In this guide

  • Our verdict
  • Your reviews
  • Ask a question
Finder makes money from featured partners, but editorial opinions are our own. Advertiser disclosure
Beem
Min. Amount
$5
Max. Amount
$1,000
Turnaround time
Within 3 days or instant for a fee of $2 to $4

Our verdict

Beem offers larger advances than most cash advance apps, but it has a lot of poor reviews.

Our verdict: Beem (formerly Line) claims it offers advances up to $1,000, which is a lot more than most cash advance apps. It also has several features besides advances, such as credit building and monitoring, a cheap way to file your taxes and other perks. Like similar apps, it doesn’t require a credit check or charge interest. However, it has received numerous bad reviews and complaints on all the major sites, and it puts out some conflicting information.

Pros

  • Advances up to $1,000
  • No credit checks or interest charges
  • Several additional features

Cons

  • Has a lot of bad reviews
  • “Instant” transfers can take up to eight hours
  • Hard to qualify for $1,000 advances

In this guide

  • Our verdict
  • Your reviews
  • Ask a question

Is Beem legit?

It’s hard to say if Beem is a legit app, but all signs point to… probably not. People have gotten advances from it — although they all seem well under $100, a far cry from the possible $1,000 it advertises. But the volume of negative complaints and the very specific nature of these grievances make it difficult to recommend rolling the dice on this cash advance app.

Where Beem falls short

One of the most common complaints against Beem is the difficulty in canceling your subscription. Numerous users say they tried to call or email to cancel, even with customer service help, and they kept getting charged — sometimes for months.

Or, if this caused their accounts to be overdrawn, customers incurred late fees from Beem on top of overdraft fees from their banks. Furthermore, if efforts to cancel their subscriptions failed and they kept getting charged, Beem would refuse to close their account until users paid in full, exacerbating the problem for financially strapped users.

In a related vein, when you download the Beem app and look into its Everdraft feature, users say you’ll be given an amount you’re eligible for — but you have to subscribe to its Plus or Pro plan first. Then, once you’ve paid the subscription fee, you’re suddenly not eligible to borrow at all or only for a lower amount. For this reason, among others, many customers sought to cancel.

It’s also not very transparent on its website. It says it doesn’t charge late fees — and it’s true that it doesn’t charge late fees on advances — but it does charge $5 if your subscription payment is late. Beem also promotes “instant cash,” but the fine print reveals that you should get the money within eight hours. If you need the cash to buy gas and get to work, for example, waiting hours — and paying extra — may not be of much value.

What makes Beem shine?

If it’s actually possible to get $1,000, this size of advance is much bigger than most apps offer. But is that just a draw to lure people in? It might be.

After reading through hundreds of reviews — although not every single one — there was no mention of getting an advance of that size. You may want to do a little extra research and consider another app instead.

Beem product details

Product nameBeem Everdraft
Loan amount$5 to $1,000
Loan termUntil your next deposit.
Turnaround timeWithin 3 days or instant for a fee of $2 to $4
Costs$0.99 to $12.97 per month
RequirementsBe at least 18 and a resident of the US or one of its territories and have an active bank account, a photo ID, a valid Social Security number and a valid email address.

Beem contact info

Phone number323-641-4224
Customer service hoursNot stated
Emailsupport@trybeem.com
X (formerlyTwitter)@trybeemapp
FacebookN/A

How to qualify for Beem

Beem doesn’t offer much information regarding the qualifications needed to qualify, but it reveals some criteria. You must:

  • Be 18 and a resident of the US or one of its territories
  • Have a bank account
  • Have a Social Security number
  • Have a valid email address
  • Have a photo ID

Beem heavily promotes that it doesn’t have income restrictions to qualify. However, based on reviews of users being ineligible to get advances, it would suggest that there are undisclosed minimum income or deposit requirements. If this could be an issue for you, other apps with no direct deposit requirements are available.

