In this guide

  • Our verdict
  • Your reviews
  • Ask a question
Finder makes money from featured partners, but editorial opinions are our own. Advertiser disclosure
Crane Finance

Crane Finance isn't available on Finder right now.

Min. Amount
$100
Max. Amount
$1,500

Our verdict

Crane Finance offers loans to borrowers with bad credit, but the interest rates aren’t worth it.

Crane Finance is owned by the Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin and offers loans up to $1,500 to borrowers with bad credit. If you need the money right away, you’ll only pay $5 for an instant transfer of funds to your bank account. But it charges interest rates of 700% or more, according to customer reviews, and it may try to aggressively pursue your loan payments even if you’re only a day or two late.


Best for: Borrowers who need cash today, don’t qualify for other loans and can pay it back almost immediately.

Pros

  • Loans up to $1,500
  • Funding as soon as the same day
  • Accepts bad credit

Cons

  • Doesn’t disclose rates until approved
  • Charges around 700% interest, according to reviews
  • Has very bad reviews

In this guide

  • Our verdict
  • Your reviews
  • Ask a question

Is Crane Finance legit?

Crane Finance is an actual tribal lender. However, its interest rates are incredibly high, and it preys on borrowers who can’t get loans elsewhere, so you can’t really call it legit.

Unlike some high-interest lenders, it doesn’t disclose its rates until after you’ve been approved for a loan, and it may bury the actual rates in the fine print. It also had at least two lawsuits filed against it, which include racketeering and corruption charges.

Based on these reasons, we can’t recommend Crane Finance as a viable loan option, and borrowers should look elsewhere for top personal loan lenders.

Where Crane Finance falls short

One of the worst things about Crane Finance is that it charges interest rates of around 700% or more. Sadly, this rate makes a garden-variety payday loan seem like a sweet deal by comparison. Borrowers could end up paying quadruple what they actually borrowed. Even with less-than-stellar credit, borrowers can find a lender willing to lend to borrowers with bad credit.

Plus, it’s not up front about its rates — or what that means for the loan’s total cost — so many borrowers may not understand what they’re getting into before it’s too late. Also, because Crane Finance doesn’t have to abide by individual state laws, mistreated borrowers may have little recourse once they realize how much they owe.

