Forever 21 Credit Card review | finder.com

Review: Forever 21 Credit Card — December 2018

We value our editorial independence, basing our comparison results, content and reviews on objective analysis without bias. But we may receive compensation when you click links on our site. Learn more about how we make money from our partners.

Forever 21 Credit Card

Get special rewards for Forever 21 purchases with this card.

  • Get this card if… you’re a trendsetter who shops at Forever 21 and are looking for additional rewards for your spending.
  • Pick something else if…you aren’t a fan of shopping at Forever 21.
  • Recommended good to excellent credit range of 600 to 739.

If you’re already a fan of this fast-fashion retailer — and you scour the latest trends and deals at Forever 21 — you’ll love the generous rewards of the Forever 21 Store Credit Card. It comes with 15% off your first purchase, 3 points per $1 spent in store and online at Forever 21 earned and exclusive cardholder offers and promotions.

Product NameForever 21 Credit Card
Annual Fee$0
APR (Annual Percentage Rate) for Purchases28.99% variable
Interest Free PeriodUp to 25 days
Late Payment Fee$38
Returned Payment Fee$38
Additional Cardholder Fee$0
Minimum Age18 years of age
Reward Value per Dollar3x points
Rewards Points ExpiryNever

The Perks

  • Introductory discount.

    Get 15% off your first purchase and 20% off a future purchase with your welcome kit.

  • Rewards program.

    You’ll earn 3x rewards points for every dollar you spend at Forever 21. Redeem 300 points for a $5 rewards certificate.

Alternative card with 5% cash back: Target REDcard™ Credit Card

A no-annual-fee credit card and discounts when you shop at Target.

  • $0 annual fee.
  • Save 5% on purchases at Target stores and Target.com.
  • Early access to special events, products and promotions.
  • 10% off coupon on your card anniversary.
Promoted

You’ll also like …

  • Double Points events.

    Get more points at special events throughout the year.

  • Birthday discount.

    Each birthday, you’ll get $5 to spend on Forever 21 accessories.

  • Anniversary discount.

    On Forever 21’s birthday, get 21% off your purchase.

  • Exclusive offers and promotions.

    Cardholders can access exclusive discounts and sales throughout the year.

What to watch out for

  • High interest rate.

    The Forever 21 Credit Card comes with a high 28.99% variable APR, so consider paying off your card balance each month.

  • Fees for late and returned payments.

    For each late or returned payment, you’ll pay a fee of up to $38.

Consider other cards if…

  • You don’t shop at Forever 21.

    This is a store credit card that you can use only at Forever 21. If you don’t like shopping for apparel at Forever 21, consider picking a credit card you can use elsewhere.

Compare Comenity credit cards

What should I know before I apply?

To apply for the Forever 21 Credit Card, you must be:

  • At least 18 years old.
  • A US citizen or legal resident.

You’ll need to submit personal and financial information that includes:

  • Your full name and personal contact information.
  • Proof of stable employment.
  • Your date of birth and Social Security number.

How to apply for the card

You can’t apply for a Forever 21 Credit Card online. Instead, you’ll need to apply at a Forever 21 store and then register your card online with Comenity Bank.

1. To register your Forever 21 Credit Card, locate the card on Comenity Bank’s site and click Register for Access.

Forever 21 sign in page

2. Enter your card account information and click Find My Account.

Forever 21 register page

3. Once you’ve located your account, continue by specifying a user name and password for future access. Click Create Account.

Forever 21 create account page

I got the card. Now what?

  • Keep track of your minimum payment.

    Your minimum payment each billing period is the total of minimum payments for Regular Revolving and promotional Credit Plans plus any past due amount. The total minimum payment will be at least $27.

    If your account balance is less than $27, you’ll need to pay the amount on your statement in full.

    The minimum payment due for each Regular Revolving Credit Plan will be the greater of $5 or 5% of the new balance shown on your statement for that Credit Plan (rounded up to the nearest $1).

  • Make timely payments.

    Manage your spending and pay your bills online by registering an online account with Comenity Bank.

  • Avoid interest.

    At the close of each billing cycle, you have a grace period of 25 days to pay your balance. If you do, you won’t pay interest on your purchases.

  • Avoid fees.

    Late and returned payments come with hefty fees of up to $38.

  • Customer service.