Other features

Beem has numerous other features through its app, many of which may cost extra. Features it claims to offer include:

  • Credit monitoring and credit building
  • Send and receive money with friends
  • Cheap tax filing
  • Financial and budgeting insights
  • Identity theft insurance
  • Job loss and disability protection
  • Access to personal loan offers

Beem reviews and complaints

BBB accredited No
BBB rating B
BBB customer reviews 1 out of 5 stars, based on 13 customer reviews
BBB customer complaints 85 customer complaints
Trustpilot Score 2.3 out of 5 stars, based on 32 customer reviews
App Store Score 4.2 out of 5 stars, based on 22,600 customer reviews
Google Play Score 2.8 out of 5 stars, based on 15,100 customer reviews
Customer reviews verified as of 04 October 2024

Nearly all the sites we looked at had overwhelmingly negative reviews of the Beem cash advance app. Common complaints include having trouble canceling subscriptions, being charged even after canceling and incurring late fees and overdraft fees as a result.

Others say the app is glitchy, freezes frequently and often just doesn’t work at all. Yet, despite these issues, the provider repeatedly denied requests for refunds.

There were some positive reviews — particularly on the Apple App Store — but by and large, these testimonials were lengthy and convoluted and just didn’t ring true.

What are people on Reddit saying?

There aren’t a lot of Redditors discussing the Beem app — especially compared to many other cash advance apps. When it does come up, a couple comment that it’s a scam, and one posted a screenshot of several positive reviews that all used the same wording.

Compare Beem to other apps

If you decide Beem isn’t the way to go, consider these other cash advance apps instead.

