If you get in trouble while driving in Kansas, you could be ordered by the court to file for an SR-22. Commonly called “SR-22 insurance,” an SR-22 isn’t insurance at all. Rather, it’s a document your insurance company files with the state to prove you’re covered by the minimum car insurance required to legally drive. Compare how you can get and maintain an SR-22 in Kansas.
What's in this guide?
- How much does an SR-22 cost in Kansas?
- How do I file an SR-22 in Kansas?
- Compare Kansas SR-22 car insurance
- How long will I need an SR-22?
- What happens if I let my SR-22 lapse?
- Do I need SR-22 insurance in Kansas?
- What if I don’t have a car or license?
- What if I’m from another state?
- Companies that offer SR-22 car insurance in Kansas
- What happens when I don't need SR-22 coverage anymore?
- Bottom line
How much does an SR-22 cost in Kansas?
Once you’ve purchased or renewed a policy, most providers will file an SR-22 for a fee of $20 to $50.
But it’s not the fee that’s most expensive when you file for an SR-22: You’ll also typically see higher premiums than you’re used to.
The impact of an SR-22 on your car insurance rates
SR-22s are often required after a driving conviction, such as driving without insurance or a DUI conviction. With such severe convictions on your driving record, you’re considered a “high risk” driver by the state and most providers.
Talk to your provider about how much you can expect your rates to increase. And make sure you understand your role in maintaining your insurance and your SR-22. A lapse or nonrenewal could set you back a lot of money and time.
How do I file an SR-22 in Kansas?
- Find an insurer. Ask your insurer if it issues SR-22s in the state of Kansas. If it doesn’t, you’ll need to find a car insurance company that does.
- Pay the SR-22 fee. To finalize your SR-22, you pay a fee to your insurer for processing the request and filing on your behalf.
- Verify minimum liability coverage. If you’re already insured, call your provider to verify your policy includes at least:
- $25,000 for injury or death to one person.
- $50,000 for injury or death to more than one person.
- $10,000 for damage to property.
You might see this minimum coverage listed as 25/50/10 in insurance documents.
- Submit your SR-22. Your insurance agent will file your SR-22 with the Kansas Department of Motor Vehicles.
- Wait for confirmation. You’ll receive a letter from your insurer that your SR-22 is accepted, which means you’re back in action.
Compare Kansas SR-22 car insurance
Find the best rates from insurance providers near you or learn more about state minimums and other requirements in the comprehensive guide to Kansas car insurance.
How long will I need an SR-22?
In Kansas, most court-ordered SR-22s result in a coverage requirement of three years.
What happens if I let my SR-22 lapse?
Continuous coverage is required for 12 months, and interruptions can occur from expiration, not filing on time or even canceling your original SR-22 coverage before your new insurer sends the certification to the DMV stating you meet the minimum insurance requirements.
Originally a lapse in your SR-22 coverage would only mean a suspension of your license and subsequent additional payment of the reinstatement fee. The state of Kansas has since reinterpreted the statute and you’ll be faced with restarting your filing requirement on top of the suspension.
Do I need SR-22 insurance in Kansas?
Your state DMV will let you know if you need to file an SR-22. In Kansas, you may need to file for an SR-22 if:
- Your license is suspended due to a safety-responsibility violation or unsatisfied judgment.
- You’re convicted of a DUI.
- You refuse to take a breathalyzer test.
- You’re found driving without insurance.
- The state restricts or revokes your license.
- You’re under mandatory insurance supervision.
What if I don’t have a car or license?
You’ll still need to file for an SR-22 to legally get behind the wheel in Kansas. If you lose your license because you’re caught driving without insurance, the court could order you to carry non-owner insurance to reinstate your license.
What if I’m from another state?
If you have an SR-22 from another state, you must maintain it while driving in Kansas. Your SR-22 is likely to be sufficient in Kansas, but to avoid any problems, contact the DMV and your insurer to confirm.
What happens when I don’t need SR-22 coverage anymore?
No longer needing your SR-22 coverage is a freeing feeling, but there are some important steps to take before you abandon your current plan. First confirm with your local DMV that you’re completely out of your filing period. From there talk with your insurance agent about the best next steps for you to take.
Maintaining coverage and staying on top of your filing for the entirety of your mandated period is entirely your responsibility, and it can be a frustrating one if you’re not careful. Stay on top of your premium payments, be careful if you’re switching plans during the filing period and maintain a clean driving record to avoid having to start from square one.
You’re more than likely going to face increased premiums, so it’s especially important that you compare your options. Take your time and look for the insurer that can give you the coverage you need at a price you can afford.
More guides on Finder
How much does umbrella insurance cost?
Get a low-cost policy for liability expenses that exceed your car or home insurance coverage.
Best umbrella insurance
Receive extra liability coverage with an umbrella policy from these top insurers, though they may require you to have car insurance through them.
Most dangerous roads in the USA
Do you drive on one of the 30 most dangerous interstates, highways and state routes?
Guardian vision insurance review May 2021
Get a generous allowance to put towards contact lenses or frames with this plan.
How to start a cleaning business
From making a business plan and getting insurance to marketing and setting your prices — here’s how to start your own cleaning business.
Guardian dental insurance review 2021
This insurer has four dental plans to choose from — compare costs and features now.
What is health insurance cost sharing?
Learn cost-sharing terms to find out how much you’ll really pay for healthcare.
Lemonade life insurance review
This fintech just branched out into low-cost life insurance — but its lineup is limited.
Compare teledermatology options
Get the skincare you need without taking a trip into your doctor’s office.
Compare life insurance wellness programs
Get an incentive to meet your existing health and fitness goals with a discounted premium.
Ask an Expert