An SR-22 is proof of financial responsibility — a document issued by an insurance company verifying you have valid insurance coverage that meets your state minimum. The form is also an agreement with the state that your provider will notify the Idaho Transportation Department (ITD) if you cancel your insurance coverage. This form must be filed before your license is reinstated.
What's in this guide?
- Do I need SR-22 insurance in Idaho?
- What if I don’t have a car or a license?
- What if I’m from another state?
- Compare Idaho SR-22 car insurance
- How much does an SR-22 cost in Idaho?
- Companies that offer SR-22 car insurance in Idaho
- How do I file for an SR-22 in Idaho?
- How long will I need an SR-22 for in Idaho?
- Bottom line
Do I need SR-22 insurance in Idaho?
Your state DMV will let you know if you need to file an SR-22. Idaho law may require you to file an SR-22 if:
- You’re found driving without insurance.
- You’re convicted of reckless driving.
- You’re convicted of a DUI.
- You’ve acquired too many points on your driving record.
- The state restricts or revokes your license.
What if I don’t have a car or a license?
In most states, you’re still required to file an SR-22 even if you don’t own a car if you want to get your license reinstated. In this case, you’d purchase a non-owner or operator insurance policy.
What if I’m from another state?
If you have an SR-22 from another state, you must maintain it while driving in Idaho. Your SR-22 is likely to be sufficient in Idaho, but it’s best to verify coverage with the ITD and your insurer.
Compare Idaho SR-22 car insurance
Find the best rates from insurance providers near you or learn more about state minimums and other requirements in the comprehensive guide to Idaho car insurance.
How much does an SR-22 cost in Idaho?
The fee your provider will charge for filing the SR-22 is typically $20 to $50. Though it’s not the filing fee that’s most expensive when you’re required to file an SR-22 — you’ll also typically see higher premiums than you’re used to.
When you’re required to file an SR-22, it’s often linked to a driving conviction. DUIs, collisions that are deemed your responsibility and driving without insurance are all convictions that put you in the “high-risk” category of drivers.
Insurance providers tend to take extra precautions when it comes to high-risk drivers. You may need to pay your premiums for the year upfront in one lump sum rather than monthly or bi-yearly. Talk to your provider about how much you can expect your rates to increase.
How do I file for an SR-22 in Idaho?
To file for an SR-22 in Idaho, first contact your existing car insurance provider. If you don’t have one, search for a provider that offers to file on your behalf.
- Notify your insurer. If you already have car insurance, contact your agent and advise them that you need to file an SR-22. Most providers are equipped to file this form.
- Find an insurer. Not all providers will insure someone who’s required to file an SR-22. If yours doesn’t offer this service, find one that does.
- Pay the SR-22 filing fee. Your insurer will charge you a processing fee for filing the SR-22.
Verify minimum liability coverage. Call your provider to make sure your policy includes at least:
- $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person.
- $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more people.
- $15,000 for injury to or destruction of property.
- Submit your SR-22. In Idaho, your insurance provider will electronically file the SR22 on your behalf. As for proof of a successful filing before you get back behind the wheel.
How long will I need an SR-22 for in Idaho?
In Idaho, how long you’ll need to maintain your SR-22 depends on why you were required to file the SR-22 in the first place.
For example, if your license is suspended as a result of failing to provide insurance, the amount of time you’ll need file an SR-22 coincides with the length of time your driver’s license was suspended.
Make sure you understand your role in maintaining your insurance and your SR-22. A lapse or nonrenewal could set you back a lot of money and time.
What happens if I let my SR-22 insurance lapse?
Your insurance provider is required to file an SR-26 with the ITD in the event that your insurance expires or is canceled. Once the SR-26 is received your license will be suspended and you’ll have to reset your filing period.
As an example, if you consistently make late payments and your insurer cancels your coverage two years into your three year mandate, you’ll have to maintain your SR-22 for another three years instead of just one more.
What happens when I don’t need SR-22 coverage anymore?
Once you’ve gotten through your entire filling period you’ll be able to switch things up if you need or want to. Be sure that you no longer need the SR-22 insurance by checking with the ITD and your insurance, then simply go about finding a plan that works for you.
In order to get your license reinstated you’re going to have to get SR-22 coverage. Whether that’s as a car owner or not, it’s probably going to be more than a little costly when it comes to insurance premiums.
Talk to your insurance agent about what those costs might be. Don’t hesitate to shop around and compare your options to get the deal that’s best for you and your wallet.
More guides on Finder
Denied life insurance
Learn the common health reasons that lead to denials and how to get life insurance anyway.
How to get life insurance as a freelancer
As a freelancer you may have unpredictable cashflow, but you can still find income protection with term life insurance.
Debt relief resources in California
California’s licensing requirements make it easy to find a legit company. Here’s how.
Asbestos and home insurance
Learn when your home insurance policy would and wouldn’t pay to remove this building material.
Car insurance for drivers 25 to 40 years old
Take advantage of the lowest minimum coverage rates by earning all the discounts you can.
How does Open Enrollment work?
Find out when you can enroll in health insurance for 2021, and compare policies.
How much will I get from disability insurance?
Disability insurance typically pays out between 40% and 80% of your income, but will depend on the type of policy you have.
People are still dying after more than 6 years of Takata recalls – are you at risk?
Know your rights if your car has defective Takata air bags, and learn how to find your car’s manufacturer recalls.
It’s too late to insure for Hurricane Delta, but here’s what to do instead
With landfall expected Friday, know what your current policy covers and how to get federal government disaster relief.
Ask an Expert