Finder is committed to editorial independence. While we receive compensation when you click links to partners, they do not influence our opinions or reviews. Learn how we make money.

FXNow review | Product, prices and features

Last updated:  

An on-demand TV and video streaming service provider with award-winning shows and blockbuster movies.

If you’re a big fan of FX, FXX, and FXM TV shows and movies, FXNow could be a great addition for you.

With FXNow, choose from tons of options, and conveniently watch your program online. Plus, download the FXNow app to stream your favorite shows and movies, wherever you are. But, between streaming issues and exclusives, the service has its limitations.

Details

Service typeOn-demand streaming
Free trialNo
Pricing starts atVaries
Lock-in contractNo

Pros and cons

Find out the good and bad of FXNow.

Pros

  • Free. FXNow is included with an FX subscription. Log in with your TV credentials.
  • Variety of options. You can see the latest movies and shows, but also older classic titles, like Mad About You, and Buffy The Vampire Slayer.

Cons

  • Commercials. Though FXNow is free with your subscription, your movies and TV shows are interrupted by ads and commercials.
  • Streaming problems. Some customers claim that FXNow can be slow to load, and has the tendency to crash often.

What features does FXNow offer?

  • Watch anywhere. Enjoy FXNow online, or download the app to access shows and movies on-demand from anywhere.
  • Three networks. Access three networks, including FX, FXX, and FXM.
  • Options. Choose between the most popular TV show and movies. Watch new episodes the day after they air on TV.
  • Live TV. Depending on where you live, you could access live-stream TV.

What devices are compatible with FXNow?

The FXNow app is available on a variety of different devices, including:

  • Sony TVs with Android TV
  • Roku
  • iOS
  • Xbox One
  • Xbox 360
  • Android
  • Samsung Smart TV
  • Windows 10
  • Apple TV
  • Chromecast
  • Amazon Fire TV
  • Android TV

How much does FXNOW cost?

If you have FX as part of your TV package, FXNOW is included. Log in with your TV credentials, and download the app for free.

Compare streaming services

You can watch FX TV shows on popular platforms like Hulu, Netflix and Amazon Prime. Check out other streaming options below.

Name Product Service type Pricing starts at Free trial 4K or UHD Number of devices Simultaneous streams
Hulu
On-demand streaming
$5.99
30 days
Yes
99
1
Disney+
On-demand streaming
$6.99
No
Yes
10
4
Amazon Prime
On-demand streaming
$8.99
30 days
Yes
99
2
Starz
On-demand streaming
$8.99
7 days
No
4
FuboTV
Pay TV
$54.99
7 days
Yes
2
loading

Compare up to 4 providers

What can I watch with FXNOW?

FX, FXX, and FXM all offer award-winning shows and content. Some popular shows include:

Series

  • American Horror Story
  • Archer
  • Atlanta
  • Fargo
  • It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia
  • Mayans MC

Movies

  • Avatar
  • Deadpool
  • Gone Girl
  • Logan
  • The Martian
  • X-Men:Days of Future Past

Frequently asked questions

Expert review

Adrienne Fuller

Review by


Adrienne Fuller is the head of publishing at Finder US. With a decade of experience creating guides in finance and education, she aims to deliver the accurate and transparent information she wishes she had when she made some of life's important financial decisions. For the past 3 years she has been the publisher of money transfers, helping readers save when they send money all over the globe. She has a BA from Colorado College and loves to hike with her two Catahoula dogs around her home in San Diego.

Expert review

If you’ve been a long-time fan of shows on FX like Simpsons, Archer and It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, FXNow can lets you watch on these shows and more on demand. Though users have reported slow loading and site crashing, many users enjoy FXNow to access shows they love. Compare other streaming platforms if you’re looking for larger libraries of content.

Ask an expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder only provides general advice and factual information, so consider your own circumstances, or seek advice before you decide to act on our content. By submitting a question, you're accepting our finder.com Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookies Policy.

32 Comments

  1. Default Gravatar
    Aspen
    April 30, 2019

    How can I access FX? I want to watch Fosse Verdon

    • Default Gravatar
      Bella
      May 1, 2019

      Hi Aspen,

      Thanks for your inquiry.

      If you have FX, you can get FXNOW for free. It is also completely free to download the FXNOW app.

      To access FXNOW, however, you will need to purchase a cable plan that includes FX, or subscribe to the FX channel. Each cable provider may differ in subscription details and specifics. To subscribe to FXNOW, you will have to directly go to their website and sign in FX’s website with your TV cable provider credentials.

      I hope this information helps.

      Kind regards,
      Bella

  2. Default Gravatar
    Steven
    March 24, 2019

    I have a Roku and am using it with just internet I have purchased cbs all access, fyi works great, love it, I don’t have a cable provider only internet.

    Can I purchase FX now ( a single channel ) without buying a package such as Sling or Hulu?

    • Avatarfinder Customer Care
      Charisse
      March 25, 2019

      Hi Steven,

      Thanks for reaching out to Finder.

