Finder is committed to editorial independence. While we receive compensation when you click links to partners, they do not influence our content.
Compare FR-44 insurance
Get FR-44 insurance after a DUI conviction in Florida or Virginia.
If you’re convicted of a DUI or DWI in Florida or Virginia, you might be required to file an FR-44 to legally drive. Similar to an SR-22, this certificate of financial responsibility is required after a driving conviction before you can legally drive in your state. Unlike a more general SR-22, an FR-44 is specific to DUI or DWI convictions, but you can find an insurer willing to help you file for FR-44 insurance.
When do I need to file an FR-44?
If you lose your license as a result of this violation, your insurance company must file an FR-44 on your behalf to prove to your state that you’re covered by increased liability insurance.
Florida and Virginia are the only states to require an FR-44 before they’ll reinstate your driver’s license. In Florida, an FR-44 is officially called a Florida Uniform Financial Responsibility Certificate, though it’s commonly called an FR-44. It’s just called an FR-44 form in Virginia.
If you’ve gotten into trouble behind the wheel in Florida or Virginia, you could be required by state law to file an FR-44. Some of the convictions that might require an FR-44 include:
- Causing injury or death of another person with your vehicle.
- Driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- Driving while your driver’s license is forfeited for a conviction.
- Violating the provisions of any federal, state or local law your state considers important.
How much does an FR-44 cost?
The cost to file an FR-44 is minimal, typically around $25. Rather, your greater cost is the higher insurance rates that result from a FR-44.
FR-44s are most typically required for high-risk drivers, and insurance companies charge more to cover that risk. You’re also required to carry higher insurance coverage limits, which cost more.
Generally, if you’ve gotten a DUI, you’ll pay more for coverage, to the tune of over $1,250 a year in higher insurance rates. Talk with your provider and ask how much more you can expect to pay for your policy.
Compare FR-44 insurance
How do I file an FR-44?
You can’t file an FR-44 on your own. Instead, you’ll need to ask your insurance provider to file one on your behalf.
1. Contact your insurer. If you already have car insurance, contact your agent and advise them of your need to file an FR-44. Most providers are equipped to file this certificate.
2. Find an insurer. If you don’t already have insurance, you’ll need to find a provider that’s willing to cover you.
Not all insurance companies insure people who need an FR-44. But you’ll find companies out there that will, like The General.
3. Pay the FR-44 filing fee. Your insurer will charge you a processing fee for filing the FR-44.
4. Verify minimum liability coverage. If you’re required to file an FR-44 in Florida or Virginia, your insurance minimums will likely be higher than the statewide liability minimums because you’re now considered a high-risk driver.
To legally drive in Florida, you’ll need to carry higher 100/300/50 liability insurance:
- $100,000 for bodily injury or death of one person
- $300,00 for bodily injury or death per accident
- $50,000 property liability
Virginia’s state minimums under an FR-44 are also higher than a typical driver. You’ll need to carry 50/100/40 liability insurance:
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death of one person
- $100,00 for bodily injury or death per accident
- $40,000 property liability
5. Submit your FR-44. Your insurance provider can likely file your FR-44 electronically on your behalf. Wait for confirmation of acceptance before getting back on the road.
How long will I need an FR-44?
Typically you’ll need an FR-44 for at least three consecutive years, but it ultimately depends on your state of residence and your conviction.
You must continuously maintain insurance coverage and keep an FR-44 on file with the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles for three years from the reinstatement of your DUI revocation.
You’re required to provide proof of insurance with an FR-44 for three years from the date of your license suspension.
How to save on FR-44 car insurance
While being classified as a high-risk driver likely means higher rates, there are still some ways to save.
- Compare quotes. Get an insurance quote from multiple companies that cater to high-risk drivers. This way, you can be sure you’re getting the cheapest rate on the coverage you need.
- Look for discounts. You might save by bundling your car and home insurance or by applying for coverage online.
- Increase your deductible. The higher you set your deductible, or the amount you’ll pay before insurance kicks in, the less you’ll pay in premiums. Just be sure you can afford your deductible in case of an accident.
- Drop extra coverage. Consider dropping roadside assistance, or collision and comprehensive if your car is older and worth less money than your deductible.
More guides on Finder
Most dangerous roads in the USA
Do you drive on one of the 30 most dangerous interstates, highways and state routes?
Worst drivers by state in 2021
TBH, we’re a bit surprised.
Best and worst states for Social Security Disability approval
Finder analyzes the easiest and hardest states to get disability in America, rating the top 5 best and worst states for disability approval.
Compare full coverage vs. liability car insurance
Which type of car insurance policy fits your car and driving needs?
Driving without car insurance
Since driving uninsured comes with steep penalties, look at your coverage options or consider alternatives.
Say car insurance review May 2021
Offers a transparent look at your premiums and rewards renewal with a better insurance score.
Compare bus conversion insurance
Find and qualify for the right type of policy when living in a skoolie.
Does home or renters insurance cover eviction?
Learn what your policy covers and how eviction affects your insurance.
Acceptance car insurance review May 2021
Consider Acceptance if you’re a high-risk driver, but prepare for the possibility of a negative customer service experience.
Compare the best auto and renters insurance bundles
The best companies blend wide auto and renters coverage, free perks and strong value.
Ask an Expert