Car insurance in Delaware
Minimum requirements and how to get cheap auto insurance in Delaware
Minimum requirements and how to get cheap auto insurance in Delaware
Enter your ZIP code and click Compare to see the best insurance rates in your area.
When you’re looking into car insurance, balance your needs with your budget. You’ll also need to consider your state’s requirements for coverage.
If you’re driving in Delaware, you’re legally required to carry liability insurance and keep proof of current insurance and vehicle registration in your car at all times. Nearly all states require registered drivers to carry specified minimum liability insurance. And if you’re financing or leasing your car, you could be required to buy additional collision and comprehensive coverage as part of your finance agreement.
Best mobile experience
Best customer service
Answer 3 quick questions to see the best insurance providers for you.
With the average annual cost of car insurance hovering around the $1,400 mark, or about $116 a month, Delaware isn’t one of the cheaper places in the country to insure a vehicle. However, as in any state, your actual insurance costs could end up significantly higher or lower than this average depending on factors like your driving record, your age, the kind of car you drive and whether you rent or own your residence.
Yes, it can. Separate studies by the University of Texas and the Federal Trade Commission both show correlation between poor credit scores and elevated accident risk. Because of these findings, insurance providers throughout most of the US will factor your credit score into their calculation of your insurance costs.
It’s worth noting the practice of using credit score to determine car insurance rates is prohibited in California, Hawaii, and Massachusetts. But in the other 47 US states, providers are allowed to use these numbers to justify higher (or lower) rates.
To legally drive in Delaware, you’ll need liability insurance that includes:
If you’re shopping for car insurance, you’ll sometimes see this written as 15/30/10.
You’re also required to carry personal injury protection (PIP), which pays for the medical costs incurred because of an accident, regardless of who caused it. It will also pay up to $5,000 for funeral expenses. At minimum, you must carry:
Some states require that you carry uninsured or underinsured motorist’s coverage (UM/UIM), which protects you if you’re in an accident caused by an uninsured driver. Delaware does not require this, although many Delaware car insurance companies offer it.
Because liability insurance and personal injury protection might not fully cover you in an emergency, you could be offered additional insurance options that include:
If you get caught driving in Delaware without car insurance, you’ll face serious consequences.
Driving with proof of your car insurance is required by law. On top of all of the fines you’ll incur, if you get caught driving without insurance multiple times, you could lose your driving privileges.
Delaware drivers are legally required to have insurance, but not everyone follows that law. About 11.5% of Delaware drivers drive without car insurance — which is below the 12.6% national average — thanks to those harsh insurance penalties.
Nevertheless, 11.5% still means a lot of people are driving around uninsured, which can be dangerous for you and your passengers. It’s a good idea to consider adding uninsured or underinsured motorist insurance to your policy.
Yes, you can. You might need coverage for a short period for a borrowed car or rental car. It’s perfectly legal to purchase short term car insurance for less than six months, but most insurance companies won’t offer this option.
Your best option might be to call your current insurance provider or an online provider to find out your options. You can also find a policy that lets you cancel for no or low fees, and transfer to a more long term option when you’re ready.
Delaware allows you to deposit $40,000 with the state rather than purchasing an insurance policy. While this might make sense for some, it’s generally not recommended because of the massive costs that can be incurred if a serious accident does happen. Without insurance, you could find that deposit wiped out in an instant, and possibly end up owing even more.
Car insurance companies have the right to turn away whomever they want based on their driving history. Fortunately, Delaware has a policy that ensures all drivers can get insurance — if you’ve been turned down by two insurance companies, you can apply for the Delaware Automobile Insurance Plan and get the coverage you legally need.
Keep in mind that while insurance plans like this can be expensive, it’s still less expensive than the fines you’d face if you’re caught without car insurance. However, if you’re worried about the cost, shop around and compare your options before applying for this plan.
Like all states in the US, Delaware has a BAC limit of 0.08% for all nonprofessional drivers, as well as a 0.04% BAC limit for commercial drivers. If your BAC is over the limit when you get pulled over, penalties are severe, and can include:
First offense: Jail for up to six months, fines of $500-1,500, license suspension of 12-24 months.
Second offense: Jail for two months up to 18 months, fines of $750-2,500, license suspension for 24-30 months, and possible requirement of ignition interlock device (IID) after license suspension is complete.
Third offense: Jail for one to two years, fines of $1,500-5,000, license suspension for 24-36 months, and possible requirement of IID after license suspension is complete.
Fourth offense: Jail for two to five years, fines of $3,000 to $7,000, license suspension for 60 months (five years), IID possibly required after 48 months of license suspension is completed.
Further drunk driving incidents beyond the fourth conviction are considered felonies; consequences at that level range up into the tens of thousands of dollars in fines, plus multiple years in prison.
Yes, you can. You might need an SR-22 if you’ve gotten a DUI, lost your license or have too many violation points on your driving record. SR-22 tells the state you have the minimum coverage required to get back behind the wheel.
Accidents, even small ones, can leave you shaken, afraid and unsure how to proceed. If you’ve been in an accident, stay calm and follow these steps.
Delaware requires no-fault coverage, although it is typically referred to as “personal injury protection insurance.” This form of insurance covers the medical expenses and lost wages of the people involved in the accident, regardless of who is at fault.
This differs from other states, which have at-fault (or “tort”) coverage. Tort coverage means that if you’re found to be at fault for an accident, you’re required to pay for the damages, including any potential medical bills to those injured.
You may have to report your recent car accident to Delaware authorities. If you’re in a minor fender bender, you usually don’t need to file a report. However, if you’re in an accident that results in injury or death to anyone, if the crash occurs on a public highway and causes damages higher than $500 or if the drivers involved in the accident appear to be intoxicated from alcohol or drugs or impaired for some other reason, you’ll need to file a report.
To report this type of accident to the authorities, call or walk into your local police station and tell them what happened. They’ll be able to guide you from there.
If you plan on driving in Delaware, make sure that your car insurance fulfills all your state’s requirements — and that it’s a good fit for you too. Compare all your car insurance options and shop around before choosing an insurance policy.
finder.com is an independent comparison platform and information service that aims to provide you with the tools you need to make better decisions. While we are independent, we may receive compensation from our partners for placement of their products or services. We may also receive compensation if you click on certain links posted on our site. While compensation arrangements may affect the order, position or placement of product information, it doesn't influence our assessment of those products. Please don't interpret the order in which products appear on our Site as any endorsement or recommendation from us. finder.com compares a wide range of products, providers and services but we don't provide information on all available products, providers or services. Please appreciate that there may be other options available to you than the products, providers or services covered by our service.