How to get cheap car insurance in Kentucky
Kentucky drivers will pay about the national average for car insurance, but drivers in big cities like Lexington could expect to pay more.
Car insurance quick facts
Minimum liability requirements
- Top-rated insurer
- Online quotes & claims
- Bundle and save
Our top pick: Progressive
Save up to 31% with safe driver discounts and bundling all your rides in one convenient policy.
- Top-rated insurer with 80 years of experience
- Easy online sign-up and reporting
- Multiple discounts available
- Transparent quoting
Compare Kentucky car insurance
Most popular Kentucky auto insurance companies list
|Company||Direct premiums written (billions)||Market share|
|Kentucky Farm Bureau||$602,620||18.9%|
|Auto-Owners Insurance Co.||$61,335||1.9%|
Average car insurance costs in Kentucky
Landing above the national average but not by much, Kentucky drivers pay an average of $1,300-1,400 per year for auto insurance coverage. This means if you’re over 25 and you don’t have any serious black marks on your driving record, you can probably expect an annual rate in that ballpark.
However, because car insurance is affected by so many outside factors, you could still end up paying significantly more or less for your car insurance.
Cheapest car insurance rates in Kentucky
|Company||Average annual rate||Learn more|
|Kentucky Farm Bureau||$600|
Car insurance requirements in Kentucky
To fulfill Kentucky’s requirement in order to drive, your car insurance needs to include at the minimum:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person.
- $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident.
- $10,000 property damage liability coverage per incident.
If you’re shopping for car insurance, you’ll sometimes see this written as 25/50/10.
Additionally, you’ll also need to purchase $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP). It is a requirement in Kentucky for all car insurance policies to include PIP. However, you have the right to decline no-fault coverage — just waive your right to this policy in writing and submit it to the Kentucky Department of Insurance.
Uninsured motorists coverage protects you if you get into a car accident with someone who is at fault for the accident but doesn’t carry insurance. Some states require that you carry this type of insurance — Kentucky doesn’t.
Additional options are available if you want to supplement your car insurance, such as:
- Collision. Helps pay for damages caused by crashes.
- Comprehensive. Helps pay for damages caused by non-collision events, such as fire, weather, and theft.
What happens if I’m driving in Kentucky and I don’t have insurance?
- First offense. Your first offense may result in $500–$1000 in fines, 90 days of jail time, a one year suspension on your vehicle’s registration (or until proof of insurance is submitted) and $40 to reinstate your vehicle.
- Second and subsequent offenses. After that, $1,000–$2,500 in fines, 180 days of jail time, a one to two year suspension on your vehicle’s registration, $40 fee to reinstate your vehicle, proof of a new insurance policy and retaking driving exams if your license is suspended for over a year.
Uninsured drivers in Kentucky
Even though it’s required to have car insurance in Kentucky, 16% of Kentucky drivers do not have an insurance policy — this is a lot higher than the 12.6% national average. To protect yourself against uninsured drivers, consider adding uninsured or underinsured motorist insurance to your insurance package to protect yourself against future harm.
Can I get temporary insurance?
Yes, you can. You might need coverage for a short period for a borrowed car or rental car. It’s perfectly legal to purchase short term car insurance for less than six months, but most insurance companies won’t offer this option.
Your best option might be to call your current insurance provider or an online provider to find out your options. You can also find a policy that lets you cancel for no or low fees, and transfer to a more long term option when you’re ready.
Drunk driving laws in Kentucky
|1st Offense||2nd Offense||3rd Offense|
|Jail||None||5 days||60 days|
|Fines and Penalties||$600 to $2,100||$1,100 to $5,100||$2,100 to $10,000|
|License Suspension||90 days||1 year||3 years|
Aggravated DUI laws
Kentucky also has laws addressing aggravated DUIs — basically, a drunk driving incident where serious damage was done or there was very high risk of damage. These offenses carry much more severe penalties. Some examples of aggravated DUI circumstances:
- Driving 30 MPH over limit
- Driving the wrong way on divided highway or access ramp
- Causing an accident that resulted in injury or death
- BAC is 0.18% or higher
- Refusing to take DUI tests
- Passengers in vehicle under the age of 12
What happens after a car accident?
No matter how big or small the car accident, do your best to stay calm. Follow these steps to make sure that you’re protecting yourself and your passengers.
- Safety first. Make sure that everyone is safe from danger. If there is anyone seriously hurt or in a dangerous situation, contact 911 or the police immediately.
- Exchange information. Take down information about the drivers involved like name, contact information, driver’s license number, car types, insurance, and address of the crash.
- Notify your insurance agent. The insurance agent will walk you through the next steps to file your claim.
- Document the scene. Take as much information as you can by taking photos of the damage from all angles.
Who’s at fault after an accident?
Kentucky is a no-fault state. So, you’ll need to purchase no-fault coverage if you want to drive in Kentucky. This package means that it will cover the costs of all people involved in the accident, regardless of who is at fault.
When should I report an accident to the authorities?
If the accident results in death, injury or over $500 in property damage, you need to report the incident to the Kentucky State Police (KSP). The investigating officer will ask you to provide information to file the report. Keep in mind that you’re legally required to provide this information.
Make sure that you own a suitable insurance package for you, your car and lifestyle. Keep in mind that Kentucky has a particularly high uninsured drivers rate, so research your options and see what car insurance plan is in your best interest.
To learn more, from state regulations to the best discounts and coverage, visit our comprehensive guide to car insurance.
Frequently asked questions about car insurance in Kentucky
Which car insurance provider is best for me?
Looking to save on car insurance? Answer these three questions to find a provider that best fits your needs and budget.
Question 1 of 2
Based on your answers, check out: