FXNOW on-demand TV and video streaming review December 2018 | finder.com
FXNow streaming logo

FXNOW On-demand TV and Video Streaming Review

We value our editorial independence, basing our comparison results, content and reviews on objective analysis without bias. But we may receive compensation when you click links on our site. Learn more about how we make money from our partners.

FXNOW is an on-demand TV and video streaming service provider that lets you watch award-winning shows, blockbuster movies, and every Simpson episode ever.

If you are a big fan of FX, FXX, and/or FXM TV shows and movies, FXNOW could be a great addition for you. With FXNOW, you can choose what you want to stream from tons of options, and watch your program conveniently online. Plus, you can download the FXNOW app to stream your favorite shows and movies as you please, wherever you choose. The app has a simple setup, and all you have to do is download the content onto your device, sign in using your TV provider details, and start streaming. It is worth noting that the sign in process is slightly different on select devices, but FX’s website explains each process from start to finish.

Participating providers for FXNOW

If you have access to the FX Networks through your cable provider, you will be able to stream shows and movies with FXNOW. To access the FX Networks online, you can sign into FXNOW, or download the FXNOW app to stream FX, FXX, and FXM from your smart device. To start streaming with FXNOW, all you have to do is sign into FX’s website with your TV cable provider credentials. A few participating TV providers include:

Providers for FXNOW:
AT&T U-verse Time Warner Cable
DirecTV Xfinity
Verizon Fios Charter Communications

While the list above gives a few top TV providers, there are additional providers not listed that also participate.

Compatible Devices with FXNOW

The FXNOW app is available on a variety of different devices, including:
Sony TVs with Android TV Roku
iOS Xbox One
Xbox 360 Android
Samsung Smart TV Windows 10
Apple TV Chromecast
Amazon Fire TV Android TV

What are the benefits of FXNOW?

  • Watch anywhere. You can enjoy FXNOW online, or download the app to access FXNOW shows and movies on-demand from anywhere.
  • Three networks. With FXNOW, you can access three networks, including FX, FXX, and FXM.
  • Options. You can choose between the most popular TV show and movies. Many TV shows are currently airing, and you can watch new episodes the day after they air on TV.
  • App extras. With FXNOW, you can download customer apps inspired by hit FX and FXX originals. You can enjoy an FX Emoji app, a Sunny Says Soundboard, a Flipadelphia app, a Strain Transformation app, and an Archerisms app.

Pricing and packaging

If you have FX, you can get FXNOW for no charge. It is also completely free to download the FXNOW app.

To access FXNOW, however, you will need to purchase a cable plan that includes FX, or subscribe to the FX channel. Each cable provider may differ in subscription details and specifics.

Pros and cons

Pros:

  • Simpsons World. With FXNOW, you can enjoy every episode of the Simpsons, anytime.
  • Free. If you have an FX subscription, logging into FXNOW, and downloading the FXNOW app is completely free of charge.
  • Current and old media choices. You can see the latest movies and shows, but also older classic titles, like Mad About You, and Buffy The Vampire Slayer.

Cons:

  • Need FX. In order to access FXNOW, you will need to login to your TV provider. You cannot just come to the website and watch any show for free. In fact, content is locked until you log in with your TV provider credentials.
  • Not unlimited. Though there are hundreds of media titles to choose from, there are shows and movies that are exclusive to other channels, and not available through FXNOW.
  • Commercials. Though FXNOW is free with your subscription, your movies and TV shows will still be interrupted by ads and commercials.
  • Streaming problems. Some customers claim that FXNOW can be slow to load, and has the tendency to crash often. However, this is not the case for everyone.

Top shows

FX, FXX, and FXM all offer award-winning shows and content.

The most popular shows include the following:

American Horror Story Roanoke Atlanta Youre The Worst
The Strain Better Things Tyrant
How I Met Your Mother Parks and Recreation The Simpsons
It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia Archer Baskets
The Americans

Frequently Asked Questions

Was this content helpful to you? No  Yes

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder.com provides guides and information on a range of products and services. Because our content is not financial advice, we suggest talking with a professional before you make any decision.

By submitting your comment or question, you agree to our Privacy and Cookies Policy and Terms of Use.

Questions and responses on finder.com are not provided, paid for or otherwise endorsed by any bank or brand. These banks and brands are not responsible for ensuring that comments are answered or accurate.

24 Responses

  1. Default Gravatar
    MattNovember 24, 2018

    Do you add and delete movies regularly. Or are movies permanently displayed?

    • finder Customer Care
      ValDecember 3, 2018Staff

      Hi Matt,

      Thank you for leaving a question with finder.

      Please note that we do not represent FXNOW. Since FXNOW is about online streaming you can choose what you want to stream from tons of options, and watch your program conveniently online anytime.
      If I may suggest you can contact FXNOW directly to know more details on how they update, add or delete movies or shows online.

      Cheers!
      Val

  2. Default Gravatar
    BrettneyOctober 26, 2018

    I have FXNOW through xfinity. When I try to watch a movie on fxnow it states my trial period is over. What does this mean and what do I need to do to watch movies on fxnow?

