Compare car title loans in Virginia
Select your state of residence and hit the Show me my options button. Then, explore lenders by loan amount, turnaround time and requirements.
Where can I get a car title loan in Virginia?
Title loans in Virginia are available both online and at physical stores. You’ll have better luck finding title loan stores in bigger cities like Richmond and Virginia Beach. But this is a growing industry, so you may also find stores scattered across the state in smaller cities and towns. While you can often start the car title loan process online, you’ll likely have to finish it at a store to have your car inspected and receive your funds.
Title loan locations in Virginia
Online title loans
While online title loans are available in Virginia, there’s a catch: You can’t have the funds directly deposited into your bank account. Your lender must disburse your loan funds in the form of cash, a check or a debit card. This means that even in the rare cases a lender doesn’t require a vehicle inspection, you may still need to visit a storefront to receive your funds.
However, online title loans can be helpful if you’re looking for loan preapproval. Many lenders will give you an estimated loan amount and cost based on your financial situation after you fill out an online form.
How to apply for a title loan online
If you decide to go online first, you’ll likely have to follow these steps:
- Compare your loan options and click Go to Site to start an application.
- Fill out the required fields and submit your form.
- If preapproved, set up an inspection with the lender.
- Visit a branch to have your car appraised and complete your application.
- Read over your loan contract, sign the dotted line and receive your funds.
What are the title loan laws in Virginia?
Virginia has a number of regulations in place to protect borrowers, including limits on how much you can borrow and late fees:
- Maximum loan amount: No more than 50% of the value of your vehicle
- Loan terms: 120 days to 12 months
- Late fees: No more than 5% of the payment amount
- Rollovers and extensions: None allowed
Interest rates and APRs are capped according to how much you borrow:
|Portion of the loan||Maximum monthly interest rate||Maximum APR|
|Between $700 and $1,400||18%||216%|
However, lenders can’t charge interest if it’s been 60 days since you missed a payment or if your vehicle has been repossessed. They also aren’t able to receive repayments via automatic electronic withdrawals from your bank account.
Returning your title
When you repay your title loan in full and have closed out your loan, your lender is required to:
- Mark your original loan agreement as paid or canceled.
- Terminate its lien on your vehicle’s title.
- Return your vehicle’s title to you.
If you run into trouble getting your title back, contact the DMV in the state your vehicle is registered. If problems continue, contact Virginia’s attorney general to file a complaint.
Repossessing your vehicle
Your lender must give you a written notice 10 days in advance before it repossesses your vehicle. This notice must state:
- The principal of the loan.
- The interest due.
- That you can avoid repossession by paying back the loan in full.
Selling your vehicle
After repossession, your lender must give you at least 15 days’ notice of its intention to sell your vehicle. This notice must include:
- The principal of the loan.
- The interest due.
- The date and time your vehicle might be sold.
- A list of reasonable expenses of repossession.
Your lender may not charge you for storage fees after repossession.
You can pay off your loan at any time before the sale to get your vehicle back. If you’re unable to pay your lender, it can sell your car. One of two things will happen after your lender sells your car, depending on the payoff amount.
- If the vehicle was sold for more than the payoff amount. Your lender must give you any excess money from the sale. For example, if you owed $4,000 to your lender and your vehicle sold for $5,000, you would receive the leftover $1,000.
- If the vehicle was sold for less than the payoff amount. Your lender cannot collect any money from you if your vehicle sold for less than the loan amount. For example, if you owed $5,000 on the loan but your vehicle only sold for $4,000, you would not owe your lender that extra $1,000.
Car title loan requirements in Virgina
Car title loans in Virginia don’t have many requirements. You’ll likely qualify for a loan if you:
- Have a lien-free motor vehicle title.
- Are at least 18 years old.
Your lender may have more specific requirements, including proof of regular income and a government-issued ID. Check your lender’s requirements before applying.
