Car insurance by state

Compare car insurance policies and costs in your state.

Last updated:

Finder is committed to editorial independence. While we receive compensation when you click links to partners, they do not influence our opinions or reviews. Learn how we make money.

Car insurance requirements are governed by each state. Nearly all states require registered drivers to carry specified minimum liability insurance. And if you’re financing or leasing your car, you could be required to buy additional collision and comprehensive coverage as part of your finance agreement.

Find the best car insurance in your state

Compare insurance in your city

Get rates, requirements and driving tips with car insurance guides by city.

Compare insurance providers

Name Product Roadside assistance New car protection Accident forgiveness Safe driver discount Available states
Progressive
Optional
30%
All 50 states
Progressive lets you instantly compare online quotes with multiple car insurers to see if Progressive really has the lowest rates for you.
The AARP Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford
Optional
Yes
All 50 states & DC
Enjoy exclusive savings and benefits designed for experienced drivers over the age of 49.
Gabi
Optional
Optional
55%
All 50 states
Upload your current bill and get 20+ quotes from top brands for the same level of coverage.
Clearcover
Optional
Yes
AZ, CA, IL, TX, UT
Find basic coverage and low rates through its easy online or app-based experience.
Metromile
Optional
49%
AZ, CA, IL, NJ, OR, PA, VA, WA
Pay-as-you-go rates based on how much and how well you drive start at $29/month plus pennies per mile.
Assurance
Optional
Yes
All states except AK & HI
Your broker is your one-stop shop for comparing any coverage you need.
loading

Compare up to 4 providers

Car insurance rates by state

While the average price of car insurance in the US is about $1,200, that number changes drastically based on your location. This is due to a number of factors, including the differences in each state’s coverage minimums.

What are the cheapest states for car insurance?

Midwestern states often have the cheapest rates, including Ohio, South Dakota, Iowa and Nebraska. Expect annual rates close to $1,000, depending on other driver factors. These states don’t have a lot of big cities, which means lower rates of car accidents.

What are the most expensive states?

Michigan consistently tops the list for priciest auto insurance at over $2,000 a year on average. That’s because the state’s no-fault laws are unique, and each driver’s policy pays for their damages, regardless of fault in an accident.

Other pricey states include Florida and California, which have high populations and, as a result, high risks for car accidents.

StateAverage annual car insurance rate
Alabama$1,400
Alaska$1,560
Arizona$1,300
Arkansas$1,400
California$1,698
Colorado$1,450
Connecticut$1,100
Delaware$1,100
Florida$1,800
Georgia$1,450
Hawaii$1,350
Idaho$1,410
Illinois$1,250
Indiana$1,112
Iowa$1,100
Kansas$1,250
Kentucky$1,400
Louisiana$1,300
Maine$1,300
Maryland$1,500
Massachusetts$1,300
Michigan$2,200
Minnesota$1,300
Mississippi$1,200
Missouri$1,300
Montana$1,200
Nebraska$1,100
Nevada$1,400
New Hampshire$1,200
New Jersey$1,400
New Mexico$1,200
New York$1,300
North Carolina$1,300
North Dakota$1,350
Ohio$1,000
Oklahoma$1,500
Oregon$1,300
Pennsylvania$1,300
Rhode Island$1,800
South Carolina$1,300
South Dakota$1,050
Tennessee$1,300
Texas$1,500
Utah$1,300
Vermont$1,300
Virginia$1,250
Washington$1,200
Washington, DC$1,300
West Virginia$1,350
Wisconsin$1,300
Wyoming$1,500

Get the cheapest quotes

Compare car insurance companies near you.

Your information is secure.

Which states don’t require car insurance?

You’ll have to take financial responsibility if you’re on the road one way or another. But if you don’t want car insurance, 32 states offer a legal alternative to car insurance. You can get self-insured auto insurance by depositing cash or posting a bond with your state, typically to the tune of several thousands of dollars. You might also have to be able to pay for the treatment and property damage of the other driver upfront.

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Lousiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Bottom line

Your policy requirements will vary depending on where you live and how you purchased your vehicle. Compare car insurance prices, policy requirements and laws by state to find the best car insurance for you.

Read more on this topic

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder.com provides guides and information on a range of products and services. Because our content is not financial advice, we suggest talking with a professional before you make any decision.

By submitting your comment or question, you agree to our Privacy and Cookies Policy and Terms of Use.

Questions and responses on finder.com are not provided, paid for or otherwise endorsed by any bank or brand. These banks and brands are not responsible for ensuring that comments are answered or accurate.
Go to site