Finder is committed to editorial independence. While we receive compensation when you click links to partners, they do not influence our content.
Suspended license in Maryland
Stick to the letter of the law for a quick license reinstatement.
Getting a license suspension in Maryland could mean shelling out thousands in fines, jail time and the dreaded poor driving record that drives up your insurance premium. But avoid the problem altogether by paying your traffic ticket or opting for a special program for DUI offenses.
How do I find out if my license is suspended in Maryland?
The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) sends a suspension notice by mail after it’s notified of your excessive points or traffic violation. While this letter is the official notice, you could call the MVA Customer Service at 410-768-7000 with questions about your suspension.
Reasons your license might be suspended
Maryland includes many of the same reasons for suspension as other states. But a few uncommon ways involve not paying a traffic ticket within 30 days or child support within 60 days. Other reasons for license suspension:
- Eight or more points on record
- At fault in a fatal accident
- DUI, involving drugs or alcohol
- Failing to pay child support
- Failing to pay for gas
- Not appearing for court dates
- Not paying fines, violations or traffic tickets
- Outstanding warrant for arrest
- Physical or mental disabilities that inhibit driving
- Reckless driving
- Refusing an alcohol breath test
- Violating restricted driver’s license
What happens if you get a suspended license in Maryland?
You’ll need to return your driver’s license to the MVA by the date listed, and complete your term of no driving. You might also be required to take an approved defensive driving course. Don’t drive without a license during this period to avoid criminal charges.
However, you can appeal the license suspension by requesting a hearing. To do that, fill out the hearing request section on your suspension notice. Then, send the request along with the required fee within 15 days of the notice’s date. The Office of Administrative Hearings will let you know details about your hearing.
Can I drive with a suspended license in Maryland?
No, you’re not legally allowed to drive with a suspended license in Maryland. If you do, you may have to serve jail time and pay extra fines, depending on the severity or number of your offenses.
For example, a first-time offender might pay $1,000 and serve up to a year in jail. Another offense can increase jail time up to two years.
How can I avoid my suspension?
In some situations, you can avoid or immediately lift a suspension by paying for your traffic ticket or child support.
If you received a DUI suspension, you might qualify for the Ignition Interlock Program. This program allows drivers charged with a DUI to continue driving, but they must use a breathalyzer to confirm they’re not impaired first. If the test confirms alcohol levels are too high, the ignition interlock system won’t let the vehicle start.
How to reinstate a suspended license in Maryland
Before applying for reinstatement, you should have served your suspension and met any requirements outlined by your suspension notice or judge in court. Then, you can request your reinstatement either by phone or in person:
- In person. Visit the Drivers Wellness and Safety division to request your reinstatement at 6601 Ritchie Highway, Glen Burnie, MD 21062.
- By phone. Call the MVA customer service at 410-768-7000.
To get the reinstatement process going, follow these steps:
- Call or visit the MVA’s Driver Wellness And Safety (DW&S) division and request to get your license reinstated.
- The MVA will review your driving record to ensure that you qualify. If so, you’ll receive an application in person or by mail.
- Fill out the application completely and pay any application fees.
- You’ll receive a letter to inform whether or not your license is reinstated.
- Take an approved reinstatement letter to your local MVA and apply for a new license.
When can I drive my car again?
You can drive your car once you’ve received approval for a reinstated license and have received your new license through the MVA.
If you opted for the Ignition Interlock Program to avoid a DUI suspension, you can drive as soon as the system is installed and you receive your restricted driver’s license.
How to get car insurance with a suspended license in Maryland
Because drivers with a suspended license can’t drive at all in this state, you might only need coverage to avoid a lapse or protect another driver. Maryland doesn’t require SR-22 coverage for high-risk drivers, so that can help you find insurance more easily.
To get a new car insurance policy:
- Compare standard vs. high-risk insurers. Some standard insurers cover drivers with points on record.
- Pinpoint your coverage needs. Determine how much coverage you need while you’re not driving, such as storage coverage or minimum state required coverage.
- Get quotes. You might weigh providers who will cover you against the amount of coverage and cost for their policies.
- Start your new policy. Once all the information gathering is done, you can finalize your policy and get back on the road.
Compare car insurance after a suspended license
While you might not be driving for a while, find the best insurer for coverage during and after your suspension.
Frequently asked questions about suspended licenses in Maryland
More guides on Finder
Compare teledermatology options
Get the skincare you need without taking a trip into your doctor’s office.
10 amazing vacations to take in 2021
Here’s how to make the most of your pent-up wanderlust.
What to expect from the Target 14 Days of Beauty sale
Get all the details on Target’s 14 Days of Beauty sale. And find some hacks on how to stretch your dollar and stack the savings.
How to prepare for divorce: 9 attorneys share their advice
From gathering your financial documents to finding a good therapist, we asked the experts for their No. 1 tip for divorcing spouses.
How to invest in the trendiest tech of CES 2021
Eager to get your hands on CES tech? Here are six companies that introduced groundbreaking tech at CES 2021 — and how you can buy in.
How do CVS rewards work?
Learn how to get up to 10% in rewards with the loyalty program at CVS.
How does a VIN affect car insurance?
Learn how insurance companies use identifying info from your VIN to set rates.
What the second stimulus means for your small business
You might be able to apply for more funding on your PPP loan, get a second PPP loan or take advantage of a new grant program.
How does teledentistry work?
Replace your biannual checkup with a virtual appointment to save time and stay safe.
Best online survey tools
Get valuable insights into your customers and take advantage of a range of customizable features with an online survey tool.
Ask an Expert