Review: Is the Forever 21 Credit Card worth it? | April 2018

Review: Forever 21 Store Credit Card — April 2018

Get special rewards for Forever 21 purchases with this card.

We know that everyone's situation is unique and we aim to help you find the right product for you. We may receive compensation when you visit our partners' sites or are approved for their products. You can read more about how we maintain editorial independence and how we make money here.

  • Get this card if… you’re a trendsetter who shops at Forever 21 and are looking for additional rewards for your spending.
  • Pick something else if…you aren’t a fan of shopping at Forever 21.
  • Recommended good to excellent credit range of 700 to 850.

If you’re already a fan of this fast-fashion retailer — and you scour the latest trends and deals at Forever 21 — you’ll love the generous rewards of the Forever 21 Store Credit Card. It comes with 15% off your first purchase, $5 rewards for every 300 points earned and exclusive cardholder offers and promotions.

Product NameForever 21 Credit Card
APR for Purchases ( Purchase Rate )27.99% variable
Annual fee$0
Card TypeVisa
Interest Free Period
The interest-free period on purchases is the period or number of days you do not have to pay interest on your card purchases. You will be charged interest either from the day you make a purchase or from the statement date, unless you pay the closing balance in full by the due date (or within the interest-free period) on your statement.
Up to 25 days
Returned Payment Fee$38
Minimum Interest$2
Minimum Credit ScoreGood (700-739)
Minimum Age18 years of age
Annual fee$0
Returned Payment Fee$38
Late Payment Fee$38
Cash Advance Feewhichever is greater, $10 or 5

The Perks

  • Introductory discount. Get 15% off your first purchase and 20% off a future purchase with your welcome kit.
  • Rewards program. You’ll earn 3x rewards points for every dollar you spend at Forever 21. Redeem 300 points for a $5 rewards certificate.

You’ll also like …

  • Double Points events. Get more points at special events throughout the year.
  • Birthday discount. Each birthday, you’ll get $5 to spend on Forever 21 accessories.
  • Anniversary discount. On Forever 21’s birthday, get 21% off your purchase.
  • Exclusive offers and promotions. Cardholders can access exclusive discounts and sales throughout the year.

What to watch out for

  • High interest rate. The Forever 21 card comes with a high 27.99% variable APR, so consider paying off your card balance each month.
  • Fees for late and returned payments. For each late or returned payment, you’ll pay a fee of up to $38.00.

Consider other cards if…

  • You don’t shop at Forever 21. This is a store credit card that you can use only at Forever 21. If you don’t like shopping for apparel at Forever 21, consider picking a credit card you can use elsewhere.

What should I know before I apply?

To apply for the Forever 21 Credit Card, you must be:

  • At least 18 years old.
  • A US citizen or legal resident.

You’ll need to submit personal and financial information that includes:

  • Your full name and personal contact information.
  • Proof of stable employment.
  • Your date of birth and Social Security number.

How to apply for the card

You can’t apply for a Forever 21 card online. Instead, you’ll need to apply at a Forever 21 store and then register your card online with Comenity Bank.

1. To register your Forever 21 Credit Card, locate the card on Comenity Bank’s site and click Register for Access.

Forever 21 store card step 1

2. Enter your card account information and click Find My Account.

Forever 21 store card step 2

3. Once you’ve located your account, continue by specifying a user name and password for future access. Click Create Account.

Forever 21 store card step 3

I got the card. Now what?

  • Make timely payments. Manage your spending and pay your bills online by registering an online account with Comenity Bank.
  • Avoid interest. At the close of each billing cycle, you have a grace period of 25 days to pay your balance. If you do, you won’t pay interest on your purchases.
  • Avoid fees. Late and returned payments come with hefty fees of up to $38.
  • Customer service. If you have questions, visit the help section on the Comenity Bank website or call 1-844-271-2526.

Bottom line

If you’re already a faithful shopper at Forever 21, this store card can reward your spending with discounts on future purchases. Just watch out for the high APR you’ll pay on balances you carry.

Common questions about the Forever 21 Credit Card

Was this content helpful to you? No  Yes

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.

26 Responses

  1. Default Gravatar
    ShortyApril 19, 2018

    I returned some items that I purchased with the forever21 charge card and I made a cash payment towards my account. I noticed that my cash payment went through but my returned items didn’t cause a change in my account . So I guess I’m asking since I returned those items, should my account for what I owe be less?? Or do I still have to pay back what I spent on the card even tho I returned the items .

    • Staff
      ArnoldApril 20, 2018Staff

      Hi Shorty,

      Thanks for your inquiry

      The new return policy of Forever 21 allows customerss get a full refund to their original method of payment (cash, debit, credit, or gift cards) for any in-store purchases within 30 days of purchase. There’s only one small caveat: Items must be returned in the same country in which they were purchased. For further clarification, you may refer to the Returns Policy and Terms and Conditions.

      Hope this information helps

      Cheers,
      Arnold

  2. Default Gravatar
    ChelseyApril 12, 2018

    What does it usually mean if it says that your account is in review

    • Staff
      MayApril 12, 2018Staff

      Hi Chelsey,

      Thanks for reaching out to finder.

      Part of the policy of Forever 21 is to review and check your account information. If your account is in review, this means that Forever 21 is verifying your account information. You can also contact Forever 21 directly in case you’d need confirmation on this.

