Finder makes money from featured partners, but editorial opinions are our own. Advertiser disclosure

Suspended license in New Jersey

You can get your license back, but you may have fines, surcharges or points on your record.

Get the cheapest quotes for your car

Compare providers in your area.

How do I find out if my license is suspended in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, you can find out about your license suspension in several ways by mail or phone.

  • By mail. Rest assured that officials are required to send notice to your address on file with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) before suspending your license.
  • By phone. If you haven’t gotten a notice but would like to review your driving record, you can call the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) at 609-292-6500 or at the toll-free number 888-486-3339.

Reasons your license might be suspended

You may think you’d only get a license suspension for driving uninsured or after drinking. But New Jersey drivers can receive a suspension for other reasons too, including:

  • 12+ points on driving record
  • Abandoning a vehicle on public roads
  • At fault in a fatal accident
  • Driving without insurance
  • DUI, whether drugs or alcohol
  • Failing to appear in court
  • Outstanding fines, surcharges or violations
  • Physical or mental disabilities that inhibit driving
  • Reckless driving

Can my license be suspended if I don’t renew it?

No. If your license has expired, you have up to three years to renew it. However, driving while your license is expired is illegal. If you miss the three-year window, you’ll have to apply for a new license.

In some cases, you may have a grace period before expiration. During the coronavirus, New Jersey extended expiring driver’s licenses and registrations by two months.

What happens if your license gets suspended license in New Jersey?

If you get a suspension, you won’t be able to drive for the length of your suspension, according to New Jersey law. You’ll also need to take care of any fines or surcharges that apply to your suspension.

For example, a suspension from too many license points could mean a big surcharge. Typically, the charge is $150 for the first six points and $25 per point thereafter, which totals $300 for 12 points. The surcharge can apply for up to three years.

However, you can appeal your suspension if you’re not guilty or never received notice of the suspension beforehand. However, appealing if you didn’t receive a notice could require that you’ve kept your address updated with the DMV.

Also, you could avoid the suspension by reducing points on your license or paying your outstanding fines, but these decisions may be up to the judge or police officer.

Who is most likely to be researching license suspension in New Jersey?

Finder data suggests that men aged 25-34 are most likely to be researching this topic.

ResponseMale (%)Female (%)
Source: Finder sample of 706 visitors using demographics data from Google Analytics

How can I drive with a suspended license in New Jersey?

New Jersey law does not allow driving with a suspended license. If you get caught doing so, you’ll receive a $500 fine plus $250 surcharge for up to three years with an additional license suspension of six months.

Each offense after the first receives a steeper fine, surcharge, insurance points and jail time. That includes insurance points, a $750 fine, $250 surcharge and up to five days in jail for a second offense. The third time, you’ll receive points, a $1,000 fine, $250 surcharge and up to 10 days in jail.

How to reinstate a suspended license in New Jersey

After you’ve completed your suspension period, you can reinstate your license after paying any outstanding fines or surcharges as directed and then paying a reinstatement fee. You’ll need to tag any of these methods with your driver’s license number for quick processing.

How to pay the $100 reinstatement fee:

  • Online. Go to the MVC fee payment page and follow the instructions there for payment.
  • In person. Visit your local motor vehicle agency to take care of the fee quickly and simply. Note that you’ll have to renew in person if your license has expired since it was suspended.
  • By mail. You’ll need to use the correct address based on whether or not you have the bottom portion of your suspension notice.
With bottom portion:
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
PO Box 140
Trenton, NJ 08650-0140
Without bottom portion:
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
PO Box 134
Trenton, NJ 08650-0134

When can I drive my car again?

First, you’ll need to complete your suspension period, which should be specified by your ticket or the judge at court. If you get a suspension for not paying surcharges, your suspension lasts only until you pay the surcharge and reinstatement fee and receive notice of your restored license.

After you’ve completed the suspension and reinstatement process, you’ll receive a Notice of Restoration in the mail, which allows you to drive with a valid driver’s license.

How to get car insurance with a suspended license in New Jersey

You may need car insurance with a suspended license to keep your car protected or to avoid a coverage lapse even while you’re not driving.

However, your current insurer may drop you after a suspension because of higher driving risk. In that case, you can get insurance in several ways:

  • Standard insurance companies. Compare big-name or local insurers that offer policies to a variety of drivers.
  • High-risk insurers. Look for local or regional companies who specialize in high-risk drivers. Also, you may need one that will file an SR-22 document if your suspension requires proof of insurance.
  • State-run programs. Contact New Jersey Basic or Standard policy providers to receive quotes. A list is available on the state’s Department of Banking and Insurance website.

Compare Sr-22 car insurance companies

Not all avenues in the Garden State are filled with flowers and roses, especially the road to license reinstatement. You’ll need to fulfill several requirements, such as completing a no-driving period and paying steep fines along with the reinstatement fee. Plus, you might be forced to get pricey high-risk car insurance during the suspension.

1 - 6 of 7
Name Product Roadside assistance Accident forgiveness States served
All 50 states & DC
All states except CA MA ME NJ NY WA
Discover coverage that’s broader than competitors, valuable discounts up to 30% off and perks like shrinking deductibles that reward no claims.
State Farm
State Farm
All 50 states
Work with a dedicated agent to find the right coverage for you, including bundling other policies for the best value.
All 50 states

Stack discounts up to 40% off already low premiums, with convenient mobile services like proof of insurance and claims.

All 50 states
Your dedicated agent can help you find the best savings with multiple discounts and rewards programs.
All 50 states & DC
Affordable car insurance with highly rated customer service. Only available to military members and veterans and their family.

Bottom line

Getting your license suspended in New Jersey can mean hefty fines and surcharges along with your driving restriction, and fines vary based on the violation. However, during your suspension, you might compare insurers for the best high-risk driver coverage and rates.

Frequently asked questions about suspended licenses in New Jersey

How do I get the New Jersey Special Auto Insurance Policy with a suspended license?

Suspended drivers don’t qualify for this “dollar-a-day” program. However, you may qualify once your license is reinstated.

How do I pay my surcharge in New Jersey?

Pay your surcharge in a variety of ways, including:

  • Online. Pay with a debit or credit card through the New Jersey Surcharge Violation System.
  • By phone. Call the toll-free number for payment at 844-424-6829.
  • By mail. Mail a check or money order to NJSVS, PO Box 1502, Moorestown, NJ 08057-9704.
  • Through a payment plan. Call 844-424-6829 to request information about installments.

How do I check points on my license in New Jersey?

Request a copy of your driving record online through the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission or in person at your local motor vehicle agency. You can also call the MVC at 609-292-6500 or the toll-free number 888-486-3339.

More guides on Finder

  • Limousine car insurance

    Compare limousine car insurance to find the best coverage for limo drivers, limousine fleets and chauffeur businesses.

Ask a Question provides guides and information on a range of products and services. Because our content is not financial advice, we suggest talking with a professional before you make any decision.

By submitting your comment or question, you agree to our Privacy and Cookies Policy and Terms of Use.

Questions and responses on are not provided, paid for or otherwise endorsed by any bank or brand. These banks and brands are not responsible for ensuring that comments are answered or accurate.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Go to site