Take the time to get the facts before taking out a short-term loan in Memphis.
If money is tight and your credit isn’t the best, it might be worth looking into a short-term loan. Before you borrow, be sure you know the laws of Tennessee and how much a loan will cost.
Check into Cash Loans
Check into Cash allows you to directly apply for a payday loan and have your cash when you need it.
- Min. Loan Amount: $50
- Loan Term: Varies by state
- Turnaround Time: 1–2 business days
- Total Costs: Varies depending on the amount and your state of residency.
- Must be 18+
- No security needed
- Confidential and secure
What laws govern short-term loans in Memphis?
The Tennessee Revised Statutes 45-17-101 et seq. states that short-term loans, also known as payday loans, are legal in all of Tennessee. Online loans are capped at $425 while loans taken out a storefront have a cap of $500. Both types of loans have terms that must be less than 31 days, and lenders can charge no more than 15% interest as fees.
Consider these options for a short-term loan in Memphis
What are some reasons to get a payday loan?
- Simple application process. A payday loan application only takes a few minutes to complete, and you won’t have to wait long to learn if you’ve been approved.
- Get quick access to your funds. Unlike traditional loans, the transfer process is fast. Instead of waiting weeks for your funds, you’ll only have to wait a day or two at most. If you want a check or cash from a storefront, you may even be able to get it before you leave the store.
- Bad credit is OK. Even if you don’t have the best credit, you may still qualify for a payday loan. As long as you have a regular source of income and can repay what you borrow, lenders will consider you for a loan.
Isaac's motorcycle needed quick repairs
Isaac had already maxed out his credit card for repairs to his motorcycle, but it wasn’t quite enough to cover the full cost. Since he needed the money as soon as possible to have everything fixed in time for his next shift at work, Isaac decided to take out a payday loan.
He applied for a loan of $250 with a term of 14 days. The contract clearly stated that he would need to pay $44.11 in fees. Isaac opted to have the money withdrawn automatically from his bank account so he wouldn’t have to worry about whether or not the check would bounce.
On the due date, Isaac made sure he had enough to pay off his loan. If he hadn’t, he would have been responsible for late fees and possible court costs.
The steps to applying for a short-term loan
All lenders have the same basic eligibility criteria when you go to apply. You’ll need to be at least 18 years old and a citizen or permanent resident of the US. In addition, most require that you have a regular source of income, although this doesn’t necessarily have to be from employment.
When you’re ready to fill out your application, make sure you have all your personal information ready. Most lenders will want to know your Social Security number, information about your employment and gross monthly income, contact details and get access to your checking account.
Once you’ve completed the forms, submit your application and wait for appproval.
Payday loan locations near you in Memphis, Tennessee
Lender offices in Memphis, Tennessee
- Check Into Cash. Winchester Court, 6636 Winchester Rd #150, Memphis, TN 38115
- Checkless Cash. 3024 Covington Pike #5, Memphis, TN 38128
- Quik Lend Cash. 2830 Old Austin Peay Hwy #6, Memphis, TN 38128
- Title Cash Title & Payday Loans. 2235 Whitten Rd, Memphis, TN 38133
- Top Dollar Title & Payday Loans. Plum Tree Shops, 5818 Winchester Rd, Memphis, TN 38115
How much will it cost to borrow a payday loan in Memphis?Tennessee sets the financing fee limit at 15%. This means if you borrow $100, you’ll have to pay back $115 to your lender on the loan’s due date, not including additional database fees. While it may not seem like much, this totals more than 400% in interest, making payday loans a costly form of credit.
Keep in mind that how much you can borrow depends on how you receive your funds. Bank transfers through an online lender can’t exceed more than $425. With a 15% financing charge, you’ll need to repay $63.75. If you go to a physical store and receive a check or cash, you can borrow up to $500. At 15%, this means you’ll pay fees equal to $75.
Compare your options to be sure you’re getting the best financing rate and loan terms.