Finder is committed to editorial independence. While we receive compensation when you click links to partners, they do not influence our content.
Suspended license in Arizona
Reinstate your license after following the MVD's steps, but beware of higher penalties for DUIs.
Arizona takes license suspensions seriously, especially if it’s related to a DUI. On the other hand, minor offenses may require nothing more than a period without driving and a few minor fees to get your license back. Plus, suspended drivers here have more high-risk insurance options than other states, especially if they use a specific nonprofit.
How do I know if my license is suspended in Arizona?
The Arizona Motor Vehicle Services will notify you of your suspension by mail, or you can request your driving record online or in person for faster notification.
- By mail. You should receive a suspension notice sent directly to your address on the MVD’s file. If not, you can request your driving record by sending a Motor Vehicle Record Request Form along with $3 for uncertified record or $5 for a certified record.
- Online. Use the Arizona Department of Transportation services page to request, pay for and print your driving record.
- In person. Go to your local MVD office to request your driving record personally.
Driving under the influence
If you’re found driving with a 0.08 percent blood alcohol level or more, you can receive a license suspension immediately. Refusing an alcohol or drug test can also bring a suspension of at least one year.
First DUI offenses can receive at least 10 days in jail and $1,250 in fines along with alcohol treatment, required ignition interlock system and community service. Repeat offenses may require a minimum of 90 days in jail, $3,000 in fines, one-year revoked license, alcohol treatment, ignition interlock and community service.
Reasons you’ll get a suspended license in Arizona
In Arizona, you can get a license suspension for accumulating too many points, driving impaired or getting several moving violations in the same year. Other reasons for a suspension:
- Eight or more points on driving record
- At fault in a fatal accident
- Committing crimes with a vehicle
- Driving without insurance
- DUI offense
- Failing to appear in court
- Failing to attend driver improvement courses
- Failing to pay fines, violations or traffic tickets
- Reckless driving
- Refusing a drug or alcohol test
- Too many moving violations
What happens if I get a suspended license in Arizona?
If you’re issued a suspended license, you can’t drive for a specific time, unless you have special permission from the MVD. Also, you’ll pay a $10 reinstatement fee and $10 to $25 application fee that varies based on your age. Some offenses like aggressive driving or running a red light require driver improvement training as well.
If you’re found driving with a suspended license, you could receive a $2,500 fine, your suspension increased by one extra year and up to six months in jail.
When can I drive my car again?
You can drive your car after completing your suspension, paying fines, serving jail time or community service and submitting your SR-22 form. Then, you’ll need to receive your new driver’s license before getting back on the road. However, some cases might qualify for a special restricted driver’s license if you meet certain requirements after a DUI suspension.
What is the Arizona hardship license?
The Arizona hardship license is actually called a Special Restricted Driver’s License. This license allows certain drivers convicted of a DUI to drive under special restrictions if they meet the requirements. Restrictions typically involve driving to and from work, school, doctor’s office visits or visits with a probation officer.
You may also need an ignition interlock system installed on your car. This system is wired to the DUI offender’s car and requires them to breath into an alcohol breath analyzer. If alcohol levels stay below the required range, the system allows the vehicle to start.
How to reinstate a suspended license in Arizona
To get your license back, you’ll have to pay a fine to get your license back, and the amount varies based on your age. If your license was suspended for not paying fines, you must pay those and bring the receipt to the MVD.
- Stay off the road. You’ll be required to stay off the road for a set period of time, and the time period will be listed on your MVD letter about your suspension.
- Apply for your license reinstatement and pay the applicable fees.
- Submit proof of financial responsibility for DUI offenses, alcohol or drug test refusals or uninsured violations. This is usually an SR-22 form from your insurance company.
- Get your driver’s license back.
Ways to reinstate your license
Arizona offers several ways to reinstate your license, but some methods include stipulations. You can apply for reinstatement in person, online or by mail.
- In person. Visit the MVD to get your license reinstated in person.
- Online. You can pay fees and apply for reinstatement through the Arizona Driver License Reinstatement page online. You’ll need a credit card for online payment.
- By mail. The MVD’s mailing address is PO Box 2100, MD 555M, Phoenix, AZ 85001. However, you’ll need to send payments as a cashier’s check or money order.
How to get car insurance with a suspended license in Arizona
These insurance options may help you file an SR-22 to prove financial responsibility so that you can get your license back. Your insurer should get the appropriate documentation to the Arizona Secretary of State.
Consider these insurer options after suspension:
- Standard insurers. Some local or well-known companies cover many drivers, but these may charge a high premium to offset your higher driving risk.
- High-risk companies. Specialized, high-risk companies could mean guaranteed coverage, and maybe even better value and coverage. However, you might have to do your research to find the best options.
- WAIP providers. Western Association of Automobile Insurance Plans (WAIP) is a nonprofit connection service that can help high-risk drivers find affordable insurance.
Compare car insurance after a suspended license in Arizona
In Arizona, you could get a suspension for several reasons that don’t involve heavy offenses like driving impaired or aggressive driving. These minor cases may have low-cost fees to get your license back. But even those with major convictions might need to compare car insurance to stay protected during and after a suspension.
More guides on Finder
Compare teledermatology options
Get the skincare you need without taking a trip into your doctor’s office.
How to get life insurance after a DUI or driving offense
A poor driving record may result in higher rates on your life insurance, with some insurers turning you away altogether.
Direct Funding Now review
This lender’s lack of transparency may make it more difficult to know what you’re getting into.
Investing goes mainstream, thanks to apps and stimulus checks
New investors, here’s what you need to know before you hit the trade button.
How to invest in the trendiest tech of CES 2021
Eager to get your hands on CES tech? Here are six companies that introduced groundbreaking tech at CES 2021 — and how you can buy in.
What the second stimulus means for your small business
You might be able to apply for more funding on your PPP loan, get a second PPP loan or take advantage of a new grant program.
How to separate your finances during divorce
Ways to protect your assets and what you need to know about marital debt.
Compare tuition insurance
If your child gets sick or injured and has to take time away from college, tuition insurance can reimburse you for what you already paid.
Denied life insurance
Learn the common health reasons that lead to denials and how to get life insurance anyway.
People are still dying after more than 6 years of Takata recalls – are you at risk?
Know your rights if your car has defective Takata air bags, and learn how to find your car’s manufacturer recalls.
Ask an Expert