In this guide

  • Our verdict
  • Frequently asked questions
  • Your reviews
  • Ask a question
Finder makes money from featured partners, but editorial opinions are our own. Advertiser disclosure

Upstart Cash Line Review: Borrow More, Better Terms (2026)

Upstart

Upstart isn't available on Finder right now.

Min. Amount
$200
Max. Amount
$5,000
Turnaround time
Instant

Our verdict

Upstart rolls out a personal line of credit, but it’s not widely available yet.

Upstart, a highly rated AI-driven personal loans marketplace, recently launched Cash Line, a new line of credit product that’s currently in its beta phase. Customers can access a credit line up to $5,000 through its mobile app, with free instant transfers and APRs capped at 36%. It’s less expensive than a payday loan and offers higher loan amounts than most short-term loans or cash advance apps.


It also promises $200 instantly once approved. But it’s only in the early stages, so you’ll need to join its waitlist to get access to Cash Line, and there’s no guarantee of approval. Plus, it requires a $10 monthly membership fee for loans up to $500. If you want to borrow more than that, APRs run from 5% to 36%.


Best for: People looking to borrow more than a payday loan or a cash advance app offer with free instant transfers.

Pros

  • Credit line up to $5,000
  • Free instant transfers
  • Advantages over payday loans and cash advance apps

Cons

  • Not widely available yet
  • Requires monthly membership or rates up to 36%
  • Eligibility requirements unclear

In this guide

  • Our verdict
  • Frequently asked questions
  • Your reviews
  • Ask a question

Is Upstart legit?

Upstart is a legitimate lending marketplace that has been in operation since 2012. It became a publicly traded company in December 2020. As of 2026, it has partnered with more than a hundred banks to originate more than $53.5 billion in loan funds to over four million customers.

What makes Upstart Cash Line shine?

  • Credit lines up to $5,000. Upstart’s Cash Line offers advances up to $5,000 — far more than you can typically get from other short-term lending sources.
  • Free instant transfers. Once approved, Upstart’s Cash Line offers free instant transfers to your bank account, as long as your bank supports instant transfers. By comparison, most cash advance apps require a small fee for instant transfers.
  • Guaranteed minimum of $200. All customers gain instant access to at least $200 upon approval — more than first-time users can get from cash advance apps.
  • No reduced credit limits. As long as you continue to meet program eligibility and account requirements, Upstart never reduces your credit limit. But with responsible use, your credit limit can grow up to $5,000.
  • Advantages over payday loans and cash advance apps. Competing against other short-term loan options, such as payday loans and cash advance apps, Cash Line offers larger loan amounts, lower APRs and instant access to cash.

Where Upstart Cash Line falls short

  • In the beta phase. Upstart’s Cash Line is still in the beginning stages, so it’s not widely available yet. But it’s working toward broader access later this year.
  • Costs. For borrowers who want to access up to $500, Upstart requires a $10 monthly membership fee. If you want to borrow more than $500, APRs run from 5% to 36%.
  • Eligibility requirements unclear. So far, Upstart hasn’t revealed its exact criteria needed to qualify, such as minimum income and credit score requirements.
  • Only available in mobile app. While you can apply for Upstart personal loans from its website, you’ll need to download the mobile app to access its Cash Line.

Is Upstart Cash Line the same as its short-term relief loan?

No. The Upstart Cash Line is a revolving line of credit similar to a credit card, where a relief loan is a short-term loan you’ll receive as a one-time lump-sum payment. Relief loans range from $200 to $2,500 with a maximum APR of 36%.

You have between three and 18 months to repay a relief loan, and Upstart reports your payments to the three major credit bureaus. To qualify for a relief loan, you’ll need to make at least $12,000 a year and undergo a hard credit inquiry.