Alternatives to Crane Finance

6 of 6 results
Finder Score Loan amount Turnaround time Requirements
Up to $150/day, with a max of $1000 between paydays
1–2 business days standard; minutes with Lightning Speed
At least 18 and a US resident, Valid Social Security number, At least 60 days of banking history, Proof of consistent income, Positive bank balance, Get paid by direct deposit.
Access up to $150 per day, with a max of $1000 between paydays. Not available to CT or Washington, D.C. residents. Subject to EarnIn terms & conditions.
Important information
EarnIn is not a bank. Access limits are based on your earnings and risk factors. Available in select states. Terms and restrictions apply. Visit EarnIn.com for full details. Expedited transfers available for a fee. Visit Earnin.com for full details.
Go to siteView details
Compare product selection
Up to $500
Instant transfers: 3% of the advance amount ($2 minimum, $5 maximum)
Chime checking account, direct deposits of $200+ and only available in some states
Access up to $500 of your pay before payday fee-free within 24 hours. See Chime terms and conditions. MyPay is only offered in select states.
Important information
MyPay® line of credit provided by The Bancorp Bank, N.A. or Stride Bank, N.A. MyPay services provided by Chime Capital, LLC (NMLS 2316451). MyPay eligibility: To be eligible for MyPay, you must receive Qualifying MyPay Direct Deposits to your Chime Checking Account as set forth in the MyPay Agreement. A Qualifying MyPay Direct Deposit is a deposit from an employer, payroll provider, gig economy payer, government benefits payer, or other permitted source of income by Automated Clearing House (“ACH”) or Original Credit Transaction (“OCT”). Your MyPay Credit Limit and Available Advance Amount may change at any time. MyPay is a line of credit and available limits are based on estimated income and risk-based criteria. Eligible members may be offered a $20 - $500 Credit Limit per pay period. Your Credit Limit and Maximum Available Advance will be displayed to you within the Chime app. MyPay is currently only available to eligible Chime members in certain states. Other restrictions may apply. See Bancorp MyPay Agreement or Stride MyPay Agreement for details. Instant funds: Option to get funds instantly for a fee of 3% of the advance amount ($2 minimum, $5 maximum) per advance, or get funds for free within 24 hours. See Bancorp MyPay Agreement or Stride MyPay Agreement for details. SpotMe: SpotMe® on Credit is an optional, no interest/no fee overdraft line of credit tied to the Secured Deposit Account. SpotMe on Debit is an optional, no fee service attached to your Chime Checking Account (individually or collectively, "SpotMe"). Eligibility for SpotMe requires $200 or more in qualifying direct deposits to your Chime Checking Account each month. Qualifying members will be allowed to overdraw their Chime Checking Account and/or their Secured Deposit Account up to $20 in total, but may be later eligible for a higher combined limit of up to $200 or more based on member’s Chime account history, direct deposit frequency and amount, spending activity and other risk-based factors. Your SpotMe Limit will be displayed to you within the Chime mobile app. You will receive notice of any changes to your SpotMe Limit. SpotMe for Credit and SpotMe on Debit share a single SpotMe limit. Your SpotMe Limit may change at any time, at Chime or its banking partners’ discretion. Although there are no overdraft fees, there may be out-of-network or third-party fees associated with ATM transactions or OTC cash withdrawal fees at retailers. SpotMe won’t cover non-card transactions, including ACH s, Pay Anyone s, or Chime Checkbook transactions. SpotMe terms and conditions. Early Pay: Early access to direct deposit funds depends on the timing of the submission of the payment file from the payer. We generally make these funds available on the day the payment file is received, which may be up to 2 days earlier than the scheduled payment date. Savings: Chime® Checking Account is required to be eligible for a Savings Account. The 3.75% Annual Percentage Yield (APY) is only available to members with Chime Prime status, otherwise, either the 3.00% APY for members with Chime Plus status or the standard rate of 0.75% APY will apply. The APYs are effective as of 02/26/2026, are variable and may change at any time. No minimum balance required. Must have $0.01 in savings to earn interest. See Chime Membership Tiers Terms and Conditions for more details. Credit Builder: Based on a representative study conducted by Experian® in Sept 2025, the top 10% of members who made their first purchase with Credit Builder, an earlier version of Chime Card, between April and August 2024, observed a FICO® Score 8 increase of 71 points after approximately 8 months. Average increase of 28 points across all participants in the study. Credit score improvement not guaranteed. Paying on time may increase your score, while late payment may decrease your score. Other credit activity can impact your score. Credit score is one of many factors creditors may consider in evaluating credit applications.
Go to siteView details
Compare product selection
$20 to $250
3 to 4 days or instant for a fee.
Not stated
Automatically monitor your spending plus access cash advances up to $100 at a time.
Go to siteView details
Compare product selection
OppLoans logo
$500 to $5,000
As soon as the same business day
+18 years old, Receive paychecks through direct deposit, $1,500 minimum monthly income, Live in eligible state
Not available in: CO, CT, GA, IA, MD, MA, NY, SD, VT, WV. Comes with the option to change your due date so you won’t fall behind on repayments.
Important information
The advertised APR is an estimate based on currently available information, is not final, and is subject to change. If approved, your actual rate will be determined and assigned based on your creditworthiness, income, application information, and other relevant factors. Applications submitted on the OppLoans platform will be originated by one of our bank partners and serviced by OppLoans. Please see the Rates and Terms for details regarding the availability of products in your state of residence. Subject to credit approval and verification. Actual approved loan amount and terms are dependent on our bank partners’ standard underwriting guidelines and credit policies. Funds may be deposited for delivery to your bank via ACH as soon as the same business day if verification is completed and final approval occurs before 12:00 PM CT on a business day. If approval occurs after 12:00 PM CT on a business day or on a non-business day, funds may be delivered as soon as the next business day. Availability of the funds is dependent on how quickly your bank processes the transaction. Installment loan amounts typically range from $500 to $5,000. Annual percentage rate (APR) ranges from 129% to 195%. Installment loan lengths range from 9 to 18 months. Example: A $2,000 installment loan repayable in 9 monthly payments with an APR of 160% would have monthly payments of $394.58. Loan amount, APR, and repayment terms may vary by state, please see https://www.opploans.com/rates-and-terms for additional information. Approval is not guaranteed. If approved, your actual rate will fall within the marketed range of rates, and will be determined and assigned based on your creditworthiness, income, application information, and other relevant factors. Not all applicants will qualify for the lowest available rates. This is an expensive form of credit and you should determine whether the offered product(s) meets your financial needs. OppLoans’ Bank Partners may use credit report information provided by Clarity Services and Experian as part of the application process to determine your creditworthiness. The credit inquiry will appear as a soft credit inquiry on your Experian credit report and a hard credit inquiry on your Clarity report. Therefore it will not affect your FICO credit score. OppLoans and its Bank Partners report customer payment history to the three major credit bureaus. On-time payments may improve credit score.
Go to siteView details
Compare product selection
Varo logo
Up to $250 today. Build up to $700 over time with direct deposit at Varo. Average loan: $195. Qualifications Apply.
Instant, once qualified
You must have an active Varo Bank Account with a positive balance, no delinquent Varo Line of Credit or charged off Believe account in prior 6 months. Varo Advance qualification is subject to evaluation of consumer reports and Varo account activity.
Important information
Varo Advance qualification is subject to evaluation of consumer reports and Varo account activity. If approved, initial limits range from $20- $250. Unlock higher limits up to $700 over time when you bring your qualifying direct deposit to Varo and build a positive history with us. Negative repayment history may impact credit. Fees range from $1.60 - $100 based on loan amount, and deposits to your Varo Bank Account. Your current limit and applicable fees can be viewed in the Varo App. Qualifying direct deposits are electronic deposits of your paycheck, pension or government benefits (such as Social Security or unemployment) from your employer or government agency to the extent that can be identified. Tax refunds and government stimulus payments, Person-to-Person payments (such as Venmo or Varo to Anyone), and funds deposited using a Varo routing number are not considered a direct deposit.
Go to siteView details
Compare product selection
Albert logo
$25 to $1,000
Within minutes
An active bank account with transaction history linked to Albert
Advance up to $1,000 in minutes with Albert Instant.
Important information
Albert is not a bank. Savings account provided by Wells Fargo, N.A., Member FDIC. Albert plans start at $19.99/mo. Try for 30 days before you're charged. Fees auto-renew until canceled. Cancel in the app. Terms apply. Albert Instant Line of Credit is an unsecured line of credit issued by FinWise Bank, a Utah chartered bank, Member FDIC. Limits range from $25-$1,000. Draw fees apply. Terms and eligibility criteria including geographic restrictions apply. In some states, Albert may offer you an Albert Instant Advance instead. Limits range from $25-$1,000, subject to terms and eligibility criteria. No Albert subscription is required for Albert Instant Line of Credit or Albert Instant Advance. See Albert Terms of Use for additional important terms.
Go to siteView details
Compare product selection
loading
Showing 6 of 6 results

