a 1.5% markup for the transaction. Revolut says it gives the best possible exchange rates, but it’s certainly worth taking a look at your other options if your looking at delving into cryptocurrencies.
  • Send to friends: Transfer cryptocurrencies to other Revolut users for free.
  • Risks: Revolut does still warn that the value of cryptocurrencies can rapidly increase or decrease at any time, so you the customer are at risk. As well as gains, you could make some serious losses.

Pros and cons of Revolut

Pros

  • 24 currencies can be held on your account. Exchange between them is instant.
  • Spend abroad with no fees.
  • 24-hour customer service.
  • User-friendly app with control over accounts and cards.
  • Interbank exchange rate.
  • Instant top ups from your main account.

Cons

  • At weekends, when the markets are closed, Revolut applies a mark up of 0.5% on major currencies and 1% on other currencies on its rates.
  • You are always charged at least a 1% markup for currencies like the Thai Baht, Russian Rubbles, Ukrainian Hryvnia and the Turkish Lira. This rises to 2% on weekends.
  • Foreign exchanges over £5000 a month come with a 0.5% fee.
  • The card can take up to nine working days to arrive, so you need to be prepared if you’re travelling!
  • Free cash withdrawals are limited to £200 a month.
  • No branches, which can put off those who prefer face-to-face customer service.

FAQs

N26
N26

What is it?

App-based bank account that can be used on the go in any EU country. All about the ease of sending and saving money.
Revolut (Standard)
Revolut (Standard)

What is it?

App-based current account with loads of extra features. (e.g. Real time transactions, payment categorisation, save spare change, free international money transfers, buy cryptocurrency)
Starling
Starling

What is it?

Everything you get from a current account, but with new features for mobile living. (E.g. Goals for saving, spending catgorisation, interest on your balances)
Monese (Starter)
Monese (Starter)

What is it?

A multi-currency mobile banking app that aims to be ‘built around you’. Use it to open a fully functional current account instantly, straight from your phone, all supported by a feature-rich mobile app

Was this content helpful to you? No  Yes

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder.com provides guides and information on a range of products and services. Because our content is not financial advice, we suggest talking with a professional before you make any decision.

By submitting your comment or question, you agree to our Privacy and Cookies Policy and Terms of Use.

Questions and responses on finder.com are not provided, paid for or otherwise endorsed by any bank or brand. These banks and brands are not responsible for ensuring that comments are answered or accurate.

87 Responses

  1. Default Gravatar
    AdamDecember 16, 2018

    Hi! I am travelling to Tunisia. I am wondering if my Revolut card would work there? Also, can I receive money from home (UK) on it whilst I am there?

    Many thanks

    • finder Customer Care
      JoshuaDecember 18, 2018Staff

      Hi Adam,

      Thanks for getting in touch with finder. I hope all is well with you. :)

      Yes, Revolut should work in Tunisia. There was some issue before but Revolut’s website mentioned that it was already resolved. And Yes, you can also receive money from the UK while you’re in Tunisia.

      I hope this helps. Should you have further questions, please don’t hesitate to reach us out again.

      Have a wonderful day!

      Cheers,
      Joshua

  2. Default Gravatar
    SueDecember 15, 2018

    I am currently working in the US and looking to pay my hotel bill.

    A couple of questions:
    – My card currently only has £10.00 on it, so I assume that I have to top it up with say around £500.00 to pay my bill on my card. Is that correct?
    – Will this cost me anything?
    – If I place more money on my card than I need, can I remove it and transfer it back to my bank?

    • finder Customer Care
      JoshuaDecember 17, 2018Staff

      Hi Sue,

      Thanks for getting in touch with finder. I hope all is well with you. :)

      Let me answer your question one by one:

      1. It would depend on how much money you want to add to your card. As long as you have enough fund to pay your hotel bill then that would be great.

      2. Revolut does not charge any fees when you use it abroad. However, please note that if your currency needs to be converted, then Revolut do charge a 1.5% markup for the transaction.

      3. Yes, you can always transfer money from Revolut to your bank account and vice versa.

      I hope this helps. Should you have further questions, please don’t hesitate to reach us out again.

      Have a wonderful day!

      Cheers,
      Joshua

  3. Default Gravatar
    DazzaNovember 28, 2018

    Does a Revolut card show up on a credit report ( Balance etc ) or help towards gaining a better credit rating if it’s your own money?

    • finder Customer Care
      JoshuaDecember 6, 2018Staff

      Hi Dazza,

      Thanks for getting in touch with finder. I hope all is well with you. :)

      It is understandable that you are concerned with how Revolut could affect your score. Upon checking, Revolut does not perform hard credit enquiry but only soft enquiry. This means that Revolut does not affect your credit score.

      Moreover, since Revolut is more of a debit card, it has no effect on your credit score no matter how you use it.

      I hope this helps. Should you have further questions, please don’t hesitate to reach us out again.

      Have a wonderful day!

