Finder is committed to editorial independence. While we receive compensation when you click links to partners, they do not influence our content.
Compare motorcycle insurance in Florida
Prepare for high premiums despite low insurance requirements.
Florida motorcyclists have few insurance laws which can keep their riding costs low. However, you may want more coverage than required because of the high motorcycle crash rate here. But more protection comes at a higher price.
Motorcycle insurance providers in Florida
Average motorcycle insurance in Florida
This state is known for high motorcycle premiums, with an average of $689 per year or $57 per month. That’s a few hundred dollars higher than you’ll find in most states, which usually range from $300 to $500 annually.
The high cost makes sense since Florida has the highest motorcycle fatality rate of any US state, with 550 deaths in 2017. Plus, low insurance requirements could mean that more riders have less insurance than they need, making options like uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage more costly choices.
Minimum motorcycle insurance requirements in Florida
Unlike other states, Florida doesn’t require liability coverage. Instead, this state requires you to have at least $10,000 of medical payments coverage that you can carry through health or vehicle insurance.
This is not to be confused with personal injury protection (PIP), which isn’t available to motorcyclists in the state.
The state recommends keeping liability coverage to avoid being held financially responsible if you cause an accident. To ensure financial responsibility:
- Purchase bike insurance. A good rule is to keep the same liability coverage as other drivers: $10,000 for bodily injuries per person, $20,000 for bodily injuries per incident and $10,000 for property damage liability.
- Show proof of financial responsibility. You’ll need both a surety bond from a licensed company and a security deposit with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
- Apply for self-insurance. Prove you have a certain amount of accessible funds or assets and you can apply for a self-insurance certificate with the Bureau of Financial Responsibility.
How to save on bike insurance in Florida
Because Florida has minimal bike insurance laws, you can get by with little coverage and a low premium upfront. However, consider these easy ways to save:
- Use health insurance for injury protection. If you have at least $10,000 of health insurance coverage, you may not need personal injury protection from a bike insurer. And you’ll be covered for more than just bike accidents.
- Take a motorcycle safety course. You could get a discount by completing an approved safety course.
- Lower coverage. You can go with the lowest insurance protection here without any state liability laws. But keep in mind that you’ll have to pay out of pocket if an accident occurs.
Florida might have stellar views that make riding a fun mode of transportation, but the state also has many severe bike accidents. Despite its low insurance requirements, consider bike insurers who offer helpful liability and physical damage coverage.
Frequently asked questions about Florida motorcycle insurance
More guides on Finder
How much does umbrella insurance cost?
Get a low-cost policy for liability expenses that exceed your car or home insurance coverage.
Best umbrella insurance
Receive extra liability coverage with an umbrella policy from these top insurers, though they may require you to have car insurance through them.
Combined life insurance review May 2021
Find unusually low face values for a whole life policy, ideal for supplemental insurance.
Compare home renovation insurance
Transform your home without leaving insurance gaps while your home’s under construction.
Compare full coverage vs. liability car insurance
Which type of car insurance policy fits your car and driving needs?
Compare tuition insurance
If your child gets sick or injured and has to take time away from college, tuition insurance can reimburse you for what you already paid.
Car insurance for drivers 25 to 40 years old
Take advantage of the lowest minimum coverage rates by earning all the discounts you can.
Heacock Classic car insurance review May 2021
Insure your classic car or race car at agreed value with Heacock Classic, but you’ll have to look elsewhere if you have recent claims or major violations.
Driving without car insurance
Since driving uninsured comes with steep penalties, look at your coverage options or consider alternatives.
Say car insurance review May 2021
Offers a transparent look at your premiums and rewards renewal with a better insurance score.
Ask an Expert