6 of 6 results
Finder Score Loan amount Turnaround time Requirements
Up to $150/day, with a max of $1000 between paydays
1–2 business days standard; minutes with Lightning Speed
At least 18 and a US resident, Valid Social Security number, At least 60 days of banking history, Proof of consistent income, Positive bank balance, Get paid by direct deposit.
Access up to $150 per day, with a max of $1000 between paydays. Not available to CT or Washington, D.C. residents. Subject to EarnIn terms & conditions.
Important information
EarnIn is not a bank. Access limits are based on your earnings and risk factors. Available in select states. Terms and restrictions apply. Visit EarnIn.com for full details. Expedited transfers available for a fee. Visit Earnin.com for full details.
Go to siteView details
Compare product selection
$20 to $250
3 to 4 days or instant for a fee.
Not stated
Automatically monitor your spending plus access cash advances up to $100 at a time.
Go to siteView details
Compare product selection
Up to $500
Instant transfers: 3% of the advance amount ($2 minimum, $5 maximum)
Chime checking account, direct deposits of $200+ and only available in some states
Access up to $500 of your pay before payday fee-free within 24 hours. See Chime terms and conditions. MyPay is only offered in select states.
Important information
MyPay® line of credit provided by The Bancorp Bank, N.A. or Stride Bank, N.A. MyPay services provided by Chime Capital, LLC (NMLS 2316451). MyPay eligibility: You must receive qualifying direct deposits to your Chime Checking Account in the preceding 36 days as set forth in the MyPay Agreement. A qualifying direct deposit is a deposit from an employer, payroll provider, gig economy payer, government benefits payer, or other permitted source of income by Automated Clearing House (“ACH”) or Original Credit Transaction (“OCT”). MyPay is currently only available to eligible Chime members in certain states. Other restrictions apply. MyPay is a line of credit and available limits are based on estimated income and risk-based criteria. Eligible members may be offered a $20 - $1000 Credit Limit per pay period. Your Credit Limit and Maximum Available Advance will be displayed to you within the Chime app. Your MyPay Credit Limit and Maximum Available Advance may change at any time. See Bancorp MyPay Agreement or Stride MyPay Agreement for details. Instant funds: Option to get funds instantly for a fee of 3% of the advance amount ($2 minimum, $5 maximum) per advance, or get funds for free within 24 hours. See Bancorp MyPay Agreement or Stride MyPay Agreement for details. SpotMe: SpotMe® on Credit is an optional, no interest/no fee overdraft line of credit tied to the Secured Deposit Account. SpotMe on Debit is an optional, no fee service attached to your Chime Checking Account (individually or collectively, "SpotMe"). Eligibility for SpotMe requires $200 or more in qualifying direct deposits to your Chime Checking Account each month. Qualifying members will be allowed to overdraw their Chime Checking Account and/or their Secured Deposit Account up to $20 in total, but may be later eligible for a higher combined limit of up to $200 or more based on member’s Chime account history, direct deposit frequency and amount, spending activity and other risk-based factors. Your SpotMe Limit will be displayed to you within the Chime mobile app. You will receive notice of any changes to your SpotMe Limit. SpotMe for Credit and SpotMe on Debit share a single SpotMe limit. Your SpotMe Limit may change at any time, at Chime or its banking partners’ discretion. Although there are no overdraft fees, there may be out-of-network or third-party fees associated with ATM transactions or OTC cash withdrawal fees at retailers. SpotMe won’t cover non-card transactions, including ACH s, Pay Anyone s, or Chime Checkbook transactions. SpotMe terms and conditions. Early Pay: Early access to direct deposit funds depends on the timing of the submission of the payment file from the payer. We generally make these funds available on the day the payment file is received, which may be up to 2 days earlier than the scheduled payment date. Savings: Chime® Checking Account is required to be eligible for a Savings Account. The 3.75% Annual Percentage Yield (APY) is only available to members with Chime Prime status, otherwise, either the 3.00% APY for members with Chime Plus status or the standard rate of 0.75% APY will apply. The APYs are effective as of 02/26/2026, are variable and may change at any time. No minimum balance required. Must have $0.01 in savings to earn interest. See Chime Membership Tiers Terms and Conditions for more details. Credit Builder: Based on a representative study conducted by Experian® in Sept 2025, the top 10% of members who made their first purchase with Credit Builder, an earlier version of Chime Card, between April and August 2024, observed a FICO® Score 8 increase of 71 points after approximately 8 months. Average increase of 28 points across all participants in the study. Credit score improvement not guaranteed. Paying on time may increase your score, while late payment may decrease your score. Other credit activity can impact your score. Credit score is one of many factors creditors may consider in evaluating credit applications.
Go to siteView details
Compare product selection
Varo logo
Up to $250 today. Build up to $700 over time with direct deposit at Varo. Average loan: $195. Qualifications Apply.
Instant, once qualified
You must have an active Varo Bank Account with a positive balance, no delinquent Varo Line of Credit or charged off Believe account in prior 6 months. Varo Advance qualification is subject to evaluation of consumer reports and Varo account activity.
Important information
Varo Advance qualification is subject to evaluation of consumer reports and Varo account activity. If approved, initial limits range from $20- $250. Unlock higher limits up to $700 over time when you bring your qualifying direct deposit to Varo and build a positive history with us. Negative repayment history may impact credit. Fees range from $1.60 - $100 based on loan amount, and deposits to your Varo Bank Account. Your current limit and applicable fees can be viewed in the Varo App. Qualifying direct deposits are electronic deposits of your paycheck, pension or government benefits (such as Social Security or unemployment) from your employer or government agency to the extent that can be identified. Tax refunds and government stimulus payments, Person-to-Person payments (such as Venmo or Varo to Anyone), and funds deposited using a Varo routing number are not considered a direct deposit.
Go to siteView details
Compare product selection
OppLoans logo
$500 to $5,000
As soon as the same business day
+18 years old, Receive paychecks through direct deposit, $1,500 minimum monthly income, Live in eligible state
Not available in: CO, CT, GA, IA, MD, MA, NY, SD, VT, WV. Comes with the option to change your due date so you won’t fall behind on repayments.
Important information
The advertised APR is an estimate based on currently available information, is not final, and is subject to change. If approved, your actual rate will be determined and assigned based on your creditworthiness, income, application information, and other relevant factors. Applications submitted on the OppLoans platform will be originated by one of our bank partners and serviced by OppLoans. Please see the Rates and Terms for details regarding the availability of products in your state of residence. Subject to credit approval and verification. Actual approved loan amount and terms are dependent on our bank partners’ standard underwriting guidelines and credit policies. Funds may be deposited for delivery to your bank via ACH as soon as the same business day if verification is completed and final approval occurs before 12:00 PM CT on a business day. If approval occurs after 12:00 PM CT on a business day or on a non-business day, funds may be delivered as soon as the next business day. Availability of the funds is dependent on how quickly your bank processes the transaction. Installment loan amounts typically range from $500 to $5,000. Annual percentage rate (APR) ranges from 129% to 195%. Installment loan lengths range from 9 to 18 months. Example: A $2,000 installment loan repayable in 9 monthly payments with an APR of 160% would have monthly payments of $394.58. Loan amount, APR, and repayment terms may vary by state, please see https://www.opploans.com/rates-and-terms for additional information. Approval is not guaranteed. If approved, your actual rate will fall within the marketed range of rates, and will be determined and assigned based on your creditworthiness, income, application information, and other relevant factors. Not all applicants will qualify for the lowest available rates. This is an expensive form of credit and you should determine whether the offered product(s) meets your financial needs. OppLoans’ Bank Partners may use credit report information provided by Clarity Services and Experian as part of the application process to determine your creditworthiness. The credit inquiry will appear as a soft credit inquiry on your Experian credit report and a hard credit inquiry on your Clarity report. Therefore it will not affect your FICO credit score. OppLoans and its Bank Partners report customer payment history to the three major credit bureaus. On-time payments may improve credit score.
Go to siteView details
Compare product selection
Albert logo
$25 to $1,000
Within minutes
An active bank account with transaction history linked to Albert
Advance up to $1,000 in minutes with Albert Instant.
Important information
Albert is not a bank. Savings account provided by Wells Fargo, N.A., Member FDIC. Albert plans start at $19.99/mo. Try for 30 days before you're charged. Fees auto-renew until canceled. Cancel in the app. Terms apply. Albert Instant Line of Credit is an unsecured line of credit issued by FinWise Bank, a Utah chartered bank, Member FDIC. Limits range from $25-$1,000. Draw fees apply. Terms and eligibility criteria including geographic restrictions apply. In some states, Albert may offer you an Albert Instant Advance instead. Limits range from $25-$1,000, subject to terms and eligibility criteria. No Albert subscription is required for Albert Instant Line of Credit or Albert Instant Advance. See Albert Terms of Use for additional important terms.
Go to siteView details
Compare product selection
loading
Showing 6 of 6 results

What is the Finder Score?

The Finder Score crunches 3+ types of short-term loans across 65+ lenders. It takes into account the product's interest rate, fees and features, as well as the type of loan eg investor, variable, fixed rate - this gives you a simple score out of 10.

To provide a Score, we compare like-for-like loans. So if you're comparing the best short-term loans for all credit types, you can see how each short-term loan stacks up against other short-term loans with the same borrower type, rate type and repayment type.

Read the full breakdown

Frequently asked questions

Is Beem a safe app?

Beem may not be a very safe app to use. You have to link your bank account to get advances, but if you have problems with the app and try to cancel it, Beem may continue to withdraw your subscription fees. And, based on numerous reviews, it can be difficult to cancel your subscription. Plus, if you don’t have enough money to cover the fees, you may also accrue late fees, putting you deeper into debt.

How long does Beem take to approve?

Beem doesn’t specifically state how long it takes to get approved, but user reviews suggest it can take at least a couple of days. Others say it can take weeks or months, or you may never get approved.

Your reviews

No reviews yet. Write a review

Ask a question

Ask a question
Avatar

Lacey Finder

Writer

Hi there, looking for more information? Ask us a question.

Error label

You are about to post a question on finder.com:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked
Accept and continue

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our finder.com Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookies Policy.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Go to site