If you’ve gotten into trouble behind the wheel in Arkansas, you might be required to show proof of insurance. In some states this is done with an SR-22 form.
What's in this guide?
- How much does an SR-22 cost in Arkansas?
- How do I file an SR-22 in Arkansas?
- Compare Arkansas SR-22 car insurance
- When would I have to file an SR-22 in Arkansas?
- How does an SR-22 in Arkansas affect my car insurance rates?
- How long will I need an SR-22 in Arkansas?
- Cheap SR-22 car insurance in Arkansas
How much does an SR-22 cost in Arkansas?
The fee for filing the SR-22 varies by insurer, usually $20 to $50. But it’s not the filing fee that’s most expensive — you’ll typically see higher premiums than you’re used to.
How do I file an SR-22 in Arkansas?
- Find an insurer. Ask your insurer if it issues SR-22s in the state of Arkansas. If it doesn’t, you’ll need to find a car insurance company that does.
- Pay the SR-22 fee. Your insurer will charge you a processing fee for filing the SR-22 on your behalf.
- Verify minimum liability coverage.
- Submit your SR-22. In Arkansas, your insurance provider can electronically file the SR-22 on your behalf.
- Wait for confirmation. You’ll receive a letter from your insurer and the the state of Arkansas that your SR-22 is accepted.
The minimum amount of car insurance that you must carry in Arkansas is 25/50/25:
- $25,000 for injury or death of one person
- $50,000 for injury or death of more than one person
- $25,000 for property damage
Compare Arkansas SR-22 car insurance
Find the best rates from insurance providers near you or learn more about state minimums for Arkansas car insurance.
When would I have to file an SR-22 in Arkansas?
Your state DMV will let you know if you need to file an SR-22. You might have to file an SR-22 in Arkansas if:
- You’re convicted for DUI or reckless driving
- You’re involved in multiple accidents
- You’re caught driving without insurance
How does an SR-22 in Arkansas affect my car insurance rates?
Keep your SR-22 updated to avoid longer and more costly penalties. A lapse or non-renewal could cost you time and money.
SR-22s are often required after a driving conviction, such as driving without insurance or a DUI. After such a conviction, you’re considered a “high risk” driver by Arkansas and most providers — which typically results in higher insurance rates. Still, you’ll find providers out there that specialize in high-risk drivers.
Talk to your provider about how much you can expect your rates to increase.
How long will I need an SR-22 in Arkansas?
Make sure you understand your role in maintaining your insurance and your SR-22.
In Arkansas, the typical amount of time you may be required to keep an SR-22 on file is three years, depending on your conviction.
Can I get nonowner SR-22 insurance in Arkansas?
If you don’t own a car and you still want to drive, you’ll need an SR-22. Ask you insurance provider about non-owner or an operator insurance policy.
Do I need an SR-22 in Arkansas if I’m from another state?
If you have an SR-22 from another state, you’ll have to maintain it while driving in Arkansas. It’s likely sufficient in Arkansas, but verify coverage with Arkansas Driver Services and your insurer.
More guides on Finder
Lemonade life insurance review
This fintech just branched out into low-cost life insurance — but its lineup is limited.
Drivers aren’t seeing 100% of insurance savings while claims are down — Are more serious accidents to blame?
Preliminary data on fatal accidents and driving behavior could explain why drivers haven’t seen higher insurance refunds.
Electric vehicles in 2021: How new models, insurance rates and tax breaks affect their cost to own
See average EV insurance rates for 2021 based on Finder’s car model research, plus new models on the horizon.
Get a new smile in as little as six months with SmileDirectClub. Learn about treatment, costs and whether it’s covered by health insurance.
How to separate your finances during divorce
Ways to protect your assets and what you need to know about marital debt.
Compare full coverage vs. liability car insurance
Which type of car insurance policy fits your car and driving needs?
VPN by Google One review
Google has rolled out its own virtual private network, called VPN by Google One. If you’re thinking about signing up, here’s what you need to know.
Should you let Amazon deliver goods inside your garage?
While it’s incredibly convenient, you’ll need the right tech to be eligible for this service.
Car insurance for drivers 25 to 40 years old
Take advantage of the lowest minimum coverage rates by earning all the discounts you can.
Ask an Expert