If you live in Utah and have recently been convicted of DWI or reckless driving, you may be required to get an SR-22 to prove your financial responsibility before you get your license back. Filing for SR-22 is simple if you can find a provider willing to cover you for an affordable rate.
What's in this guide?
- How much does an SR-22 cost in Utah?
- How do I file for an SR-22 in Utah?
- Compare SR-22 car insurance in Utah
- How long will I need an SR-22 for in Utah?
- Do I need SR-22 insurance in Utah?
- What if I don’t have a car or a license?
- Utah SR-22 insurance rates
- What happens when I don't need SR-22 coverage anymore?
- Bottom line
How much does an SR-22 cost in Utah?
The fee your provider charges for filing the SR-22 is between $20 to $50, depending on the company. But it’s not the filing fee that’s most expensive when you’re required to file an SR-22 — you’ll typically see higher premiums.
The impact of an SR-22 on your car insurance rates
SR-22s are often required after a driving conviction, such as driving without insurance or a DWI. After such a conviction, you’re considered a “high-risk” driver by Utah and most providers — which typically results in higher insurance rates. Still, you’ll find providers out there — like the General — that specialize in high-risk drivers.
Talk to your provider about how much you can expect your rates to increase.
How do I file for an SR-22 in Utah?
- Notify your insurer. If you already have insurance you will need to inform your provider that you are required to file an SR-22. Most insurance providers will file one for you.
- Find an insurer. Not all providers will insure someone who is required to file an SR-22. If your provider doesn’t offer SR-22 insurance, find a provider who will.
- Pay the SR-22 fee. Your insurer will charge you a processing fee for filing the SR-22.
- Verify minimum liability coverage. If you’re insured, call your provider to make sure your policy includes Utah’s minimum insurance:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person.
- $65,000 maximum per incident.
- $15,000 for damage to another person’s property.
You may see this listed as 25/65/15 on your insurance documents.
- Submit your SR-22. In Utah, typically your insurance provider will electronically file your SR22 on your behalf.
Compare SR-22 car insurance in Utah
Find the best rates from insurance providers near you or learn more about state minimums and other requirements in the comprehensive guide to Utah car insurance.
How long will I need an SR-22 for in Utah?
Utah has strict laws around driving. You could be required to carry SR-22 insurance for as little as three years, but some repeat offenders are sentenced to keep SR-22 certification for life.
What happens if I let my SR-22 lapse?
A lapse in SR-22 certification can result in your license being suspended. To reinstate your license after a lapse you’ll need to renew your policy and pay any reinstatement and court fees.
Your insurance provider is required to notify the state if your policy is canceled for any reason. Missing payments consistently and failing to renew can both cause a lapse.
Do I need SR-22 insurance in Utah?
An SR-22 is proof of future financial responsibility. It’s a form that demonstrates you have a car insurance policy that meets Utah’s minimum auto insurance requirements.
Your state DMV will let you know if you need to file an SR-22. Utah law may require you to file an SR-22 if:
- You’re convicted of a DWI or reckless driving.
- You’re involved in multiple accidents.
- You’re issued multiple speeding tickets.
What if I don’t have a car or a license?
You’ll still be required to file an SR-22 even if you don’t own a car if you intend to get behind the wheel. In this case you’ll need to purchase non-owner auto insurance and file an SR-22 before your license can be reinstated.
What if I’m from another state?
If you have an SR-22 from another state, you must maintain it while driving in Utah. Your SR-22 is likely to be sufficient in Utah, but it’s best to verify coverage with the DMV and your insurer.
What happens when I don’t need SR-22 coverage anymore?
You may want to contact your local DMV and your insurer before making any changes to your policy. You’ll be able to find out if your mandate has completely cleared and any additional steps you may need to take.
You’re responsible for maintaining your insurance and, by extension, your SR-22 coverage. Talk with your insurance agent if you’re unclear on what those responsibilities entail. Keeping ahead of the curve during your filing period can help minimize additional costs and lessen your chances of getting another suspension.
Shop around and compare providers before settling on a policy. High premiums may follow you after your filing period, but you may still be able to find a good deal that fits your budget.
More guides on Finder
What is health insurance cost sharing?
Learn cost-sharing terms to find out how much you’ll really pay for healthcare.
Lemonade life insurance review
This fintech just branched out into low-cost life insurance — but its lineup is limited.
Compare disability insurance riders
Learn which short- and long-term add-ons are free and why others might be worth the extra cost.
What to expect from the Target 14 Days of Beauty sale
Get all the details on Target’s 14 Days of Beauty sale. And find some hacks on how to stretch your dollar and stack the savings.
Lucira Health COVID-19 test kit review
The first at-home rapid test offers results in 11 minutes — find out how to buy it.
How to get rid of Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI)
Smart strategies that homeowners can use to get rid of Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI).
How to use life insurance to pay for retirement
A permanent life insurance policy’s cash value can be used as a retirement income supplement, though using it reduces your policy’s death benefit.
Compare garage door installation services
Plus, 6 questions to ask to find the right professional for the job.
What’s in the second stimulus package for COVID-19 relief?
Find out who’s getting checks, unemployment benefits, student loan relief and more.
Get a new smile in as little as six months with SmileDirectClub. Learn about treatment, costs and whether it’s covered by health insurance.
Ask an Expert