How to get the best car insurance in Ohio
One way to tackle the question of car insurance is by first knowing your state’s minimum requirements. From there, you can price out additional protection.
Compare Ohio’s minimum coverage requirements, driving laws and how to get cheap car insurance in Ohio.
Car insurance quick facts
Minimum liability requirements
- Top-rated insurer
- Online quotes & claims
- Bundle and save
Our top pick: Progressive
Save up to 31% with safe driver discounts and bundling all your rides in one convenient policy.
- Top-rated insurer with 80 years of experience
- Easy online sign-up and reporting
- Multiple discounts available
- Transparent quoting
Compare Ohio car insurance
Most popular Ohio auto insurance companies list
|Company||Direct premiums written (billions)||Market share|
Average car insurance costs in Ohio
Ohio’s average for car insurance costs is between $900 and $1,000 annually. It’s one of the cheapest states in the country to buy auto insurance, which is a far cry from its neighbor Michigan — Michigan is almost always the most expensive state for this coverage, year over year. And for reference, the average across all 50 states is right around $1,200 a year.
Because individual car insurance policies are affected by so many outside policies, you could still end up paying significantly more or less than your state’s average. It’s typically a good idea to analyze these factors to see how they might be affecting your rates.
Cheapest car insurance in Ohio
What affects my car insurance rates?
Your car insurance rates are typically affected by several factors.
- Age. If you’re younger than 25 or older than 70, you can expect to pay more for your coverage than the ages in between. This is because out of all age demographics, accident risk is highest among drivers between 16 and 19, and slowly lowers through the mid-30s.
- Type of car. A Toyota Corolla might not have the same curb appeal as a Porsche, but it’s far cheaper to insure, maintain and fill up with fuel than an imported roadster.
- Driving record. If you’ve only been driving for a few years, or if you have any serious black marks in your driving history, most insurers will charge you more for coverage. The same goes for other drivers on your policy.
- Location. Rural drivers typically pay less for car insurance than people who live and commute in high traffic or urban areas. This is because in the country, risks or theft, vandalism and multi-vehicle accidents are far lower, meaning rural drivers are less likely overall to file claims.
- Gender. In most states, women could pay 5-15% less for car insurance, especially under the age of 25. This is because men are statistically more likely to get into accidents, far more likely to drive under the influence of alcohol and less likely to wear their seat belt.
- Marital status. Married people are seen as more stable, both financially and otherwise, and statistics show that married people are less likely to get into accidents or file insurance claims than single people.
- Typical driving habits. Do you have a lengthy commute every day of the week? Do you put on more miles per week than the average driver? These kinds of things can help or hurt your chance of getting a great rate. If you never drive more than 50 or 100 miles in a week, tell your insurer and see if this can get you a lower rate.
Ohio car insurance requirements
In Ohio, it’s mandatory to carry liability coverage for bodily injury and property damage. When you’re shopping for insurance, you’ll see this coverage listed as 25/50/25.
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 property damage per accident
What optional coverage should I consider in Ohio?
Some states require drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance (UM/UIM). Ohio isn’t one of those states. Tto best protect yourself and your property, you may need to look beyond liability coverage to include:
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance. Offers protection if you’re hit by someone with insufficient or no insurance.
- Collision. Pays for damage to your vehicle after an accident.
- Comprehensive. Covers damage from something other than an accident — like a fire or vandalism.
- Medical. Helps cover medical expenses caused by an accident, no matter who’s at fault.
- Rental reimbursement. Pays you back for car rental costs if you need one after an accident.
- Emergency roadside assistance. Provides towing and a number to call if you’re stranded on the road.
Uninsured drivers statistics in Ohio
Even though it’s illegal to drive without insurance, people do it every day. The national average of uninsured motorists is 12.6% — or just below Ohio’s average 13.5% who drive uninsured. With this mind, you may want to add uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance protection to your policy, even though the state doesn’t require it.
Drunk driving laws in Ohio
Like all states, Ohio prohibits driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If you’re caught driving with a BAC over the legal limit of .08%, you’re likely to face fines, a driver’s license suspension and even some jail time.
|1st Offense||2nd Offense||3rd Offense||4th Offense|
|Jail||3 days-6 months||10 days-12 months||1-12 months||2-12 months|
|Fines and penalties||$250-$1,000||$350-$1,500||$350-$1,500||$800-$10,000|
|License suspension||6 months to 3 years||1-5 years||1-10 years||3 years minimum or permanent|
Should I ever refuse a chemical test in Ohio?
As scary as it is to be pulled over by the cops, you probably shouldn’t refuse a portable breath test or field sobriety test. Most lawyers will tell you that refusing, as the law states, will get you into trouble.
Beyond that, the PBT or field sobriety test isn’t the one that will be used in court if you’re charged with a DUI or DWI. Officers will usually administer a more controlled and precise breath test or blood test for results that justify booking you.
|Refusal to take test||1st Offense||2nd Offense||3rd Offense|
|License suspension||1 year||2 years||3 years|
What should I do after an accident in Ohio?
No matter how small, a car accident is traumatic and can leave you feeling shaken up. It’s best to prepare with a clear plan of action to make the aftermath a bit less chaotic.
1. Safety first. Check on everyone involved in the accident, and call 911 if anyone is hurt.
2. Report the accident. Call your provider to let them know you were in an accident. They’ll walk you through the information they need for the claim.
3. Document the scene. Gather as much information as possible from the scene. Take pictures from multiple angles, talk to witness and collect the names of all responders.
4. Exchange information. Don’t leave the scene without the information you need to make your claim, including the names, contact info and insurance details for all other drivers. Also note the make, model, year, and color of vehicles involved in the accident.
When talking with others, don’t admit responsibility for the accident. Your claim could be denied if you suggest the accident was your fault.
Who’s at fault after an accident?
Ohio is a tort state, meaning the person who’s at fault for an accident is liable for any property damage and bodily harm in an accident. If the at-fault driver is insured, their insurance should pay out up to the policy’s limit.
- If you’re at fault and injured, your health insurance or additional medical coverage on your auto insurance should cover your injuries.
- If the other driver is at fault and you’re injured, you may receive help with your medical bills though their liability coverage.
There are 12 no-fault states, and Ohio is bordered by three of them: Pennsylvania, Michigan and Kentucky. When crossing state lines, be aware that driving rules could differ.
What if I’m caught without insurance in Ohio?
If you’re caught driving without insurance in Ohio, you face penalties that include:
- Your license could be suspended. The state will suspend your license until you can pay the fine and prove you have insurance. Subsequent violations can come with loss of your license for up to three years.
- Your car could be impounded. You’ll lose your registration and license plates and pay from $100 to $600 to get them reinstated.
To get your license back, you must show proof of insurance or financial responsibility. You’ll typically need to apply for high-risk coverage and file an SR-22 for three to five years.
How to report an accident in Ohio
If you’re involved in an accident in Ohio and nobody is injured, you’re not required to call the police.
If the accident results in injuries, death or more than $400 in damages, you’re required to report the accident. Responding police officers will complete an accident report on your behalf.
If you’re hit by an uninsured driver, you have six months to file a crash report with the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
Ohio requires liability coverage, but it could be worth it to carry more than the minimum to protect yourself and other drivers on the road. For the best coverage at the lowest prices, review your options with a variety of car insurance providers before making a decision.
Frequently asked questions about Ohio car insurance
Which car insurance provider is best for me?
Looking to save on car insurance? Answer these three questions to find a provider that best fits your needs and budget.
Question 1 of 2
Based on your answers, check out: