We value our editorial independence, basing our comparison results, content and reviews on objective analysis without bias. But we may receive compensation when you click links on our site. Learn more about how we make money from our partners.
State minimum motorcycle insurance requirements
Compare motorcycle coverage by state
Every state has its own requirements for how much insurance a vehicle needs, and those laws break down by type of vehicle as well. Motorcycles have to follow the same liability limits as cars, but any coverage beyond that is largely up to the driver. Find the motorcycle insurance requirements and laws in your state to start your motorcycle insurance comparison.
- A variety of coverage and add-ons.
- Many discounts available.
- Rewards responsible riders.
Best for bikes: Progressive motorcycle insurance
Get protection for any kind of bike with this big-name provider. Enjoy discounts galore plus cheap rates and free perks designed for bikers.
- Low starting rates.
- Many free perks and cheap add-ons.
- Vintage and antique bike coverage.
Minimum motorcycle requirements in each state
Motorcycle and car liability limits are the same in every state. That includes bodily injury liability and property damage liability, which cover damages to people and property involved in an at-fault accident.
You’ll see limits like 25/50/25, which breaks down to bodily injury maximums per person, bodily injury maximums per accident and property damage liability.
That means in an accident, whoever’s at fault will use their insurance to pay for any costs up to $25,000 for each injured person’s medical bills and other costs, $50,000 total for everyone injured in that accident and $25,000 in damaged property, including the other driver’s car.
|State||Required||Bodily injury & property damage liability coverage|
|Kentucky||Yes||25/50/10 or 60 combined per accident|
|Utah||Yes||25/65/15 or combined 80 per accident all damages|
Compare state minimum motorcycle insurance policies
Why is motorcycle insurance not required in some states?
Arizona, New Hampshire and Virginia don’t require you to have vehicle insurance, but they do require you to be able to pay for damages you cause in an accident. In Arizona, you’ll need to prove you can pay for damages you cause in an accident by depositing a check with the state’s treasury or DMV. Virginia charges an annual fine for driving uninsured.
Why do motorcycles have different insurance requirements?
In general, motorcycles have to follow the same liability limits as cars. But unlike with cars, motorcycles aren’t required to have uninsured coverage or personal injury protection (PIP). For some states and insurers, you won’t even be able to get uninsured coverage or PIP for motorcycles.
Personal injury protection covers your medical bills regardless of who’s at fault in an accident. Those costs tend to be higher for bikers because they have a higher chance of being injured or having more severe injuries than car passengers or drivers. Insurance companies want to limit the amount they’ll have to pay out in a claim, so they might exclude motorcycles from PIP coverage.
Motorcycles are still required to meet the same liability coverage minimums as cars. But you’re not required to meet the same standards for personal injury protection and uninsured motorist coverage. You might still need to get additional coverage to protect you, your passengers and your bike, so it pays to compare motorcycle policies to find the best deal for you.
Common questions about bike insurance requirements
Ask an Expert