    If you have questions, visit the help section on the Comenity Bank website or call 1-844-271-2526.

Bottom line

If you’re already a faithful shopper at Forever 21, this store card can reward your spending with discounts on future purchases. Just watch out for the high APR you’ll pay on balances you carry.

Common questions about the Forever 21 Credit Card

Megan Horner

As the assistant publisher of credit cards at finder.com, Megan is passionate about helping you compare and find the best credit cards for your situation, whether that is earning great rewards or improving your credit score. In her previous position, Megan worked as an assigning editor at Credit Karma, where she focused on editing and publishing educational articles on credit cards. Megan started her career as a writer at a comparison website, so she has a longstanding background in surfacing the best deals and helping people make decisions. In her spare time, Megan likes to hike, camp, surf, and read.

Was this content helpful to you? No  Yes

US Credit Card Offers

Important Information*
Deserve® Classic Card
Deserve® Classic Card

APR

24.49
variable

Annual fee

0 For the first year
More info
Luxury Card Mastercard® Gold Card™
Luxury Card Mastercard® Gold Card™

APR

16.74
variable

Annual fee

995 For the first year
More info
First Access Visa Card®
First Access Visa Card®

APR

29.99
variable

Annual fee

75 For the first year
More info
Indigo® Platinum Mastercard® Credit Card
Indigo® Platinum Mastercard® Credit Card

APR

23.9
variable

Annual fee

75 For the first year
More info

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder.com provides guides and information on a range of products and services. Because our content is not financial advice, we suggest talking with a professional before you make any decision.

By submitting your comment or question, you agree to our Privacy and Cookies Policy and Terms of Use.

Questions and responses on finder.com are not provided, paid for or otherwise endorsed by any bank or brand. These banks and brands are not responsible for ensuring that comments are answered or accurate.

34 Responses

  1. Default Gravatar
    JenniferOctober 25, 2018

    I have no credit and I applied For a credit card from forever 21 . What are the chances that I will Be approved ?

    • Default Gravatar
      joelmarceloOctober 25, 2018

      Hi Jennifer,

      Thanks for leaving a question on finder.

      Forever 21 will approve applicants who have at least a fair credit score. If you have no credit record, there’s a slim chance that you will be approved for this card. We have a comparison of credit cards that accepts applications from people who has no credit to bad credit if you click HERE. Good luck!

      Please send me a message if you need anything else. :)

      Cheers,
      Joel

  2. Default Gravatar
    MarieSeptember 21, 2018

    What range of credit score would you recommend to be approved for this card? I currently have a Torrid CC with Commenity

    • finder Customer Care
      CharisseSeptember 21, 2018Staff

      Hi Marie,

      Thanks for reaching out to finder.

      There is no specific credit score requirement to be approved for Forever 21 credit card. However, the recommended credit score range that would most likely get you approved is between good-excellent which is around 700-850.

      Generally though, retailers are not that strict in extending credit and will still approve cardholders with at least fair credit score to encourage them to shop at their stores.

      Hope this helps.

      Cheers,
      Charisse

  3. Default Gravatar
    CambJuly 2, 2018

    I am a authorized user on my bf account but my credit score isn’t showing increase due to ontime payments. What credit bureaus are payments reported to? I did this to increase my credit thank you

    • finder Customer Care
      nikkiangcoJuly 3, 2018Staff

      Hi Camb,

      Thanks for leaving a message on our page.

      Please know that since you are not the primary cardholder, the history of payments you are making is on the account of your boyfriend and thus will not show on your credit score. It would be a good option to apply for your own credit card as you have the capacity to make timely payments.

      Here are the credit bureaus where payments are being reported to.

      Hope this helps.

      Cheers,
      Nikki

  4. Default Gravatar
    AsmahJune 8, 2018

    Can I pay my credit card with another credit card

    • Default Gravatar
      joelmarceloJune 9, 2018

      Hi Asmah,

      Thanks for leaving a question on finder.

      The process to transfer your credit card debt to another company is called balance transfer. A balance transfer means that, for a one-time fee, you take the balance of your debt on one or more credit cards and move that amount to another card. For more information on how it works and to know more about companies who can do this for you, please go here.

