We value our editorial independence, basing our comparison results, content and reviews on objective analysis without bias. But we may receive compensation when you click links on our site. Learn more about how we make money from our partners.
How to file for an SR-22 in Missouri
Get cheap SR-22 insurance in Missouri
If you’ve had your driver’s license suspended in Missouri, you might be required to file for SR-22 insurance to get your license back. Here’s what you need to know about getting and maintaining an SR-22 in Missouri.
Cheap SR-22 car insurance in Missouri
Not every insurer offers SR-22 filing support. Compare cheap rates from Missouri insurance companies that offer SR-22 insurance. Your actual quotes will vary based on your demographics, location, driving record and other factors.
- Save 3-8% for switching
- High risk drivers welcome
- Minimum & SR-22 coverage
Our top pick: SafeAuto
High-risk drivers can find no-frills policy at a decent price with multiple payment options.
- Supports high-risk policyholders
- Many discounts available
- Multiple payment options including money transfers
Compare Missouri SR-22 car insurance
Find the best rates from insurance providers near you or learn more about state minimums and other requirements in the comprehensive guide to Missouri car insurance.
When would I have to file an SR-22 in Missouri?
Your state DMV will let you know if you need to file an SR-22. You might be required by law to file an SR-22 if:
- You’re caught of driving without insurance.
- You’ve failed to pay damages from an accident that was your fault.
- You’re caught showing false insurance to a police officer.
- You’re convicted of driving while intoxicated.
What if I don’t have a car?
If you don’t own a car, but still plan on driving, you still must file an SR-22. In Missouri there are three kinds of SR-22 certificates:
- Operator’s Certificate for drivers who don’t own a car.
- Owner’s Certificate covers drivers who own a car.
- Operators-Owners Certificate covers drivers for any car they drive.
What if I’m from another state?
If you have an SR-22 from another state, it may be valid in Missouri. Call the Department of Revenue to see if your SR-22 is sufficient in Missouri.
How much does an SR-22 cost in Missouri?
Once you’ve purchased or renewed your policy, most providers will file the SR-22 for a fee between $20 and $50. However, the filing fee isn’t the expensive part of an SR-22 — you’ll typically see higher premiums than you’re used to. Talk to your provider about how much you can expect your rates to increase. Make sure you understand your role in maintaining your insurance and your SR-22. A lapse or nonrenewal could cost you a lot of time and money.
The impact of an SR-22 on your car insurance ratesSR-22s are often required after a driving conviction, such as driving without insurance or a DWI. After such a conviction, you’re considered a “high-risk” driver by the state of Missouri and most providers — typically resulting in higher insurance rates. Still, you’ll find providers out there that specialize in high-risk drivers.
Talk to your provider about how much you can expect your rates to increase.
Make sure you understand your role in maintaining your insurance and your SR-22. A lapse or nonrenewal could cost you a lot of time and money.
Steps to file for an SR-22 in Missouri
- Find an insurer. Ask your insurer if it issues SR-22s in the state of Missouri. If it doesn’t, you’ll need to find a car insurance company that does.
- Pay the SR-22 fee. Your insurer will charge you a processing fee for filing the SR-22.
- Verify minimum liability coverage. The minimum level of coverage required by Missouri law is:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury.
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury.
- $10,000 per accident for property.
You might see listed as 25/50/10 in insurance documents.
- Submit your SR-22. In Missouri, your insurance provider can file the SR-22 electronically on your behalf.
- Wait for confirmation. You’ll receive a letter from your insurer and the Missouri DMV that your SR-22 is accepted.
How long will I need an SR-22 for in Missouri?
In Missouri, you’re required to carry SR-22 insurance for a minimum of two to three years, depending on your offense.
What happens if I let my SR-22 lapse?
Your license will likely be suspended if your coverage lapses for any reason. Gaps in coverage can occur if you policy expires or your provider cancels your policy because of consistently late payments.
Any reinstatement fees will have to be paid and your coverage will need to be renewed for you to earn your license back.
What happens when I don’t need SR-22 coverage anymore?
Contact the Missouri Driver License Bureau to confirm that you no longer need a certification on file. Once you’re given the all clear you can work with your insurance agent to adjust your policy as needed.
Two to three years of keeping an SR-22 on file is likely a lot less of a hassle than a suspended license. It doesn’t have to be overly intensive either, so long as you keep up on your payments and renew your policy on time every year.
Before you jump on board with a provider, shop around. Your rates will likely be higher after being marked as high risk, so it’s important to compare your options.
Read more on this topic
Noblr car insurance review Noblr car insurance offers monthly premium discounts based on your safe driving habits.
Compare carshare car insurance Make sure the free insurance offered by carshare services is enough protection for you.
Compare car insurance for self-employed drivers Self-employed drivers need to balance getting the best rates with protecting their business.
Compare Allstate car insurance discounts You could save well over 30% by taking advantage of Allstate’s numerous car insurance discounts.
Compare Liberty Mutual car insurance discounts Save extra money with Liberty Mutual by taking advantage of its numerous car insurance discounts.
Which gas should you use in your car? When should you use regular, premium or E85 gas? And what if you use the wrong kind?
How does car insurance cover additional drivers? Insurance should cover drivers listed on your policy, but double-check how your company handles unnamed drivers.
Compare car insurance with accidental death benefits An accidental death benefits rider can help cover funeral expenses after a fatal car accident.
Does driver assist technology affect car insurance? Driver assist technology won’t discount your insurance premium, but it could save your life.
Ferrari LaFerrari car insurance rates You can expect to pay a lot to buy — and insure — this hybrid hypercar from Ferrari.
Ask an Expert