We value our editorial independence, basing our comparison results, content and reviews on objective analysis without bias. But we may receive compensation when you click links on our site. Learn more about how we make money from our partners.
Compare SR-22 insurance in Virginia
Get cheap SR-22 insurance in Virginia
If you’re convicted of a crime in Virginia that results in the state revoking your driver’s license, you might be required to file an SR-22 certificate. An SR-22 is certification of financial responsibility. It confirms to the state that you’re covered by car insurance meeting Virginia’s minimum requirements. This form must be filed before your license can be reinstated.
Do I need to file an SR-22 in Virginia?
Your state DMV will let you know if you need to file an SR-22. Virginia law may require you to file an SR-22 if your license is suspended due to:
- Unsatisfied judgments.
- Driving without insurance.
- Failing to provide proof of insurance associated with insurance monitoring.
- Falsifying insurance certification.
- Operating a for-hire car without a license.
- A driving conviction for an accident resulting in death or injury.
- Any crime punishable as a felony by the state.
What if I don’t have a car?
Even if you don’t own a car, you’re required to file an SR-22 if you want to get your license reinstated. You’ll likely need to purchase a non-owner or operator insurance policy.
What if I’m from another state?
If you have an SR-22 from another state, you must maintain it while driving in Virginia.
- Affordable coverage
- Instant online access
- SR-22 support
Our pick for SR-22 drivers: The General
Basic, affordable coverage for almost any driver, including drivers with past claims or SR-22.
- Affordable coverage
- High risk drivers okay
- Instant online access
- Available in 46 states
Compare Virginia SR-22 car insurance
Find the best rates from insurance providers near you or learn more about state minimums and other requirements in the comprehensive guide to Virginia car insurance.
How much does an SR-22 cost?
The fee your provider charges for filing the SR-22 should be around $20 to $50.
But the filing fee isn’t what’s most expensive when you’re required to file an SR-22 — you’ll also typically see higher premiums than you’re used to.
The impact of an SR-22 on your car insurance rates
SR-22s are often required after serious driving conviction, such as driving without insurance or reckless driving. After such a conviction, the state considers you a “high-risk” driver, as will most providers — which typically results in higher insurance rates. Still, you’ll find providers out there — like the General — that specialize in high-risk drivers.
Talk to your provider about how much you can expect your rates to increase.
Companies that offer SR-22 car insurance in Virginia
Not every insurer offers SR-22 filing support. Compare cheap rates from Virginia insurance companies that offer SR-22 insurance. Your actual quotes will vary based on your demographics, location, driving record and other factors.
How do I file for an SR-22 in Virginia?
Here’s how to file an SR-22 in Virginia:
- Notify your insurer. If you already have insurance, let your provider know that you need to file an SR-22. Most are equipped to file this form.
- Find an insurer. Not all providers will insure someone who is required to file an SR-22. If yours doesn’t, it’s easy enough to find one that will.
- Pay the SR-22 fee. Your insurer will charge you a minimal processing fee for filing the SR-22 on your behalf.
- Verify minimum liability coverage. Make sure your policy includes Virginia’s minimum insurance coverage:
- $25,000 in bodily injury or death of one person
- $50,000 in bodily injury or death of two or more people
- $20,000 in property damage
- Submit your SR-22. In Virginia, your insurance provider will typically electronically file the SR-22 on your behalf. Ask for confirmation before you get back behind the wheel.
How long will I need an SR-22?
In Virginia, you’re typically required to maintain an SR-22 certificate for three years.
What happens if I let my SR-22 lapse?
Your insurance provider is required to report any lapse in coverage. If your policy is canceled due to missed payments or you’ve failed to renew it, the state will be notified immediately. This gap in coverage could lead to your license being suspended again.
A suspension can only be lifted by paying the reinstatement fees and renewing your insurance. You may also have the clock reset on your filing period. In other words, if you were two years into your three-year period you would have to carry the certification for three years from the point of your license reinstatement instead of two.
What happens when I don’t need SR-22 coverage anymore?
You may want to contact the DMV once you think your mandated filing period is over. Once you confirm with the state that it’s fulfilled you can work with your insurance agent to find out what the best plan is for you moving forward.
Virginia has steep reinstatement and uninsured motor vehicle fees that you may be able to avoid paying more than once if you properly maintain your SR-22 certification. Drive safely and legally, keep up on your insurance premiums and renew your policy early to avoid potentially getting your license suspended again.
Fees aren’t the only cost you’ll face. Be sure to shop around and compare providers to find insurance that covers what you need at a rate you can afford.
Read more on this topic
Noblr car insurance review Noblr car insurance offers monthly premium discounts based on your safe driving habits.
Compare carshare car insurance Make sure the free insurance offered by carshare services is enough protection for you.
Compare car insurance for self-employed drivers Self-employed drivers need to balance getting the best rates with protecting their business.
Compare Allstate car insurance discounts You could save well over 30% by taking advantage of Allstate’s numerous car insurance discounts.
Compare Liberty Mutual car insurance discounts Save extra money with Liberty Mutual by taking advantage of its numerous car insurance discounts.
Which gas should you use in your car? When should you use regular, premium or E85 gas? And what if you use the wrong kind?
How does car insurance cover additional drivers? Insurance should cover drivers listed on your policy, but double-check how your company handles unnamed drivers.
Compare car insurance with accidental death benefits An accidental death benefits rider can help cover funeral expenses after a fatal car accident.
Does driver assist technology affect car insurance? Driver assist technology won’t discount your insurance premium, but it could save your life.
Ferrari LaFerrari car insurance rates You can expect to pay a lot to buy — and insure — this hybrid hypercar from Ferrari.
Ask an Expert