Finder is committed to editorial independence. While we receive compensation when you click links to partners, they do not influence our content.

Air New Zealand Status Points explained

Status Points open up a range of travel benefits. Find out how you can earn them to enjoy upgrades, lounge access and priority service.

Status Points are part of Airpoints, Air New Zealand’s loyalty programme. Different to Airpoints Dollars, which can be redeemed for various kinds of rewards, Status Points determine which membership tier of the frequent flyer programme you belong to.

Each tier has certain benefits such as lounge access and upgrades, and the higher you go, the more benefits you can enjoy.

How do Status Points work?

When you join the Airpoints programme you will start at the basic membership level. You can then move up to Silver, Gold and Elite if you earn enough Status Points in a 12-month period.

For Silver, you’ll need to earn 450 Status Points, 900 for Gold, and 1,500 for Elite tier status. Once you reach a tier you are only eligible for those benefits for the next 12 months.

You will need to earn at least 90% of the required Status Points in each 12-month period to retain your status level or earn enough to move you to the next tier.

To reach Silver or Gold status you need to earn at least half of your required Status Points on Air New Zealand or partner airline flights. To reach Elite, at least 900 out of 1500 needed Status Points should be earned on Air New Zealand or partner airline flights.

What are the benefits of earning Air New Zealand Status Points?

Earning Status Points is rewarding for travellers. As you move up through the Silver, Gold and Elite membership tiers you can enjoy the following benefits:

  • Flight upgrades
  • Lounge access
  • Priority check-in and boarding
  • Extra baggage allowance
  • Discounted business class fares
  • Complimentary frequent flyer seating
  • Complimentary valet parking
  • Rental car vouchers

How do I earn Status Points?

When you travel on eligible Air New Zealand flights you’ll earn Status Points. The amount of Status Points you earn is based on the type of fare that you have.

For example, if you fly from Auckland to Hong Kong on an Economy Saver fare you can earn 32-68 Status Points. You’ll earn 72-111 on an Economy Flexi fare, 100-151 for Premium Economy and 188-260 for Business.

Status Points can also be earned on some Star Alliance and partner airline flights.

Another way to earn Status Points is by using an Airpoints credit card from a participating card issuer:

More guides on Finder

Go to site