Upstart Cash Line loan details

Minimum credit score/credit rangeNot stated
APR5% to 36%
Loan amount$200 to $5,000
TermsNot stated
Approval turnaroundInstant
AvailabilityNot available in all states
Costs$10 monthly fee for up to $500
5% to 36% for loans over $500
No late fees

Upstart contact info

Phone number855-438-8778
Customer service hoursWeekdays: 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. ET
Weekends: 10 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. ET
Emailsupport@upstart.com
X ,formerly Twitter@Upstart
Facebook@Upstart

How to qualify for Upstart Cash Line

Upstart hasn’t revealed its exact requirements to qualify for its Cash Line, but here’s its basic loan criteria you’ll typically need to meet.

  • At least 18 years old
  • US resident
  • Social Security number
  • Valid ID
  • Employment or other source of income
  • Verifiable checking account
  • Valid email address

You’ll likely have to meet minimum income and credit requirements in addition to other criteria.

How to apply for Upstart Cash Line

As of February 2026, you can’t apply for Upstart’s Cash Line. You can only join its waitlist and hope for the best. You’ll also need to download its mobile app, which is currently only available for iOS devices.

How Upstart compares to other lenders

5 of 5 results
Finder Score Loan amount Turnaround time Requirements
Up to $150/day, with a max of $1000 between paydays
1–2 business days standard; minutes with Lightning Speed
At least 18 and a US resident, Valid Social Security number, At least 60 days of banking history, Proof of consistent income, Positive bank balance, Get paid by direct deposit.
Access up to $150 per day, with a max of $1000 between paydays. Not available to CT or Washington, D.C. residents. Subject to EarnIn terms & conditions.
Important information
EarnIn is not a bank. Access limits are based on your earnings and risk factors. Available in select states. Terms and restrictions apply. Visit EarnIn.com for full details. Expedited transfers available for a fee. Visit Earnin.com for full details.
Go to siteView details
Compare product selection
$20 to $250
3 to 4 days or instant for a fee.
Not stated
Automatically monitor your spending plus access cash advances up to $100 at a time.
Go to siteView details
Compare product selection
Up to $250 today. Build up to $700 over time with direct deposit at Varo. Average loan: $195. Qualifications Apply.
Instant, once qualified
You must have an active Varo Bank Account with a positive balance, no delinquent Varo Line of Credit or charged off Believe account in prior 6 months. Varo Advance qualification is subject to evaluation of consumer reports and Varo account activity.
Important information
Varo Advance qualification is subject to evaluation of consumer reports and Varo account activity. If approved, initial limits range from $20- $250. Unlock higher limits up to $700 over time when you bring your qualifying direct deposit to Varo and build a positive history with us. Negative repayment history may impact credit. Fees range from $1.60 - $100 based on loan amount, and deposits to your Varo Bank Account. Your current limit and applicable fees can be viewed in the Varo App. Qualifying direct deposits are electronic deposits of your paycheck, pension or government benefits (such as Social Security or unemployment) from your employer or government agency to the extent that can be identified. Tax refunds and government stimulus payments, Person-to-Person payments (such as Venmo or Varo to Anyone), and funds deposited using a Varo routing number are not considered a direct deposit.
Go to siteView details
Compare product selection
OppLoans logo
$500 to $5,000
As soon as the same business day
+18 years old, Receive paychecks through direct deposit, $1,500 minimum monthly income, Live in eligible state
Not available in: CO, CT, GA, IA, MD, MA, NY, SD, VT, WV. Comes with the option to change your due date so you won’t fall behind on repayments.
Important information
The advertised APR is an estimate based on currently available information, is not final, and is subject to change. If approved, your actual rate will be determined and assigned based on your creditworthiness, income, application information, and other relevant factors. Applications submitted on the OppLoans platform will be originated by one of our bank partners and serviced by OppLoans. Please see the Rates and Terms for details regarding the availability of products in your state of residence. Subject to credit approval and verification. Actual approved loan amount and terms are dependent on our bank partners’ standard underwriting guidelines and credit policies. Funds may be deposited for delivery to your bank via ACH as soon as the same business day if verification is completed and final approval occurs before 12:00 PM CT on a business day. If approval occurs after 12:00 PM CT on a business day or on a non-business day, funds may be delivered as soon as the next business day. Availability of the funds is dependent on how quickly your bank processes the transaction. Installment loan amounts typically range from $500 to $5,000. Annual percentage rate (APR) ranges from 129% to 195%. Installment loan lengths range from 9 to 18 months. Example: A $2,000 installment loan repayable in 9 monthly payments with an APR of 160% would have monthly payments of $394.58. Loan amount, APR, and repayment terms may vary by state, please see https://www.opploans.com/rates-and-terms for additional information. Approval is not guaranteed. If approved, your actual rate will fall within the marketed range of rates, and will be determined and assigned based on your creditworthiness, income, application information, and other relevant factors. Not all applicants will qualify for the lowest available rates. This is an expensive form of credit and you should determine whether the offered product(s) meets your financial needs. OppLoans’ Bank Partners may use credit report information provided by Clarity Services and Experian as part of the application process to determine your creditworthiness. The credit inquiry will appear as a soft credit inquiry on your Experian credit report and a hard credit inquiry on your Clarity report. Therefore it will not affect your FICO credit score. OppLoans and its Bank Partners report customer payment history to the three major credit bureaus. On-time payments may improve credit score.
Go to siteView details
Compare product selection
Albert logo
$25 to $1,000
Within minutes
An active bank account with transaction history linked to Albert
Advance up to $1,000 in minutes with Albert Instant.
Important information
Albert is not a bank. Savings account provided by Wells Fargo, N.A., Member FDIC. Albert plans start at $19.99/mo. Try for 30 days before you're charged. Fees auto-renew until canceled. Cancel in the app. Terms apply. Albert Instant Line of Credit is an unsecured line of credit issued by FinWise Bank, a Utah chartered bank, Member FDIC. Limits range from $25-$1,000. Draw fees apply. Terms and eligibility criteria including geographic restrictions apply. In some states, Albert may offer you an Albert Instant Advance instead. Limits range from $25-$1,000, subject to terms and eligibility criteria. No Albert subscription is required for Albert Instant Line of Credit or Albert Instant Advance. See Albert Terms of Use for additional important terms.
Go to siteView details
Compare product selection
loading
Showing 5 of 5 results

