Finder is committed to editorial independence. While we receive compensation when you click links to partners, they do not influence our opinions or reviews. Learn how we make money.
Filing for SR-22 insurance in Nebraska
Get cheap SR-22 insurance in Nebraska
If you’ve gotten into trouble behind the wheel and had your driver’s license suspended in Nebraska, you might be required to file an SR-22. But don’t worry — you’re not alone. Here’s what you need to know about getting and maintaining an SR-22 in Nebraska.
When would I have to file an SR-22 in Nebraska?
Your state DMV will let you know if you need to file an SR-22. You might be required by law to file an SR-22 if your license has been suspended or revoked for the following reasons:
- You’re found driving without insurance.
- You’re convicted of reckless driving.
- You’re convicted of a DUI.
- You’ve acquired too many points on your driving record.
What if I don’t have a car?
If you don’t own a car, you still must file an SR-22 in order to get your license reinstated. You’ll have to purchase a non-owner or operator insurance policy.
What if I’m from another state?
If you have an SR-22 from another state, the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles requires you to submit an out-of-state SR-22 filings directly from the home office of the insurance company.
Snag affordable coverage for high-risk drivers, a marketing claim backed by our rate analysis which showed premiums less than $80 a month.
- Qualify even as a high-risk driver
- Get instant access to proof of insurance
- Take advantage of 10 discount opportunities
- File a claim conveniently by app
Compare Nebraska SR-22 car insurance
Find the best rates from insurance providers in Nebraska. Learn more about state minimums and other requirements in the comprehensive guide to Nebraska car insurance.
How much does an SR-22 cost in Nebraska?
Your provider usually charges between $20 and $50 for filing an SR-22. However, the cost of filing the SR-22 is nothing compared to what you’ll pay in higher premiums. Talk to your provider about how much you can expect your rates to increase.
The impact of an SR-22 on your car insurance ratesSR-22s are often required after a driving conviction, such as accumulation of points or a DUI. After such a conviction, you’re considered a “high-risk” driver by Nebraska and most insurance providers — which typically results in higher insurance rates. Still, you’ll find providers out there —like The General — that specialize in high-risk drivers.
Talk to your provider about how much you can expect your rates to increase.
Cheap SR-22 car insurance in Nebraska
Not every insurer offers SR-22 filing support. Compare cheap rates from Nebraska insurance companies that offer SR-22 insurance. Your actual quotes will vary based on your demographics, location, driving record and other factors.
How do I file an SR-22 in Nebraska?
- Find an insurer. Ask your insurer if it issue SR-22s in the state of Nebraska. If it doesn’t, you’ll need to find a car insurance company that does.
- Pay the SR-22 fee. Your insurer will charge a fee for filing the SR-22 on your behalf.
- Verify minimum liability coverage. Nebraska’s minimum insurance requirements are:
- Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
- Property Damage Liability Coverage: $25,000.
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
- Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
- Submit your SR-22. In Nebraska, your insurance provider can file the SR-22 electronically on your behalf. If it doesn’t, you or the insurance company needs to mail or personally deliver it to the DMV.
How long will I need an SR-22 for in Nebraska?
Make sure you understand your role in maintaining your insurance and your SR-22. A lapse or nonrenewal could cost you a lot of time and money.
In Nebraska, the length of your SR-22 depends on your unique situation. See the full list below.
- Point Revocations. If your license was revoked for an accumulation of 12 or more points in less than a two year period, the SR-22 needs to be on file for three years from the date eligible for reinstatement.
- No Proof of Insurance. If your license was suspended because of a court conviction for no proof of insurance, the SR-22 needs to be on file for three years from the date the ticket was issued.
- Court Ordered Revocations. If the court ordered your license to be revoked for a specific period of time, the SR-22 needs to be on file for three years from the date eligible for reinstatement.
- Accident Suspensions. If your license was suspended because you were involved in a reportable accident, the SR-22 is only required to be on file the date of license reinstatement.
- Unsatisfied Judgment Suspensions. If your license was suspended because of a civil judgment filed in a court related to an accident, the SR-22 is only required to be on file the date of license reinstatement.
- Default in Payment. If your license was suspended because you defaulted on a written agreement for reimbursement for damages and injuries resulting from an accident, the SR-22 is only required to be on file the date of license reinstatement.
- Employment Drive Permits. If you were required to obtain an employment drive permit in order to drive to and from work, the SR-22 is only required to be on file until the employment drive permit expires. If you were revoked for a point accumulation, the SR-22 would be required for an additional period of time as indicated above.
- Medical Hardship Permit. If you were required to obtain a medical hardship permit in order to drive to and from doctor’s appointments or work, the SR-22 is only required to be on file until the medical hardship permit expires. If your license was revoked due to point accumulation, the SR-22 would be required for an additional period of time as indicated above.
- Ignition Interlock Permit. If you were required to obtain an ignition interlock permit due to an alcohol-related violation, the SR-22 is only required to be on file until the ignition interlock permit expires if your vehicle is registered in your name only. If there was a court ordered revocation, the SR-22 would be required for an additional period of time as indicated above.
What happens if I let my SR-22 lapse?
Should your coverage lapse your license may be suspended or revoked again, and a new SR-22 will need to be on file for three years from when you become eligible for reinstatement. In order to get your license reinstated you’ll have to pay a $50 reinstatement fee to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and file a new SR-22 once your insurance has been renewed.
What happens when I don’t need SR-22 coverage anymore?
Once your mandated filing period is up you won’t have to keep an SR-22 certification on record, which means you can switch providers or change policies as you please. Before you swap your policy, make sure your filing period is over by contacting the DMV.
It takes some work to get your license back and maintain it, but a good understanding of the requirements and a helpful insurance agent can ease the process significantly. Two important pieces to stay on top of throughout the mandated filing period are your insurance premiums and policy renewal.
Compare providers to find one that offers the coverage you need at a price you can afford. Your rates may be higher, but that doesn’t necessarily mean you won’t be able to find something within your budget.
More guides on Finder
Driving without car insurance
Since driving uninsured comes with steep penalties, look at your coverage options or consider alternatives.
Acceptance car insurance review Oct 2020
Consider Acceptance if you’re a high-risk driver, but prepare for the possibility of a negative customer service experience.
How to start a divorce
You and your spouse have a few options for how you want to get a divorce — and each method has a different cost. Here are 6 steps to begin the divorce process.
Homeschool laws by state
Everything you need to know about notifying local school district, teacher certification requirements and more.
GoAuto car insurance review October 2020
Pocket an option for SR-22 coverage, but you might be compromising on service.
How to get a divorce in Colorado
Getting divorced in Colorado can be a potentially complicated and costly process — but you may be able to file for divorce online. Here’s how it works.
How to get a divorce in Pennsylvania
Getting divorced in Pennsylvania can be a potentially complicated and costly process — but you may be able to file for divorce online. Here’s how it works.
States with the strictest driving laws
If you’re relaxed behind the wheel, you’ll want to steer clear of these states with the strictest driving laws.
Life insurance for transgender people
What you need to know when buying life insurance as a transgender individual.
Does my business insurance protect me from vandalism and looting?
Your business insurance policy should pay for vandalism and looting — but you’ll need to document the damage.
Ask an Expert