We value our editorial independence, basing our comparison results, content and reviews on objective analysis without bias. But we may receive compensation when you click links on our site. Learn more about how we make money from our partners.
Filing for SR-22 insurance in Rhode Island
Get cheap SR-22 insurance in Rhode Island
If you’ve run into trouble while behind the wheel in Rhode Island, you might be required to file for SR-22 insurance to get your license back. Here’s what you need to know about obtaining and maintaining an SR-22 in Rhode Island.
Do I need SR-22 insurance in Rhode Island?
Your state DMV will let you know if you need to file an SR-22. Rhode Island law may require you to file an SR-22 if:
- You’re convicted of DUI or reckless driving.
- You refuse a breathalyzer.
- You’ve been involved in multiple accidents.
What if I don’t have a car or a license?
If you want to drive you still need an SR–22 — it covers you, not your car. Whether you own a car or not, you’re required to file an SR-22 to reinstate your license. Look into a non-owner insurance policy and file a non-owner SR-22.
What if I’m from another state?
Whether you’re visiting or have recently moved to Rhode Island, you need to maintain your SR-22 if you plan to hit the road.
- Affordable coverage
- Instant online access
- SR-22 support
Our top pick: The General
Basic, affordable coverage for almost any driver, including drivers with past claims or SR-22.
- Affordable coverage
- High risk drivers okay
- Instant online access
- Available in 46 states
Compare Rhode Island SR-22 car insurance
Find the best rates from insurance providers in Rhode Island. Learn more about state minimums and other requirements in the comprehensive guide to Rhode Island car insurance.
How much does SR-22 insurance cost?
Insurance providers typically charge $20 to $50 for filing an SR-22 on your behalf. But it’s not the filing fee that’s most expensive when you’re required to file an SR-22 — you’ll also typically see higher premiums than you’re used to.
How an SR-22 can affect your future car insurance rates
SR-22s are often required after a driving conviction, such as reckless driving or a DUI. After such a conviction, you’re considered a high risk driver by Rhode Island and most providers — resulting in higher insurance rates. Still, you’ll find providers out there that specialize in high-risk drivers.
Talk to your provider about how much you can expect your rates to increase.
Cheap SR-22 car insurance in Rhode Island
Not every insurer offers SR-22 filing support. Compare cheap rates from Rhode Island insurance companies that offer SR-22 insurance. Your actual quotes will vary based on your demographics, location, driving record and other factors.
How do I file for an SR-22 in Rhode Island?
- Find an insurer. Ask your insurer if it issues SR-22s in the state of Rhode Island. If it doesn’t, you’ll need to find a car insurance company that does.
- Pay the SR-22 fee. Your insurer will charge you a minimal processing fee for filing the SR-22 on your behalf.
- Verify minimum liability coverage. If you’re already insured, call your provider to confirm your policy includes at least:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability.
- $50,000 property damage liability.
- $25,000 uninsured/underinsured bodily injury.
These are the minimum coverage requirements for the state of Rhode Island that you might see listed as 25/50/25 on insurance documents.
- Submit your SR-22. Your insurance provider can electronically file the SR-22 on your behalf.
How long will I need an SR-22?
In Rhode Island the amount of time you have to maintain your SR-22 depends on your conviction, but it’s typically two to three years.
What happens if I let my SR-22 lapse?
A gap in your insurance will be reported to the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), and your license may be suspended again. You must get your license reinstated before the time on your SR-22 filing period is started.
For example, if you’re two years into your filing period and your license gets suspended from a lapse in coverage, the remaining one year can’t be finished out until your license is reinstated.
What happens when I don’t need SR-22 coverage anymore?
At the end of your mandated filing period you’ll need to respond to the DMV Adjudication Office. The SR-22 won’t be released until you’ve been cleared by the DMV. Once you get your clearance you can contact your insurance provider about next steps concerning your policy.
You’re in control when it comes to getting through the SR-22 filing period. To keep everything above board renew your policy early, make your payments on time and drive safely within the law.
You’ll likely face higher insurance rates even after the mandate is up, but finding a provider that offers the coverage you need doesn’t necessarily mean cleaning out your wallet completely. Compare your options and look for the policy that has rates you can afford and the protection you need.
Read more on this topic
Compare carshare car insurance Make sure the free insurance offered by carshare services is enough protection for you.
Compare car insurance for self-employed drivers Self-employed drivers need to balance getting the best rates with protecting their business.
Compare Allstate car insurance discounts You could save well over 30% by taking advantage of Allstate’s numerous car insurance discounts.
Compare Liberty Mutual car insurance discounts Save extra money with Liberty Mutual by taking advantage of its numerous car insurance discounts.
Which gas should you use in your car? When should you use regular, premium or E85 gas? And what if you use the wrong kind?
How does car insurance cover additional drivers? Insurance should cover drivers listed on your policy, but double-check how your company handles unnamed drivers.
Compare car insurance with accidental death benefits An accidental death benefits rider can help cover funeral expenses after a fatal car accident.
Does driver assist technology affect car insurance? Driver assist technology won’t discount your insurance premium, but it could save your life.
Ferrari LaFerrari car insurance rates You can expect to pay a lot to buy — and insure — this hybrid hypercar from Ferrari.
Compare car insurance for Zipcar drivers Zipcar provides basic insurance, but frequent drivers may want to consider additional coverage.
Ask an Expert