Finder is committed to editorial independence. While we receive compensation when you click links to partners, they do not influence our content.
Florida moped laws & insurance requirements
Insurance may be a smart option to protect yourself, even though it’s not required in Florida.
Updated . What changed?
Riding mopeds and scooters in Florida come with different laws than riding a motorcycle, including no minimum coverage for insurance. Other moped laws include keeping drivers fully licensed while curbing them from riding the highways at their typical low speeds.
What's in this guide?
Major moped laws in Florida
To ride on a moped in Florida, drivers must be at least 16 years old with a standard Class E driver’s license or motorcycle-only license. Mopeds also need to be registered with the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, although they’re not required to carry moped insurance.
These laws seem basic enough, but make sure your bike is classified as a moped in Florida. You might also consider insurance for your own protection against moped damage or damage you cause to others.
Moped vs. motorcycle laws in Florida
By state law, any two- or three-wheeled motorized vehicle with an engine of 50 cc or lower is not considered a motorcycle by state law. This is important since you may need to meet different legal requirements based on how your vehicle is classified.
Florida motorcycle laws
Because these bikes have more power and speed than other two-wheeled counterparts, Florida tightens their road requirements. Motorcycle laws to stay aware of:
- Riders need a motorcycle endorsement to ride on public roads.
- All motorcycles must have proper registration.
- Motorcycles must keep headlights on at all times.
- Riders must wear protective eyewear.
- Two motorcycles are allowed to share a single lane.
- Passengers must ride on bikes meant for two riders.
- Passengers must have foot rests.
- Handlebars on motorcycles must not pass the rider’s shoulders.
Florida moped laws
Mopeds may not have the same power capacity as a motorcycle, but you need to follow guidelines to stay safe on the road. A few of Florida’s driving requirements for vehicles not classified as motorcycles include:
- Cannot use pedestrian sidewalks or bicycle lanes
- Stay off highways or interstates if under 5 braking horsepower (BHP) and is unable to go faster than 40 mph
- Cannot ride between lanes or on yellow lines
- Must have a valid driver’s or motorcycle license
- Must ride as close to the right side of the road as possible
- Must be registered for road use
- Riders must use turn signals or arm signals
- Must obey all traffic signals and stop signs
Florida scooter laws
The same laws that apply to mopeds also apply to street-legal scooters. To ride on the same road as cars, scooters must:
- Include a seat or saddle.
- Have two wheels.
- Carry only one person.
- Do not need vehicle registration.
Electric scooters should stay on the sidewalk and avoid major roads. Florida deems your ride an electric scooter if it:
- Doesn’t have a seat or saddle.
- Has a maximum of three wheels.
- Doesn’t go above 30 mph.
Moped insurance in Florida
Mopeds and scooters do not require insurance in Florida. But make sure your vehicle classifies as a moped or scooter before skipping insurance.
If not, your bike may need to meet motorcycle requirements. That means carrying $10,000 of personal injury protection coverage along with financial responsibility for liability.
Even though the state doesn’t mandate insurance, coverage can still be a good idea. If you’re looking for the right policy, mopeds fall under scooter insurance or a motorcycle policy, which is usually much cheaper than standard car insurance.
License requirements for mopeds in Florida
Mopeds can seem less dangerous with their unimposing low speeds, low horsepower and sometimes bright, fun body colors. But both street-legal mopeds and scooters need fully licensed drivers for the best road safety.
Florida moped licenses require that:
- Drivers must be at least 16 years old.
- Drivers must have a valid Class E driver’s license or motorcycle-only license.
- Learner’s permits do not work in place of these licenses.
Helmet laws in Florida for mopeds
You can expect tighter motorcycle helmet laws compared to mopeds because of the heightened danger of riding on high-speed freeways. But when saddling up a moped, riders do have helmet requirements to keep in mind:
- Moped riders or passengers over 16 aren’t required to wear helmets, unless the scooter can reach above 30 mph.
- All moped riders under age 16 must use helmets.
- Motorcycle helmets are not mandatory for riders older than 21 if they carry at least $10,000 in medical coverage.
Compare Florida moped insurance companies
Like a motorcycle, you’ll need a license to ride a moped and scooter — but requirements for helmets and license are less stringent. Even though insurance isn’t required on these two-wheeled getarounds, consider shopping providers to see what protection they offer.
Frequently asked questions about Florida moped insurance
More guides on Finder
States with the strictest driving laws
If you’re relaxed behind the wheel, you’ll want to steer clear of these states with the strictest driving laws.
Does my business insurance protect me from vandalism and looting?
Your business insurance policy should pay for vandalism and looting — but you’ll need to document the damage.
Is Vietnam safe to travel to?
Many travelers explore Vietnam without problems. But watch for petty crime and consider your medical needs.
Motorcycle helmet laws by state
Understand motorcycle helmet laws in the states where you ride.
Compare motorcycle insurance in Arizona
See why riders pay $150 above the US average for insurance, despite Arizona’s low minimum requirements.
Compare motorcycle insurance in Georgia
Motorcycle crashes and major cities could weigh into your premium in Georgia.
Compare motorcycle insurance in Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania sticks to the US average for bike insurance with many quality companies to choose from.
How to register your new motorcycle
You’ll need to prove ownership and insurance before getting your license plate handed to you.
Compare commercial fleet insurance for motorcycles
Find customized coverage fit for your rental customers or crew.
Illinois moped laws & insurance requirements
You’ll need the same insurance as motorcycles, but double-check licensing and headlight visibility rules.
Ask an Expert