      Cheers,
      Joshua

  4. Default Gravatar
    PatrickNovember 23, 2018

    I want to use the revolut card to pay for my ebay purchases, is it possible to link it to paypal for this purpose ?

    • finder Customer Care
      joelmarceloNovember 24, 2018Staff

      Hi Patrick,

      Thanks for leaving a question on finder.

      As per Paypal, unfortunately the bank account from Revolut cannot be added in PayPal accounts.

      Please send me a message if you need anything else.

      Cheers,
      Joel

  5. Default Gravatar
    DanNovember 19, 2018

    I signed up using the link above, but I did not get any offer for free delivery of the card?

    • finder Customer Care
      CharisseNovember 20, 2018Staff

      Hi Dan,

      Thanks for reaching out to finder.

      If you signed up through finder, you are eligible for a free Revolut card via standard delivery. You can go to the ‘Cards’ section of the app to order your first standard physical card for free. However, before you can order your card, you need to top up your account with a minimum of £10 which you can also spend, withdraw, or transfer to a bank account anytime.

      I hope this helps.

      Cheers,
      Charisse

  6. Default Gravatar
    PeterNovember 16, 2018

    Can I have multiple cards for the same (business) account?

    • finder Customer Care
      CharisseNovember 16, 2018Staff

      Hi Peter,

      Thanks for reaching out to finder.

      Yes, Revolut allows you to order as many physical cards as you would like per month, and up to 20 virtual cards per month.

      There is no card fee for if you order a Revolut for business physical or virtual cards, however there is a charge for delivery:

      Standard Delivery (up to 9 days) – £6 (or currency equivalent)
      Global Express Delivery (up to 2 days)- £12 or currency equivalent

      I hope this helps.

      Cheers,
      Charisse

  7. Default Gravatar
    PaulNovember 14, 2018

    Hi, I want to ask. Can I fund my Neteller account with Revolut Visa?

    • finder Customer Care
      CharisseNovember 14, 2018Staff

      Hi Paul,

      Thanks for reaching out to finder.

      Deposits using credit or debit card are available to most Neteller members worldwide however acceptable cards vary depending on your country of residence.

      You can go to the “Money In” section within your Neteller account to view the acceptable cards. If you are unable to locate your card logo, it means Neteller currently does not accept that type of card in your area.

      I hope this helps.

      Cheers,
      Charisse

  8. Default Gravatar
    AlessandraOctober 18, 2018

    Hello.
    I’ve just opened a Monzo account as I need to transfer my money from my home country to the UK (where I’m living right now).
    But only after receiving my Monzo card I found out that Monzo cannot receive transfers from abroad for now.
    Therefore I’ve opened a Revolut account (which I didn’t do on the first place only because I’ve read Monzo gives all traditional banking guarantees that Revolut doesn’t).

    Now, since I wouldn’t want to pay the delivery of a Revolut card because I already have a Monzo card, and since Revolut IS enabled for international transfers, MY QUESTION IS: can I use a Revolut virtual card to top up my Monzo account?
    I am basically thinking of
    1. transferring money from my home country bank to my Revolut account and then of
    2. using a Revolut virtual card to top up my Monzo account.

    Is this possible?
    Thank you

    • finder Customer Care
      joelmarceloOctober 19, 2018Staff

      Hi Alessandra,

      Thanks for leaving a question on finder.

      You can certainly top up your Monzo using Revolut. On Monzo it just shows as top-up, Revolut shows it as payment.

      Please send me a message if you need anything else. :)

      Cheers,
      Joel

  9. Default Gravatar
    MargaretOctober 17, 2018

    I can not open my account on my mobile It keeps asking for a code and then says try later how do I access my account to top up?

    • finder Customer Care
      joelmarceloOctober 18, 2018Staff

      Hi Margaret,

      Thanks for leaving a question on finder.

      The number will be n in the “Pending transactions section” of your online account. If you do not find it there, you will have to contact support via the Revolut app or Twitter and Facebook. They are very responsive to messages and will sort this out for you.

      Please send me a message if you need anything else. :)

      Cheers,
      Joel

  10. Default Gravatar
    GarretOctober 13, 2018

    Can I change my address from a uk residence to a USA residence because I move. Secondly would my travel insurance still be valid, when I leave to USA or is it only valid in the UK.

    • finder Customer Care
      JoshuaOctober 16, 2018Staff

      Hi Garret,

      Thanks for getting in touch with finder. I hope all is well with you. :)

      You can change your address anytime if you haven’t verified your account yet. However, if you have already verified it, you need to contact Revolut’s in-app support and provide a proof of address of your new address.

      It would be a good idea to review your policy’s terms and conditions to confirm. However, the insurance policy of Revolut covers overseas emergency medical assistance and expenses. So, you should be covered even if you leave the UK.

      To get a more personalised answer, please check with Revolut directly.

      I hope this helps. Should you have further questions, please don’t hesitate to reach us out again.

      Have a wonderful day!

      Cheers,
      Joshua

Go to site