Minimum requirements and how to get cheap auto insurance in Wyoming
Compare car insurance quotes
Enter your ZIP code to see the cheapest rates in your area.
Your information is secure.
Before getting auto insurance in Wyoming
You know how necessary car insurance is when it comes to protecting yourself, your vehicle and others on the road. But each state has its own legal minimums for car insurance coverage, and every driver must meet the standards of the state they live in.
Read on to learn about car insurance in Wyoming, from the average costs per year to state laws and regulations.
Answer 3 quick questions to see the best insurance providers for you.
Are you a new driver?
4 years driving or less
More than 4 years driving
Compare Wyoming car insurance providers
Average car insurance costs in Wyoming
Despite having fewer drivers on the road and smaller cities than other states, Wyoming is a surprisingly expensive state for car insurance. Prices for full coverage ran an average of $1,500 annually within the state in 2015, surpassing the $1,300 national average.
To put these two numbers into perspective, Maine drivers were known to pay an average of $900 a year for their full coverage policies — and Michigan drivers were paying upwards of $2,300 a year.
While Wyoming’s car insurance costs can be a bit steep, there’s good news: You can optimize your coverage and take advantage of discounts to get the cheapest rate possible.
How can I save money on car insurance?
Looking for some ways to save money on your car insurance in Wyoming? No matter what state you’re in, you can use our comprehensive guide to car insurance to find types of coverage, tricks for saving money on your premiums, how to apply for car insurance and more.
State minimum requirements in Wyoming
To legally drive in Wyoming, you’ll need liability insurance that includes at least:
$25,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
$50,000 for total bodily injury or death for multiple people in an accident
$20,000 for property damage
When you’re shopping for car insurance, you might see these minimums expressed as 25/50/20.
Collision.This pays for the damages to your vehicle after an accident, regardless of who is at fault.
Comprehensive. This will pay for non-accident-related damages to your car, such as fire, animal collisions, weather-related events and theft.
Medical expenses. Helps you pay for your medical or funeral costs if you or your passengers were injured or killed in an accident. Coverage applies even if you were at fault.
Rental reimbursement. If your vehicle is stuck in the repair shop for more than a day or two, you may need alternative transportation; this covers your rental car costs, up to the limits of your policy.
Towing and labor. If you need to be pulled out of a snowy ditch or if your vehicle is disabled after an accident, a tow truck might be necessary. This covers you for towing and associated labor costs.
Uninsured drivers in Wyoming
Fewer than 8% of all drivers in Wyoming were uninsured in 2015, according to estimates from the Insurance Research Council. This statistic is a bit below the national average, which was around 13%, and far below Florida’s 26.7% rate of uninsured drivers.
What can I do if I don’t want to buy car insurance in Wyoming?
If you don’t want to purchase car insurance in Wyoming, you can pay a deposit of $25,000 to the state treasury in order to get a certificate of financial responsibility. This certificate can be shown if a police officer asks you for proof of car insurance.
Can I buy temporary car insurance in Wyoming?
Yes, you can get temporary car insurance coverage in Wyoming. However, not all insurance providers offer temporary coverage, and you may end up working with a smaller or less traditional provider than you’re used to.
Depending on your circumstances, you might not need a temporary policy at all. If you’re borrowing a vehicle for a short time, the owner’s insurance might cover you as a driver. And if you rent a vehicle, you could opt into the insurance policy from the rental company.
What happens if I’m driving in Wyoming and I don’t have insurance?
If you’re caught driving without proper car insurance in Wyoming, you could face some serious consequences — the state is tough on drivers who try to break this law. For your first offense, you’re likely looking at a fine of up to $750, and the possibility of six months in jail. Your license will likely be suspended until you can prove you have car insurance again, and you’ll probably have to file an SR-22 certificate with the state for three years.
What laws do I need to follow when I’m driving in Wyoming?
Every state in the country has a fairly common set of traffic laws. But most states also have a few specific laws to know before you hit the road. Here’s a few from Wyoming:
Under certain special circumstances, teens as young as 14 can be issued restricted driver’s licenses. This might apply to young people who live more than five miles from their school or workplace.
All drivers and passengers must wear seat belts at all times.
Texting while driving is prohibited. New drivers or drivers younger than 18 are prohibited from any cell phone use while driving — regardless of whether they have a hands-free device.
What are the DWUI penalties in Wyoming?