What is the Finder Score?

The Finder Score crunches 3+ types of short-term loans across 65+ lenders. It takes into account the product's interest rate, fees and features, as well as the type of loan eg investor, variable, fixed rate - this gives you a simple score out of 10.

To provide a Score, we compare like-for-like loans. So if you're comparing the best short-term loans for all credit types, you can see how each short-term loan stacks up against other short-term loans with the same borrower type, rate type and repayment type.

Read the full breakdown

Upstart reviews and complaints

BBB accredited Yes
BBB rating A+
BBB customer reviews 1.25 out of 5 stars, based on 159 customer reviews
Trustpilot Score 4.9 out of 5 stars, based on 61,366 customer reviews
Customer reviews verified as of 23 February 2026

Upstart has overwhelmingly positive reviews on Trustpilot, with 97% of reviewers giving it a 5-star rating. Customers praise the smooth and easy process, great service and fast funding. Many people also report borrowing from Upstart more than once with positive results. However, a few people complained that its rates were a little high, and some were disappointed they were approved for a lower amount than requested.

Chief complaints on its Better Business Bureau (BBB) page are from customers who reported billing errors, inaccurate payoff amounts and high rates.

What do people on Reddit say?

There’s already a little chatter on Reddit about Upstart’s Cash Line, and some think it sounds promising. Others are optimistic about the initial $200 guaranteed loan amount. When comparing it to low starting amounts from cash advance apps, which typically start around $25. A few Redditors also mention positive experiences with using Upstart for loans in the past.

Frequently asked questions

Your reviews

No reviews yet. Write a review

Ask a question

Ask a question
Avatar

Alex Finder

Graduate publisher

Hi there, looking for more information? Ask us a question.

Error label

You are about to post a question on finder.com:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked
Accept and continue

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our finder.com Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookies Policy.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Go to site