What is the Finder Score?

The Finder Score crunches 3+ types of short-term loans across 65+ lenders. It takes into account the product's interest rate, fees and features, as well as the type of loan eg investor, variable, fixed rate - this gives you a simple score out of 10.

To provide a Score, we compare like-for-like loans. So if you're comparing the best short-term loans for all credit types, you can see how each short-term loan stacks up against other short-term loans with the same borrower type, rate type and repayment type.

Read the full breakdown

What makes Crane Finance shine?

There aren’t a lot of positive things to say about Crane Financing, except that you could get a loan the same day you apply, which may be able to help you out in a serious emergency. But, if you can’t pay it back right away — which is the only way it would be worth it — you’ll wind up paying hundreds or thousands of dollars in interest for even just a small loan.

We rarely recommend payday lenders, but they’re better than Crane Finance by a mile if you need money in a hurry and don’t qualify for other loans. However, in some cases, a cash advance app may work instead.

Crane Finance product details

Minimum credit score/credit rangeNo minimum score
APR700%+, according to customer reviews
Loan amount$100 to $1,500
TermsUndisclosed
Approval turnaroundAs soon as the same day
AvailabilityUnclear
Fees$30 NSF penalty
$20 late fee
Other feesNone stated

Crane Finance contact info

Phone number855-432-7654
Customer service hoursNot stated
Emailcustomerservice@cranefinance.com
X (formerlyTwitter)N/A
FacebookN/A

Calculate your monthly loan payment

Use our loan repayment calculator to compare loan payments based on different interest rates and loan terms.

Monthly repayment calculator

See how much you'll pay
Your loan
Loan amount
$
Loan terms (in years)
Interest rate
%

Fill out the form and click on “Calculate” to see your estimated monthly payment.

or

Compare more lenders
You can expect to pay back $ per month
Based on your loan terms
Principal $
Interest $
Total Cost $

How to qualify for Crane Finance

To qualify for a loan with Crane Finance, you must meet the following criteria:

  • Be 18 or older
  • Be a US citizen or permanent resident
  • Provide proof of a regular source of income for at least the last 90 days
  • Have a valid checking account
  • Have a valid email address and phone number

How to apply

Applying for a loan with Crane Finance is pretty similar to other online lenders’ applications.

  1. Visit its website and select Get started.
  2. Fill out the online application.
  3. Create an account and log in to verify your information.
  4. Wait for loan approval, which may require a hard credit check.
  5. Review and sign your loan agreement if you’re approved.

Crane Finance should deposit the funds into your bank account on the next business day, or you can have them transferred instantly for a $5 fee.

Crane Finance reviews and complaints

BBB accredited No
BBB rating C-
BBB customer reviews 1.17 out of 5 stars, based on 36 customer reviews
Trustpilot Score 3.2 out of 5 stars, based on 1 customer reviews
Customer reviews verified as of 14 October 2024

There are basically no good reviews of Crane Finance on its Better Business Bureau (BBB) page. Customers complain about poor customer service, rates of or higher and being threatened with wage garnishment — even if their payment was only a day or two late. Most refer to the company as a predatory lender or a scam and express disbelief that a lender like this is allowed to continue operating.

On Trustpilot, a single review ranks Crane Finance as one star, but the review isn’t applicable to Crane Finance loans. Despite this lone review, it somehow has a rating of 3.2 out of 5 stars.

What do people on Reddit say?

There’s not much on Reddit about Crane Finance. One Redditor posted a question asking if anyone had gotten a loan from Crane Finance and if it was worth it. The single respondent said to avoid Crane Finance, that it’s predatory and you’ll end up paying back three times what you borrowed.

Your reviews

No reviews yet. Write a review

Ask a question

Ask a question
Avatar

Lacey Finder

Writer

Hi there, looking for more information? Ask us a question.

Error label

You are about to post a question on finder.com:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked
Accept and continue

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our finder.com Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookies Policy.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Go to site