    • Default Gravatar
      joelmarceloOctober 26, 2018

      Hi Brettney,

      Thanks for leaving a question on finder.

      If you have FX, you can get FXNOW for free. It is also completely free to download the FXNOW app.

      To access FXNOW, however, you will need to purchase a cable plan that includes FX, or subscribe to the FX channel. Each cable provider may differ in subscription details and specifics. To resubscribe to FXNOW, you will have to directly go to their website and sign in. You will also get a prompt there that trial has expired. Simply follow the prompts to reinstate your membership.

      Please send me a message if you need anything else. :)

      Cheers,
      Joel

  3. Default Gravatar
    bluhatSeptember 14, 2018

    My cable provider has fx. I pay for and get fx. But the app will not function. Says my provider is not registered. What must I do do get them onboard. They are rural simple people. This is the kindest way to speak of them. Help please provider is woodsfield municipal cable Ohio 43793.

    • finder Customer Care
      johnbasanesSeptember 14, 2018Staff

      Hi Bluhat,

      Thank you for leaving a question.

      On your request to have your local provider be connected to FXNOW, your TV provider needs to contact FXNOW to have a discussion around including them in your channel selection. On the other hand, to access the FX Networks online, you can sign into FXNOW, or download the FXNOW app to stream FX, FXX, and FXM from your smart device. Hope this helps!

      Cheers,
      Reggie

  4. Default Gravatar
    FrankySeptember 10, 2018

    To purchase FX+ do I need to have a TV cable provider?

    • Default Gravatar
      joelmarceloSeptember 10, 2018

      Hi Franky,

      Thanks for leaving a question on finder.

      Yes you will need to have an existing cable tv subscription to get FX+. They have a free trial if you go directly to their website. Once you click on the “Start Free Trial” button, the next screen will ask you on which cable provider you are with. Simply follow the prompts and you are all set.

      Cheers,
      Joel

  5. Default Gravatar
    PennySeptember 10, 2018

    Can I download an episode to watch offline such as a plane ride, NetFlix, Amazon etc. offer a feature that accomplishes this.

    • finder Customer Care
      nikkiangcoSeptember 11, 2018Staff

      Hey Penny!

      Thanks for your message and for visiting finder.

      Yes, you can download a tv show episodes/episodes or a movie from Netflix, Amazon or any other streaming app that has this feature for your viewing convenience. Take note to download the shows you want while you have a fast and stable internet connection so it will download faster.

      Hope this helps and have a safe trip!

      Best,

      Nikki

  6. Default Gravatar
    DanSeptember 6, 2018

    I do not have cable, can I access FXNOW through my iPad or iPhone?

    • finder Customer Care
      JoshuaSeptember 8, 2018Staff

      Hi Dan,

      Thanks for getting in touch with finder. I hope all is well with you. :)

      Yes, you can access FXNOW through your iPad and iPhone. What you will do is simply download their app. However, you would still need to purchase a cable plan from a TV provider. As what our page mentioned, “You cannot just come to the website and watch any show for free. In fact, content is locked until you log in with your TV provider credentials.”

      I hope this helps. Should you have further questions, please don’t hesitate to reach us out again.

      Have a wonderful day!

      Cheers,
      Joshua

  7. Default Gravatar
    AndyJuly 12, 2018

    Are movies in the FXNOW app censored for language, nudity, etc?

    • Default Gravatar
      joelmarceloJuly 13, 2018

      Hi Andy,

      Thanks for leaving a question on finder.

      You will see FX shows like American Horror Story, Archer etc. censorship free. But there is a setting in your FX account to toggle with Parental controls so you can manage what your family can watch.

      Cheers,
      Joel

  8. Default Gravatar
    PATRICIAMay 23, 2018

    I have Samsung Tv. I downloaded the FX app but when I tried to sign on, thet was no Charter Spectrum listrd as a provider. Hoe do i sign in?

    • Default Gravatar
      joelmarceloMay 23, 2018

      Hi Patricia,

      Thanks for leaving a question on finder.

      You can try uninstalling and reinstalling the FX app on your tv to refresh the app and to force install the necessary updates. If it does not work, you can try contacting FX directly to report this issue.

      Cheers,
      Joel

  9. Default Gravatar
    DaveApril 24, 2018

    Can I watch FX’s series “Trust”, starring Donald Sutherland on Netflix or Hulu? And, why does NO ONE know this?

    • Default Gravatar
      joelmarceloApril 25, 2018

      Hi Dave,

      Thanks for leaving a question on finder.

      FX has exclusive rights to Trust and it is not available in Netflix yet. You can however contact Netflix support and request Trust to be included in their line up. They may consider it in the future.

      Cheers,
      Joel

  10. Default Gravatar
    CourtneyNovember 24, 2017

    How do I get a commercial or ad for my local business to play on the FXNOW app?

    • Default Gravatar
      ArnoldNovember 25, 2017

      Hi Courtney,

      Thanks for your inquiry

      Please note that we do not represent FXNOW. It would be best to discuss your proposal with FXNOW directly.

      Hope this information helps

      Cheers,
      Arnold

Go to site