      Yes, as FXNow channel has already been added to Roku Search and it shows you which of many top streaming channels have the content you’re looking for. This way, you can choose to watch the streaming channel that’s best for you. However, cable or satellite subscription is required for this.

      Since you mentioned you are only using internet, unfortunately, this will not work for you.

      I hope this helps.

      Cheers,
      Charisse

  3. Default Gravatar
    Geoff
    February 14, 2019

    I am just wondering why some providers work well, yet others have not joined your service?

    • Avatarfinder Customer Care
      johnbasanes
      February 15, 2019

      Hi Geoff,

      Thank you for reaching out to Finder.

      There may be a number of reasons why some providers are not yet included with FXNOW. You may need to directly contact FXNOW to check if there are updates on additional providers for FXNOW. Hope this helps!

      Cheers,
      Reggie

  4. Default Gravatar
    Gail
    December 14, 2018

    Can I watch FXNOW on TV?

    • Default Gravatar
      nikkiangco
      December 18, 2018

      Hi Gail,

      Thanks for getting in touch! You can definitely watch FXNOW on a TV set that is Android TV capable. Hope this was helpful. Don’t hesitate to message us back if you have more questions.

      Best,
      Nikki

  5. Default Gravatar
    Matt
    November 24, 2018

    Do you add and delete movies regularly. Or are movies permanently displayed?

    • Avatarfinder Customer Care
      Val
      December 3, 2018

      Hi Matt,

      Thank you for leaving a question with finder.

      Please note that we do not represent FXNOW. Since FXNOW is about online streaming you can choose what you want to stream from tons of options, and watch your program conveniently online anytime.
      If I may suggest you can contact FXNOW directly to know more details on how they update, add or delete movies or shows online.

      Cheers!
      Val

  6. Default Gravatar
    Brettney
    October 26, 2018

    I have FXNOW through xfinity. When I try to watch a movie on fxnow it states my trial period is over. What does this mean and what do I need to do to watch movies on fxnow?

    • Default Gravatar
      joelmarcelo
      October 26, 2018

      Hi Brettney,

      Thanks for leaving a question on finder.

      If you have FX, you can get FXNOW for free. It is also completely free to download the FXNOW app.

      To access FXNOW, however, you will need to purchase a cable plan that includes FX, or subscribe to the FX channel. Each cable provider may differ in subscription details and specifics. To resubscribe to FXNOW, you will have to directly go to their website and sign in. You will also get a prompt there that trial has expired. Simply follow the prompts to reinstate your membership.

      Please send me a message if you need anything else. :)

      Cheers,
      Joel

  7. Default Gravatar
    bluhat
    September 14, 2018

    My cable provider has fx. I pay for and get fx. But the app will not function. Says my provider is not registered. What must I do do get them onboard. They are rural simple people. This is the kindest way to speak of them. Help please provider is woodsfield municipal cable Ohio 43793.

    • Avatarfinder Customer Care
      johnbasanes
      September 14, 2018

      Hi Bluhat,

      Thank you for leaving a question.

      On your request to have your local provider be connected to FXNOW, your TV provider needs to contact FXNOW to have a discussion around including them in your channel selection. On the other hand, to access the FX Networks online, you can sign into FXNOW, or download the FXNOW app to stream FX, FXX, and FXM from your smart device. Hope this helps!

      Cheers,
      Reggie

  8. Default Gravatar
    Franky
    September 10, 2018

    To purchase FX+ do I need to have a TV cable provider?

    • Default Gravatar
      joelmarcelo
      September 10, 2018

      Hi Franky,

      Thanks for leaving a question on finder.

      Yes you will need to have an existing cable tv subscription to get FX+. They have a free trial if you go directly to their website. Once you click on the “Start Free Trial” button, the next screen will ask you on which cable provider you are with. Simply follow the prompts and you are all set.

      Cheers,
      Joel

  9. Default Gravatar
    Penny
    September 10, 2018

    Can I download an episode to watch offline such as a plane ride, NetFlix, Amazon etc. offer a feature that accomplishes this.

    • Default Gravatar
      nikkiangco
      September 11, 2018

      Hey Penny!

      Thanks for your message and for visiting finder.

      Yes, you can download a tv show episodes/episodes or a movie from Netflix, Amazon or any other streaming app that has this feature for your viewing convenience. Take note to download the shows you want while you have a fast and stable internet connection so it will download faster.

      Hope this helps and have a safe trip!

      Best,

      Nikki

  10. Default Gravatar
    Dan
    September 6, 2018

    I do not have cable, can I access FXNOW through my iPad or iPhone?

    • Avatarfinder Customer Care
      Joshua
      September 8, 2018

      Hi Dan,

      Thanks for getting in touch with finder. I hope all is well with you. :)

      Yes, you can access FXNOW through your iPad and iPhone. What you will do is simply download their app. However, you would still need to purchase a cable plan from a TV provider. As what our page mentioned, “You cannot just come to the website and watch any show for free. In fact, content is locked until you log in with your TV provider credentials.”

      I hope this helps. Should you have further questions, please don’t hesitate to reach us out again.

      Have a wonderful day!

      Cheers,
      Joshua

Go to site