We value our editorial independence, basing our comparison results, content and reviews on objective analysis without bias. But we may receive compensation when you click links on our site. Learn more about how we make money from our partners.
Compare SR-22 insurance in Tennessee
Get cheap SR-22 insurance in Tennessee
If your Tennessee driver’s license has been suspended, you might be required to file an SR-22 before you can get your license back. An SR-22 is proof of future financial responsibility and shows that you have liability car insurance that meets Tennessee’s minimum requirements. Here’s a look at how to get and maintain an SR-22 in Tennessee.
How do I file an SR-22 in Tennessee?
- Find an insurer. Ask your insurer if it’s authorized to issue SR-22s in the state of Tennessee. If not, find a provider that is.
- Pay the SR-22 fee. Your insurer will charge you a processing fee to file the SR-22.
- Verify minimum liability coverage. The minimum limits of liability insurance in Tennessee are 25/50/15. If you’re already insured, make sure your policy includes at least:
- $25,000 for injury or death of one person.
- $50,000 for injury or death of more than one person.
- $15,000 for property damage.
- Submit your SR-22. In Tennessee, your insurance provider will electronically file the SR-22 on your behalf. Always verify that it’s been sent.
- Wait for confirmation. You’ll receive a letter from your insurer and the Tennessee Secretary of State that your SR-22 is accepted.
- Affordable coverage
- Instant online access
- SR-22 support
Our pick for SR-22 drivers: The General
Basic, affordable coverage for almost any driver, including drivers with past claims or SR-22.
- Affordable coverage
- High risk drivers okay
- Instant online access
- Available in 46 states
Compare Tennessee SR-22 car insurance providers
Find the best rates from insurance providers near you or learn more about state minimums and other requirements in the comprehensive guide to Tennessee car insurance.
When would I need an SR-22 in Tennessee?
Your state DMV will let you know if you need to file an SR-22. Tennessee law may require you to file an SR-22 if:
- You’ve been charged with DUI or reckless driving
- You’ve been involved in multiple accidents
- You’ve been issued multiple speeding tickets
What if I don’t have a car or a license?
In most states, you’ll still be required to file an SR-22 to get your license back, even if you don’t own a car. To get behind the wheel in Tennessee without a car, look into non-owner car insurance.
What if I’m from another state?
If you have an SR-22 from another state, you must maintain it while driving in Tennessee. Your SR-22 is likely sufficient in Tennessee, but it’s best to verify coverage with your county Driver Services Center (DSC) and insurer.
How much does a Tennessee SR-22 cost?
Once you purchased or renewed an insurance plan, most providers charged a fee of $20 to $50 for filing an SR-22. But it’s not the filing fee that’s expensive when you’re required to file an SR-22 — you’ll see higher premiums than you’re used to.
The impact of an SR-22 on your car insurance rates
SR-22s are often required after a driving conviction, such as driving without insurance or a DUI. After such a conviction, you’re considered a “high-risk” driver by Tennessee and most providers — which typically results in higher insurance rates. Still, you’ll find providers out there that specialize in high-risk drivers.
Talk to your provider about how much you can expect your rates to increase, and make sure you understand your role in maintaining your insurance and your SR-22. A lapse or nonrenewal could set you back a lot of money and time.
Tennessee SR-22 car insurance quotes
Not every insurer offers SR-22 filing support. Compare cheap rates from Tennessee insurance companies that offer SR-22 insurance. Your actual quotes will vary based on your demographics, location, driving record and other factors.
How long does Tennessee require an SR-22 for?
In Tennessee, you may be required to keep an SR-22 on file for up to five years from the date your license was suspended. If you go without incident for the first three of five years without incident, you may be able to get the SR-22 canceled early.
What happens if I let my SR-22 lapse?
Failure to maintain an SR-22 for the entire length of your mandate could lead to paying fines of up to $300, your car being towed and license suspension. The state may also prevent you from renewing your vehicle registration if the SR-22 requirement isn’t met.
What happens when I don’t need SR-22 coverage anymore?
Once your mandated filing period is over, it’s wise to call the Department of Safety (DOS) to confirm no further action is needed before you switch policies. After you get the green light from the DOS, you can contact your insurance agent and figure out the next steps for changing your plan.
You’re fully in charge of keeping your SR-22 certification in line. Renew your insurance before it expires, keep on top of premium payments and drive within the law during your filing period to keep it as short as possible.
Compare providers to find the best deal. Your options may not be completely limited just because you have a mark on your record.
Read more on this topic
Noblr car insurance review Noblr car insurance offers monthly premium discounts based on your safe driving habits.
Compare carshare car insurance Make sure the free insurance offered by carshare services is enough protection for you.
Compare car insurance for self-employed drivers Self-employed drivers need to balance getting the best rates with protecting their business.
Compare Allstate car insurance discounts You could save well over 30% by taking advantage of Allstate’s numerous car insurance discounts.
Compare Liberty Mutual car insurance discounts Save extra money with Liberty Mutual by taking advantage of its numerous car insurance discounts.
Which gas should you use in your car? When should you use regular, premium or E85 gas? And what if you use the wrong kind?
How does car insurance cover additional drivers? Insurance should cover drivers listed on your policy, but double-check how your company handles unnamed drivers.
Compare car insurance with accidental death benefits An accidental death benefits rider can help cover funeral expenses after a fatal car accident.
Does driver assist technology affect car insurance? Driver assist technology won’t discount your insurance premium, but it could save your life.
Ferrari LaFerrari car insurance rates You can expect to pay a lot to buy — and insure — this hybrid hypercar from Ferrari.
Ask an Expert