How to get cheap car insurance in Indiana
Indiana car insurance is affordable, with low minimums and less traffic than other states, but watch out for strict drunk driving laws.
- Top-rated insurer
- Online quotes & claims
- Bundle and save
Our top pick: Progressive
Save up to 31% with safe driver discounts and bundling all your rides in one convenient policy.
- Top-rated insurer with 80 years of experience
- Easy online sign-up and reporting
- Multiple discounts available
- Transparent quoting
Compare Indiana car insurance
Most popular Indiana auto insurance companies list
|Company||Direct premiums written (billions)||Market share|
|Indiana Farm Bureau||$286,088||7.3%|
|Auto-Owners Insurance Co.||$108,614||2.8%|
Car insurance quick facts
Minimum liability requirements
Cheap car insurance in Indiana
Car insurance costs vary by state, city and ZIP code. Indiana sits slightly below the average cost for car insurance nationwide at around $93 a month or $1,112 a year. This is lower than the national average of $118 a month or $1,410 a year.
Factors that can influence your insurance cost include your driving record, your age and your car. Location-based factors can come into play as well, like crime rates where you live or work. If you live near a city, you could expect rates to go up too, since accidents are more common in cities than in rural areas.
Cheapest car insurance rates in Indiana
|Company||Average annual rate||Learn more|
Car insurance requirements in Indiana
In order to legally drive in Indiana, you’ll need minimum liability insurance, including:
- $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per per+son.
- $50,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per accident.
- $10,000 in property damage liability coverage per accident.
When shopping for car insurance, you’ll sometimes see this written as 25/50/10.
When it comes to uninsured motorists coverage — which protects you in the event of an accident with someone who doesn’t have insurance — Indiana is an opt-out state. That means that Indiana insurance companies are required to offer you UIM insurance, but you can sign a waiver to opt out of carrying it.
You can also get additional types of insurance to better protect yourself, including:
- Collision. Helps pay for repairs if your car is damaged in an accident.
- Comprehensive. Covers you in case your car is damaged by something other than an accident — for instance, a fire or vandalism.
- Rental car. Helps you manage the financial fallout of car repairs.
- Loan/lease gap coverage. If your car is completely totalled in a car accident, loan/lease gap coverage will pay the difference between what you owe on your car and what it’s worth at the time of an accident.
- Medical payments. Assists in paying for medical bills incurred as a result of a car accident.
- Emergency roadside service. Covers towing or labor costs caused by an accident.
- Custom equipment. Helps pay for the cost of custom equipment on the vehicle that was damaged in an accident.
What happens if I’m driving in Indiana and I don’t have insurance?
If you drive in indiana and are found without insurance, your license will be suspended for at least 90 days. Any subsequent suspensions within a three-year period will led to an additional year suspension.
You’ll also be entered into the Previously Uninsured Motorist Registry (PUMR) for five years. While your name is in the PUMR, you can be randomly selected to provide proof of your insurance at any time.
Can I get temporary car insurance in Indiana?
Yes, you can. You might need coverage for a short period for a borrowed car or rental car. It’s perfectly legal to purchase short term car insurance for less than six months, but most insurance companies won’t offer this option.
Your best option might be to call your current insurance provider or an online provider to find out your options. You can also find a policy that lets you cancel for no or low fees, and transfer to a more long term option when you’re ready.
Uninsured drivers in Indiana
The state of Indiana requires that all of its drivers have insurance. However, it’s estimated that 14.2% of Indiana drivers are uninsured – that’s just above the 12.6% national average.
To protect yourself from damages in a car accident, consider adding uninsured or underinsured motorist insurance to your policy.
Drunk driving laws in Indiana
Indiana’s legal limits of intoxication are the same as every other state in the country — 0.08% for normal drivers, and 0.04% for anyone driving commercially. However, some of Indiana’s fines and penalties are unique to the state.
- Fees and court costs: Minimum $300.