Alternatives to consider before getting a car title loan in Virginia
These alternatives may be able to help if you need cash fast or you’re facing long-term financial issues:
- Payday alternative loan. A payday alternative loan (PAL) is a short-term loan offered by select federal credit unions. You’ll need to be a member of the credit union to qualify, but APRs are capped at a low 28%.
- Credit card cash advance. If you have credit available on your credit card, consider taking out a cash advance. These typically come with APRs around 30% — significantly lower than what you’d be charged by an auto title loan provider.
- Family or friends. If you only need a few hundred dollars to get by until your next paycheck, friends or family may be willing to lend a hand. You can even draw up a loan contract if you don’t want to accept the funds as a gift.
- Payday or installment loans. These short-term loans have one benefit that title loans don’t: They don’t require collateral. And since Virginia limits the amount of interest a payday lender can charge, it might cost less to borrow if you only need a small amount.
You can also look into loans for consolidating debt or request an extension from your creditors. And if you’ve been having a lot of trouble handling your finances, a credit counseling service may be able to provide some structural support to avoid finding yourself in a similar situation in the future.
A car title loan may seem like a good deal when you’re short on cash and have bad credit, but it can be extremely expensive — and you risk losing your car should you default. But because of Virginia’s caps on interest and regulations on repossession, you may be in a better position than if you lived in a different state with less oversight.
Learn more about the process and compare lenders with our guide to auto title loans.
Frequently asked questions
Can I cancel my loan?
Yes. Virginia allows you to cancel your loan before the close of the next business day after taking it out. If you decide to cancel, you have to repay the loan amount in full via cash or the original loan check.
How can I receive my funds?
You can receive your loan proceeds as cash, check or a debit card. Your lender can’t charge a fee for cashing a check or when you use your loan funds on a debit card.
Can I roll over my loan?
No. Virginia law doesn’t allow you to roll over or refinance a title loan. If you’re unable to pay back your loan by the end of its term, you may face multiple fees and repossession of your vehicle.
Do I need to have insurance on my vehicle?
It depends. A lender may require you to have insurance on the vehicle, but it can’t force you to go with a specific provider or choose from a list of providers.
How many title loans can I have at one time?
Virginia only allows you to borrow one title loan at a time. In addition, there can only be one lien holder on a title. This means that you won’t be able to get a title loan if you’re still making payments on your vehicle, and you can’t borrow a new title loan on the same day you close out a previous loan.
Can my lender collect on a deficiency after sale?
No. Virginia law doesn’t allow lenders to collect or sue for any losses after the sale of a vehicle. However, there are exceptions. If you sold the vehicle without the lender’s permission, didn’t disclose a lien against the vehicle or intentionally destroyed, damaged or hid the vehicle, you may be responsible for repaying any deficiency after a sale.
More guides on Finder
Loans like Elastic
Save money with these 7 alternatives to Elastic.
Alternatives to Zocaloans
Save money with these 7 cheaper alternatives to Zocaloans.
LoanCenter auto title loans review
Just make sure you live in one of these six states to qualify.
Compare your payday loan options in Nashville, Tennessee
Here’s what you need to know about Nashville, Tennessee payday loans. Are they legal? Compare online lenders who offer fast loans.
Compare your loan options in Phoenix, Arizona
Here’s what you need to know about Phoenix, Arizona payday loans. Are they legal? Compare online lenders who offer fast loans.
Compare your loan options in Augusta, Georgia
Here’s what you need to know about Augusta, Georgia payday loans. Are they legal? Compare online lenders who offer fast loans.
Compare your loan options in Dover, Delaware
Here’s what you need to know about Dover, Delaware payday loans. Are they legal? Compare online lenders who offer fast loans.
Short-term loans in Decatur, Alabama
Learn the rules and regulations of payday loans in this Southern town.
Spotloan installment loan review
You can take out an installment loan from Spotloan and pay it back over time. Up to $800 is available and you can apply in minutes. See if you’re eligible.
Speedy Cash review
If you have bad credit and need cash fast, consider Speedy Cash for your next payday or installment loan.
Ask an Expert