We value our editorial independence, basing our comparison results, content and reviews on objective analysis without bias. But we may receive compensation when you click links on our site. Learn more about how we make money from our partners.
Compare SR-22 insurance in Texas
Get cheap SR-22 insurance in Texas
If you’ve had your driver’s license suspended in Texas, you might be required to file an SR-22 to get back behind the wheel. An SR-22 insurance policy means your insurance company sends a form to the Texas DMV verifying your policy complies with Texas’ minimum liability insurance requirements.
Why do I have to file an SR-22 in Texas?
Your state DMV will let you know if you need to file an SR-22. Texas law might require you to file an SR-22 if:
- You’re convicted of a DUI or reckless driving.
- You’ve had multiple accidents or speeding tickets.
What if I don’t have a car or license?
If you don’t own a car, you’re still required to file a Texas non-owner SR-22 and car insurance before you can get your license back.
What if I’m from another state?
If you have an SR-22 from another state, you must maintain it while driving in Texas. Your SR-22 is likely to be sufficient in Texas, but it’s best to verify coverage with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) and your insurer.
- Affordable coverage
- Instant online access
- SR-22 support
Our pick for SR-22 drivers: The General
Basic, affordable coverage for almost any driver, including drivers with past claims or SR-22.
- Affordable coverage
- High risk drivers okay
- Instant online access
- Available in 46 states
Compare Texas SR-22 car insurance
Find the best rates from insurance providers near you or learn more about state minimums and other requirements in the comprehensive guide to Texas insurance.
How much does an SR-22 cost?
Once you’ve purchased or renewed an insurance policy, most providers will charge a fee for filing the SR-22 — usually $20 to $50. It’s not the filing fee that’s most expensive when you’re required to file an SR-22 — you’ll typically see higher premiums than you’re used to. Talk to your provider about how much you can expect your rates to increase.
The impact of an SR-22 on future car insurance ratesSR-22s are often required after a driving conviction, such as driving without insurance or a DUI. After such a conviction, you’re considered a “high-risk” driver by the state and most providers — which typically results in higher insurance rates. Still, you’ll find providers out there that specialize in high-risk drivers.
Talk to your provider about how much you can expect your rates to increase.
Companies that offer SR-22 car insurance in Texas
Not every insurer offers SR-22 filing support. Compare cheap rates from Texas insurance companies that offer SR-22 insurance. Your actual quotes will vary based on your demographics, location, driving record and other factors.
How do I file an SR-22 in Texas?
- Find an insurer. Ask your insurer if it’s authorized to issue SR-22s in the state of Texas. If not, find a provider that is.
- Pay the SR-22 fee. Your insurer will charge you a processing fee for filing the SR-22.
- Verify minimum liability coverage. The minimum coverage amounts required by Texas law are:
- $30,000 for injury or death of one person.
- $60,000 for injury or death to more than one person.
- $25,000 damage to property.
- Submit your SR-22. In Texas, your insurance provider will file the SR-22 on your behalf.
- Wait for confirmation. You’ll receive a letter from your insurer and the State of Texas that your SR-22 is accepted.
How long will I need an SR-22 for in Texas?
In Texas you’re usually required to carry SR-22 for at least two years, depending on your offense.
What happens if I let my SR-22 lapse?
Your insurer is obligated to notify the state as soon as your coverage ends for any reason. Cancellation due to missed payments, failure to renew or simply canceling on your own terms will be reported. If you don’t hold your SR-22 certification for the entire length of the filing period may result in fees, your license being suspended again and your mandate “resetting.”
For example, if you’re one year into your two-year filing period and have a lapse in insurance, you’ll be required to hold your SR-22 certification for another two years instead of just one. Make sure you understand your role in maintaining your insurance and SR-22.
What happens when I don’t need SR-22 coverage anymore?
Due to the consequences of a lapse in coverage, it’s important to be sure you’re clear of your SR-22 filing period before cancelling or changing your policy. You can contact the DPS to confirm your mandate is finished.
A call to your insurance agent can help move you in the right direction once you’ve established you no longer need SR-22 coverage.
You can limit the cost of your SR-22 filing period by staying on top of your certification. Renew your policy early, pay your premiums on time and drive well within the limits of the law to make the process as smooth as possible.
A hike in your premiums doesn’t necessarily have to spell the end for your wallet, either. Compare your options and shop around to find a deal that works for your budget and gives you the coverage you need.
Read more on this topic
Compare carshare car insurance Make sure the free insurance offered by carshare services is enough protection for you.
Compare car insurance for self-employed drivers Self-employed drivers need to balance getting the best rates with protecting their business.
Compare Allstate car insurance discounts You could save well over 30% by taking advantage of Allstate’s numerous car insurance discounts.
Compare Liberty Mutual car insurance discounts Save extra money with Liberty Mutual by taking advantage of its numerous car insurance discounts.
Which gas should you use in your car? When should you use regular, premium or E85 gas? And what if you use the wrong kind?
How does car insurance cover additional drivers? Insurance should cover drivers listed on your policy, but double-check how your company handles unnamed drivers.
Compare car insurance with accidental death benefits An accidental death benefits rider can help cover funeral expenses after a fatal car accident.
Does driver assist technology affect car insurance? Driver assist technology won’t discount your insurance premium, but it could save your life.
Ferrari LaFerrari car insurance rates You can expect to pay a lot to buy — and insure — this hybrid hypercar from Ferrari.
Compare car insurance for Zipcar drivers Zipcar provides basic insurance, but frequent drivers may want to consider additional coverage.
Ask an Expert