- Fines: Maximum $5,000.
- Imprisonment: Maximum 1 year.
- License suspension: 2 years.
- Submit to alcohol and/or drug testing.
- Required to attend a substance abuse education course & victim impact panel
With each offense your penalties and suspensions increase, with a whopping 10-year suspension if you have a third offense within 10 years. And if you have two drunk driving incidents within 10 years resulting in injury or death, you’ll lose your license for life.
Additionally, Indiana has common consent laws that apply to chemical testing when a police officer thinks you might have been drinking. This means you legally have the right to refuse a roadside alcohol sensor test, otherwise known as a breathalyzer, but by refusing you’re likely to have your license suspended for up to 2 years. And with this law, it doesn’t matter what the test would have shown; your refusal, on principal, will get you in trouble.
SR-22 insurance in Indiana
Yes, you can. You might need an SR-22 in Indiana if you’ve gotten a DUI, lost your license or have too many violation points on your driving record. SR-22 tells the state you have the minimum coverage required to get back behind the wheel.
What happens after a car accident in Indiana?
Even if you’re shaken or dazed after a car accident, it’s important that you take some steps to protect yourself from unnecessary worries.
- Safety first. Check that no one involved in the accident has been injured. If someone has been injured, call 911 right away. If everyone is fine, try to move your vehicle so it won’t block the road. Even if no one is injured, it’s a good idea to call the local police and inform them of what’s happened.
- Exchange information. Write down the full names, car make and model and insurance information of the people involved in the accident. Don’t forget to include their addresses and driver’s license numbers in your notes.
- Notify your insurance agent. Call your insurance company before you leave the scene. They’ll be able to help guide you through more specific next steps. If you have questions about the accident, your insurance agent should be a good resource.
- Document the scene. Take pictures of the scene, paying special attention to capturing multiple angles of where the damage occurred. Take down the names of police officers and any potential witnesses to better protect your claim.
Who’s at fault after an accident?
Indiana is an at-fault, or tort, state. That means that if you’re found to be at fault for an accident, you’re required to pay for the damages, including any potential medical bills to those injured. Victims have the right to further pursue compensation for lost wages and any “pain and suffering” caused by the accident.
When should I report an accident to the authorities in Indiana?
Indiana state requirements for reporting accidents to authorities vary a lot based off of your specific situation. For example, if you damage someone’s unattended vehicle and can’t find them to give them your insurance information, you must call the police. If you’re unsure of the steps you should take, it’s usually a good idea to call your local police just to be safe. Failure to report certain accidents to the proper authorities can lead to license suspension, and even felony charges.
When will I need a certificate of compliance?
A Certificate of Compliance means that you’ve met your financial responsibility for owning a car. You’ll need to provide one if:
- The Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) receives an accident report for an accident in which you were involved.
- You’ve been issued a traffic ticket within one year of previously receiving two moving violations or more.
- You’ve committed a serious traffic violation.
- You’ve committed any traffic violation when your license was previously suspended for not providing proof of insurance.
When any of these situations occur, the BMV will send a request for proof of car insurance to your home. You will then need to contact your insurance agent to submit the certificate to prove you were insured (or the vehicle was insured) at the time of the accident. The certificate needs to be electronically submitted within 40 days of the date you receive the request from the BMV. Otherwise, you may face suspension of your Indiana driver’s license.
Carrying auto insurance protects you, your family and fellow drivers. Research your insurance options to make sure that you’re receiving the coverage that you need — and that your state requires.
As always, to get the best coverage possible at a great rate, we recommend comparing your options and shopping around. To learn more about car insurance in general, from discounts to regulations, visit our comprehensive car insurance guide.
Frequently asked questions about car insurance in Indiana
Which car insurance provider is best for me?
Looking to save on car insurance? Answer these three questions to find a provider that best fits your needs and budget.
Question 1 of 2
Based on your answers, check out: