In this guide

  • Review
  • Details
    • Product details
  • Your reviews
  • Ask a question
Finder makes money from featured partners, but editorial opinions are our own. Advertiser disclosure
B9 pay advance app
4.1
★★★★★

B9 pay advance app isn't available on Finder right now.

Min. Amount
$10
Max. Amount
$1,000
Turnaround time
Instant

Summary

Instant advances on your paycheck — but it comes with a monthly fee and minimum deposit amount.

Bottom line: B9 offers larger advances than most pay advance apps — and no fee for instant funding. But you'll need to use it frequently for it to be worth the monthly fee.

In this guide

  • Review
  • Details
    • Product details
  • Your reviews
  • Ask a question

Details

Product details

Product Name B9 pay advance app
Min. Amount $10
Max. Amount $1,000
Loan Term Not Stated
Turnaround Time Instant
Costs Basic: $5.99/month. Premium: $19.99/month (or as little as $7.99/month if paid annually). Optional fees apply for instant external transfers (e.g., to Cash App or Venmo) — not included in membership price.
Requirements $500+ in monthly direct deposits into B9 account, checking account, ITIN or SSN, government-issued photo ID

Pros

  • Basic: up to $250/pay period. Premium: up to $1,000/pay period. New users typically start between $10 to $50. advances
  • Instant advance with no advance-related fee
  • Nonresidents may qualify with an ITIN

Cons

  • Up to $19.99 in monthly membership fees
  • Must get paid at least $500 via direct deposit to your B9 account
  • Few additional features compared to other cash advance apps
  • Monthly fee makes it expensive for occasional advances

Compare alternatives to B9

If you don’t have time to set up an account and wait for your first paycheck to go through, these providers may offer a faster solution.

5 of 5 results
Finder Score Loan amount Turnaround time Requirements
Up to $150/day, with a max of $1000 between paydays
1–2 business days standard; minutes with Lightning Speed
At least 18 and a US resident, Valid Social Security number, At least 60 days of banking history, Proof of consistent income, Positive bank balance, Get paid by direct deposit.
Access up to $150 per day, with a max of $1000 between paydays. Not available to CT or Washington, D.C. residents. Subject to EarnIn terms & conditions.
Important information
EarnIn is not a bank. Access limits are based on your earnings and risk factors. Available in select states. Terms and restrictions apply. Visit EarnIn.com for full details. Expedited transfers available for a fee. Visit Earnin.com for full details.
Go to siteView details
Compare product selection
$20 to $250
3 to 4 days or instant for a fee.
Not stated
Automatically monitor your spending plus access cash advances up to $100 at a time.
Go to siteView details
Compare product selection
Up to $250 today. Build up to $700 over time with direct deposit at Varo. Average loan: $195. Qualifications Apply.
Instant, once qualified
You must have an active Varo Bank Account with a positive balance, no delinquent Varo Line of Credit or charged off Believe account in prior 6 months. Varo Advance qualification is subject to evaluation of consumer reports and Varo account activity.
Important information
Varo Advance qualification is subject to evaluation of consumer reports and Varo account activity. If approved, initial limits range from $20- $250. Unlock higher limits up to $700 over time when you bring your qualifying direct deposit to Varo and build a positive history with us. Negative repayment history may impact credit. Fees range from $1.60 - $100 based on loan amount, and deposits to your Varo Bank Account. Your current limit and applicable fees can be viewed in the Varo App. Qualifying direct deposits are electronic deposits of your paycheck, pension or government benefits (such as Social Security or unemployment) from your employer or government agency to the extent that can be identified. Tax refunds and government stimulus payments, Person-to-Person payments (such as Venmo or Varo to Anyone), and funds deposited using a Varo routing number are not considered a direct deposit.
Go to siteView details
Compare product selection
OppLoans logo
$500 to $5,000
As soon as the same business day
+18 years old, Receive paychecks through direct deposit, $1,500 minimum monthly income, Live in eligible state
Not available in: CO, CT, GA, IA, MD, MA, NY, SD, VT, WV. Comes with the option to change your due date so you won’t fall behind on repayments.
Important information
The advertised APR is an estimate based on currently available information, is not final, and is subject to change. If approved, your actual rate will be determined and assigned based on your creditworthiness, income, application information, and other relevant factors. Applications submitted on the OppLoans platform will be originated by one of our bank partners and serviced by OppLoans. Please see the Rates and Terms for details regarding the availability of products in your state of residence. Subject to credit approval and verification. Actual approved loan amount and terms are dependent on our bank partners’ standard underwriting guidelines and credit policies. Funds may be deposited for delivery to your bank via ACH as soon as the same business day if verification is completed and final approval occurs before 12:00 PM CT on a business day. If approval occurs after 12:00 PM CT on a business day or on a non-business day, funds may be delivered as soon as the next business day. Availability of the funds is dependent on how quickly your bank processes the transaction. Installment loan amounts typically range from $500 to $5,000. Annual percentage rate (APR) ranges from 129% to 195%. Installment loan lengths range from 9 to 18 months. Example: A $2,000 installment loan repayable in 9 monthly payments with an APR of 160% would have monthly payments of $394.58. Loan amount, APR, and repayment terms may vary by state, please see https://www.opploans.com/rates-and-terms for additional information. Approval is not guaranteed. If approved, your actual rate will fall within the marketed range of rates, and will be determined and assigned based on your creditworthiness, income, application information, and other relevant factors. Not all applicants will qualify for the lowest available rates. This is an expensive form of credit and you should determine whether the offered product(s) meets your financial needs. OppLoans’ Bank Partners may use credit report information provided by Clarity Services and Experian as part of the application process to determine your creditworthiness. The credit inquiry will appear as a soft credit inquiry on your Experian credit report and a hard credit inquiry on your Clarity report. Therefore it will not affect your FICO credit score. OppLoans and its Bank Partners report customer payment history to the three major credit bureaus. On-time payments may improve credit score.
Go to siteView details
Compare product selection
Albert logo
$25 to $1,000
Within minutes
An active bank account with transaction history linked to Albert
Advance up to $1,000 in minutes with Albert Instant.
Important information
Albert is not a bank. Savings account provided by Wells Fargo, N.A., Member FDIC. Albert plans start at $19.99/mo. Try for 30 days before you're charged. Fees auto-renew until canceled. Cancel in the app. Terms apply. Albert Instant Line of Credit is an unsecured line of credit issued by FinWise Bank, a Utah chartered bank, Member FDIC. Limits range from $25-$1,000. Draw fees apply. Terms and eligibility criteria including geographic restrictions apply. In some states, Albert may offer you an Albert Instant Advance instead. Limits range from $25-$1,000, subject to terms and eligibility criteria. No Albert subscription is required for Albert Instant Line of Credit or Albert Instant Advance. See Albert Terms of Use for additional important terms.
Go to siteView details
Compare product selection
loading
Showing 5 of 5 results

What is the Finder Score?

The Finder Score crunches 3+ types of short-term loans across 65+ lenders. It takes into account the product's interest rate, fees and features, as well as the type of loan eg investor, variable, fixed rate - this gives you a simple score out of 10.

To provide a Score, we compare like-for-like loans. So if you're comparing the best short-term loans for all credit types, you can see how each short-term loan stacks up against other short-term loans with the same borrower type, rate type and repayment type.

Read the full breakdown

How B9 works: Fees, features and requirements

B9 is a membership-based cash advance app that lets you get an advance on your full paycheck up to 15 days early. Like other cash advance apps, it charges a monthly fee — though B9’s fee is on the lower end, and it offers fewer services than similar apps.
To use this service, you must first open an FDIC-insured checking account with B9 and set up payroll direct deposit with your employer. Apply for a B9 advance after your employer has deposited at least one paycheck into your B9 account.

Fees and details

  • Maximum withdrawal: Basic: up to $250/pay period. Premium: up to $1,000/pay period. New users typically start between $10 to $50.
  • Cost: $9.99 or $19.99 monthly membership fee
  • Turnaround: Instant, once account is set up

Your maximum withdrawal depends on factors including your B9 membership level, account history, pay frequency and pay amount. You also can only receive an advance on funds that you receive as a direct deposit into your B9 account.

Features

B9 offers the following features in addition to cash advances:

  • FDIC-insured checking account
  • Visa debit card to access checking account funds
  • No overdraft fees on checking account
  • Unlimited money transfers with no fee
  • Customer service available in English and Spanish

Requirements

To qualify for a B9 cash advance, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Active B9 checking account with direct deposit from your employer
  • Monthly salary of at least $500
  • Social Security number or Individual Tax Identification Number
  • Residential mailing address in the US
  • Government-issued photo ID

B9 will contact you via the app, SMS or email as soon as you’re eligible to receive an advance. This advance may not be available in all states.

How B9 compares with other cash advance apps

B9 offers faster, larger advances and charges lower fees than similar apps like Brigit and Dave.

B9 AppBrigitDave
Maximum withdrawal$300 with advance membership
Up to 100% of your paycheck with premium membership
$250$100
FeesMonthly membership fees:
$9.99 for advance plan
$19.99 for premium plan
$9.99 monthly membership fee
  • $1 monthly membership fee
  • $4.99 express delivery fee, optional
Turnaround timeInstantOne to two business days
  • Standard delivery: up to three business days
  • Express delivery: within eight hours
Next steps

When it comes to cash advances alone, B9 can be a better choice. But Brigit and Dave offer more features to help you manage your personal finances. If you’re looking for a financial wellness app, B9 might not be the app for you.

B9 receives mostly positive reviews

BBB accredited No
BBB rating NR
Trustpilot Score 4.6 out of 5 stars, based on 47 customer reviews
App Store Score 4.2 out of 5 stars, based on 101 customer reviews
Google Play Score 3.7 out of 5 stars, based on 60 customer reviews
Customer reviews verified as of 02 September 2021
B9 only has a few online reviews, but most are positive. Most reviews highlight the quality of customer service. One self-employed user mentions that it is one of the only cash advance options available to them. But they also state they wish it was more user-friendly — or had an option for people paid in cash.

Is B9 legit?

B9 is a legitimate financial technology company. It partners with Evolve Bank & Trust, a member of the Federal Deposit Insurance Company (FDIC), to provide banking services and the debit card. This means that the money in your B9 account is insured up to the $250,000 standard for any checking account.
It also uses Plaid to protect sensitive information while making transfers between the app and your bank account. Plaid is industry-standard for any app that involves money transfers — such as Venmo.
B9 is up front about the costs and requirements for using the app. And it doesn’t share any information with its affiliates. You’ll easily find B9’s privacy policies and contact information on its home page.

B9 app vs. payday loans

B9 cash advanceTypical payday loan
Borrowing amountBasic: up to $250/pay period. Premium: up to $1,000/pay period. New users typically start between $10 to $50.Up to $1,000 — and most states only allow one at a time
Turnaround timeInstant, after account is set upNext business day or same day if you apply in person
Application process
  1. Set up a B9 account
  2. Connect to direct deposit
  3. Wait for B9 to notify you when you’re eligible for an advance
  1. Fill out a simple application online or in person
  2. Submit required documents
  3. Receive funds as cash, check, money order or deposited into account
CostsUp to $19.99 monthly membership feeFee of $15 to $25 per $100 borrowed
State availabilityNot available in all statesProhibited in some states

Is B9 worth it?

B9 might be worth it if you regularly need an advance on your paycheck or regularly make money transfers. But the monthly fee can add up if you only use these features occasionally. In that case, another cash advance app that doesn’t charge a monthly fee — or offers more features — could be a better choice.

Ask a question

Ask a question
Avatar

Anna Finder

Editor

Hi there, looking for more information? Ask us a question.

Error label

You are about to post a question on finder.com:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked
Accept and continue

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our finder.com Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookies Policy.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Go to site