Wyoming has the same blood alcohol content (BAC) limits as any other state in the US: 0.08% and 0.04% for commercial drivers. If you’re caught driving over the legal BAC limit in this state, you’ll be charged with driving while under the influence, which Wyoming refers to as a DWUI. Here are some of the fines and penalties you could expect after getting charged with a DWUI.
Up to 6 months
7 days to 6 months
Up to 2 years
Fines and penalties
Up to $750
Up to $10,000
Yes (if aggravated DUI)
Yes, for life
Can I get SR-22 insurance in Wyoming?
Yes, you can get SR-22 insurance in Wyoming. SR-22 certifies that you have proper coverage to get behind the wheel. If you’ve gotten a DUI or if you’ve been caught driving without insurance, you might need to file an SR-22 with the state of Wyoming.
What happens after an accident in Wyoming?
When you’re involved in a car accident, the steps you take at the scene can help your provider settle any claims quickly and efficiently.
Get to safety. Make sure that you and everybody involved in the accident are OK. If you need assistance, call 911 immediately.
Notify your insurance company.After you’ve confirmed that all parties are safe, call your agent to report the accident. They’ll walk you through the information they need for your claim.
Document the accident.Protect your claim by taking down the name of any police officers at the scene. Take pictures of each car involved from different angles, and talk to witnesses you might be able to contact for more information later.
Exchange information.Get the full name, contact info and insurance policy details from other drivers. Note the drivers’ car type, color, model and license plate number, and the exact location of the accident. When you discuss the accident with anyone some lawyers advise not to imply fault or blame. If you suggest that you caused the crash, your car insurance provider could refuse to pay your claim.
Who’s at fault after an accident?
Wyoming is a tort or at-fault state. This means the driver who caused the crash is held responsible for the aftermath, and their insurance will pay for damages up to the driver’s policy limits. In no-fault states, each driver would be covered by their own car insurance policy.
When should I report an accident in Wyoming?
In Wyoming, you must notify the nearest law enforcement agency after a car accident if anyone was injured, killed or if it resulted in property damages of more than $1,000. If you’re in a crash meeting these conditions and you fail to notify authorities, you might face fines, jail time and license suspension.
When should I contact a lawyer?
You might want to contact a lawyer after an accident, especially if:
Someone involved in the crash plans to file a civil suit against you.
You’re planning to file a civil suit against another driver.
You’re being charged with a crime — such as negligence — after the accident.
Your insurance provider is refusing to pay a claim you believe is legitimate.
Wyoming law requires all motorists to prove financial responsibility, and the easiest way for most drivers to do that is with car insurance. The right car insurance policy will help protect you, your vehicle and others who share the road with you — and if you take the time to comparison shop, you can get a great value for the money you spend on coverage.
Enter your ZIP code and click Compare to see the best rates in Wyoming.
Your information is secure.
Frequently asked questions about car insurance in Wyoming
Not necessarily, but your insurance rates could go up if you file a claim. That’s unless you have an accident forgiveness program or a rate-lock deal, depending on your provider and your level of coverage.
Your rates are likely to increase, in this case. This is because the more valuable a vehicle is, the more you’ll usually pay to insure it; new cars are almost always worth more than older models. And crashing a brand new Volvo S60 is a much larger loss, financially speaking, than if you crashed one that was 15 years old.
If you’re financing your new vehicle, your lender may also stipulate that you keep a higher level of coverage than you had on your older car; that would likely translate into higher monthly insurance costs.
Liability coverage doesn’t help with things like windshield repairs — you would need comprehensive coverage. If it’s a small repair, like a chip that needs to be sealed, your glass repair deductible may be waived. But if your insurance provider isn’t willing to waive the deductible, you’ll have to pay that amount first before insurance begins to cover costs.
How likely would you be to recommend finder to a friend or colleague?
Very UnlikelyExtremely Likely
Thank you for your feedback.
Our goal is to create the best possible product, and your thoughts, ideas and suggestions play a major role in helping us identify opportunities to improve.
finder.com is an independent comparison platform and information service that aims to provide you with the tools you need to make better decisions. While we are independent, we may receive compensation from our partners for placement of their products or services. We may also receive compensation if you click on certain links posted on our site. While compensation arrangements may affect the order, position or placement of product information, it doesn't influence our assessment of those products. Please don't interpret the order in which products appear on our Site as any endorsement or recommendation from us. finder.com compares a wide range of products, providers and services but we don't provide information on all available products, providers or services. Please appreciate that there may be other options available to you than the products, providers or services covered by our service.