      Cheers,
      Joel

  5. Default Gravatar
    ShortyApril 19, 2018

    I returned some items that I purchased with the forever21 charge card and I made a cash payment towards my account. I noticed that my cash payment went through but my returned items didn’t cause a change in my account . So I guess I’m asking since I returned those items, should my account for what I owe be less?? Or do I still have to pay back what I spent on the card even tho I returned the items .

    • Default Gravatar
      ArnoldApril 20, 2018

      Hi Shorty,

      Thanks for your inquiry

      The new return policy of Forever 21 allows customerss get a full refund to their original method of payment (cash, debit, credit, or gift cards) for any in-store purchases within 30 days of purchase. There’s only one small caveat: Items must be returned in the same country in which they were purchased. For further clarification, you may refer to the Returns Policy and Terms and Conditions.

      Hope this information helps

      Cheers,
      Arnold

  6. Default Gravatar
    ChelseyApril 12, 2018

    What does it usually mean if it says that your account is in review

    • finder Customer Care
      MayApril 12, 2018Staff

      Hi Chelsey,

      Thanks for reaching out to finder.

      Part of the policy of Forever 21 is to review and check your account information. If your account is in review, this means that Forever 21 is verifying your account information. You can also contact Forever 21 directly in case you’d need confirmation on this.

      Cheers,
      May

  7. Default Gravatar
    TammyApril 8, 2018

    How can I cancel my forever 21 credit card? I signed up for it unaware that it was a credit card.

    • finder Customer Care
      JoshuaApril 8, 2018Staff

      Hi Tammy,

      Thanks for getting in touch with finder.

      To cancel your Forever21 credit card, you need to directly get in touch with them. You may also ask Comenity Bank and visit their website since they handle Forever21’s credit card.

      I hope this helps. Should you have further questions, please don’t hesitate to reach us out again.

      Have a wonderful day!

      Cheers,
      Joshua

  8. Default Gravatar
    LexusJJanuary 25, 2018

    Is the forever21 credit card a hard or soft inquiry?

    • Default Gravatar
      joelmarceloJanuary 26, 2018

      Hi Lexus,

      Thanks for leaving a question on finder. Forever21 is a hard pull. credit inquiries and application are hard pull. You can check the “Attempting to open new credit” section on this page.
      section F

      If you have any questions, please send us a message anytime.

      Cheers,
      Joel

  9. Default Gravatar
    JeannetteNovember 22, 2017

    Hi, I got approved for my forever 21 credit card. Can I authorize a card for my 14yr old basically this credit card will be for her?

    • finder Customer Care
      RenchNovember 22, 2017Staff

      Hi Jeanette,

      Thanks for your inquiry. Please note that we are not affiliated with Forever 21 or any company we feature on our site and so we can only offer you general advice.

      I’m afraid the Forever 21 Store Credit Card is nontransferrable. You may contact Forever 21 to for further info.

      Kind regards,
      Rench

  10. Default Gravatar
    louiseNovember 11, 2017

    I registered for a card in store without understanding it was a credit card…but if I don’t register my card online with Comenity Bank/activate it…will I still be billed or need to pay for anything? Do i need to cancel my account?

    • Default Gravatar
      ArnoldNovember 12, 2017

      Hi Louise,

      Thanks for your inquiry

      If you cancel the card after it has been activated, the closure could ding your score and you may have to pay corresponding fees. If you cancel it before it gets activated, then it won’t harm your credit rating. Of course, the inquiry from the application will still appear on your credit report for two years, but will only factor into your score for one year. Please directly contact the issuer to discuss this with them.

      Hope this information helps

      Cheers,
      Arnold

    • Default Gravatar
      TammyApril 8, 2018

      I signed up for a card instore without realizing it was a credit card. If I don’t charge anything to it, will there be any type of fee for just having it? As in, if I kept the card to earn points when I purchase something instore but didn’t use the card to actually CHARGE. Also, why was it required to give my social?

    • finder Customer Care
      JoshuaApril 8, 2018Staff

      Hi Tammy,

      Thanks for getting in touch with finder.

      According to our page, the fees include returned payment, late payment, and cash advance fees. There’s no annual fee. So, generally, you won’t get charged of anything if you don’t use it. However, it is still helpful if you review the terms and conditions as well as check with Forever21.

      If in case they asked for your social, it could be for verification purposes. Since we are not affiliated with Forever21, you might want to ask them directly to get a more personalised answer.

      Cheers,
      Joshua

Go to site