      Cheers,
      May

  3. Default Gravatar
    TammyApril 8, 2018

    How can I cancel my forever 21 credit card? I signed up for it unaware that it was a credit card.

    • Staff
      JoshuaApril 8, 2018Staff

      Hi Tammy,

      Thanks for getting in touch with finder.

      To cancel your Forever21 credit card, you need to directly get in touch with them. You may also ask Comenity Bank and visit their website since they handle Forever21’s credit card.

      I hope this helps. Should you have further questions, please don’t hesitate to reach us out again.

      Have a wonderful day!

      Cheers,
      Joshua

  4. Default Gravatar
    LexusJJanuary 25, 2018

    Is the forever21 credit card a hard or soft inquiry?

    • Staff
      joelmarceloJanuary 26, 2018Staff

      Hi Lexus,

      Thanks for leaving a question on finder. Forever21 is a hard pull. credit inquiries and application are hard pull. You can check the “Attempting to open new credit” section on this page.
      section F

      If you have any questions, please send us a message anytime.

      Cheers,
      Joel

  5. Default Gravatar
    JeannetteNovember 22, 2017

    Hi, I got approved for my forever 21 credit card. Can I authorize a card for my 14yr old basically this credit card will be for her?

    • Staff
      RenchNovember 22, 2017Staff

      Hi Jeanette,

      Thanks for your inquiry. Please note that we are not affiliated with Forever 21 or any company we feature on our site and so we can only offer you general advice.

      I’m afraid the Forever 21 Store Credit Card is nontransferrable. You may contact Forever 21 to for further info.

      Kind regards,
      Rench

  6. Default Gravatar
    louiseNovember 11, 2017

    I registered for a card in store without understanding it was a credit card…but if I don’t register my card online with Comenity Bank/activate it…will I still be billed or need to pay for anything? Do i need to cancel my account?

    • Staff
      ArnoldNovember 12, 2017Staff

      Hi Louise,

      Thanks for your inquiry

      If you cancel the card after it has been activated, the closure could ding your score and you may have to pay corresponding fees. If you cancel it before it gets activated, then it won’t harm your credit rating. Of course, the inquiry from the application will still appear on your credit report for two years, but will only factor into your score for one year. Please directly contact the issuer to discuss this with them.

      Hope this information helps

      Cheers,
      Arnold

    • Default Gravatar
      TammyApril 8, 2018

      I signed up for a card instore without realizing it was a credit card. If I don’t charge anything to it, will there be any type of fee for just having it? As in, if I kept the card to earn points when I purchase something instore but didn’t use the card to actually CHARGE. Also, why was it required to give my social?

    • Staff
      JoshuaApril 8, 2018Staff

      Hi Tammy,

      Thanks for getting in touch with finder.

      According to our page, the fees include returned payment, late payment, and cash advance fees. There’s no annual fee. So, generally, you won’t get charged of anything if you don’t use it. However, it is still helpful if you review the terms and conditions as well as check with Forever21.

      If in case they asked for your social, it could be for verification purposes. Since we are not affiliated with Forever21, you might want to ask them directly to get a more personalised answer.

      Cheers,
      Joshua

  7. Default Gravatar
    JennyNovember 1, 2017

    I made an in store payment on the 28th yet I checked my balance and it hasn’t gone down . Will it appear that I made my payment by the time my bill is due which would be on the fourth of this month ? Don’t want to see any late fees or it to affect my credit

    • Staff
      ArnoldNovember 2, 2017Staff

      Hi Jenny C,

      Thanks for your inquiry

      Please note that you have come through Finder.com.au and I’m afraid we can’t check that information. It would be best to directly contact Forever 21 regarding your concern before your bill is due. They will be able to check on the issue and make sure you don’t incur late fees.

      Hope this information helps

      Cheers,
      Arnold

  8. Default Gravatar
    SamcarOctober 28, 2017

    What’s a returned purchase fee ?

    • Staff
      RenchOctober 28, 2017Staff

      Hi Samcar,

      Thanks for your inquiry. Please note that we are not affiliated with any company we feature on our site and so we can only offer you general advice.

      A ‘Returned Payment Fee’ is a charge a credit card company may assess to a customer’s account if the customer attempts to pay a credit card bill with a check that is returned unpaid.

      For each late or returned payment, you’ll pay a fee of up to $38.00.

      You may also contact Forever 21 directly to confirm info and for further inquiries.

      Best regards,
      Rench

  9. Default Gravatar
    Michele13042October 20, 2017

    What other merchants and restaurants can I use my Forever 21 Visa credit card

    • Staff
      JoanneOctober 21, 2017Staff

      Hi Michele13042,

      Thanks for reaching out.
      This is a store credit card that you can use only at Forever 21. Unfortunately you cannot use this card for purchases outside of Forever 21.

      Cheers,
      Joanne

  10. Default Gravatar
    AnzySeptember 12, 2017

    Hello, what are the chances that a credit score around the range of 680-690 from Equifax will get approval for Forever21 card??

    • Staff
      ArnoldSeptember 13, 2017Staff

      Hi Anzy,

      Thanks for your inquiry

      There is a good chance you will be approved with the score you have. To be approved it is important that you can prove your ability to repay the credit card fees and your purchases. Please also check the eligibility requirements and gather all necessary documents you have to support your application before applying.

      Hope this information helps

      Cheers,
      Arnold

Go to site