Car insurance in Arkansas
Minimum requirements and how to get cheap auto insurance in Arkansas
Minimum requirements and how to get cheap auto insurance in Arkansas
Enter your ZIP code and click Compare to see the best insurance rates in your area.
Car insurance plans can sometimes cover you for a lot more than you need. Ever wonder what the absolute minimum insurance requirement was for you? Car insurance is determined by each state individually, so there can be a lot of variation in minimum requirements.
Nearly all states require drivers to have some level of auto insurance, just in case. However, each state can have its own tricky requirements, and it can be hard to know what exactly you need. Plus, if you’re financing or leasing your car, you could face additional coverage requirements.
Keep in mind that in Arkansas you’re required by law to have proof of car insurance and vehicle registration every time you drive. Failure to provide proof of insurance at even a routine traffic stop can result in a $25 fine. You can provide proof of insurance using your insurer ID card, which you can have a hard version of or can provide on any smart device to prove your coverage.
Best mobile experience
Best customer service
Answer 3 quick questions to see the best insurance providers for you.
Arkansas ranks above average for annual car insurance costs, typically ranging from $1,100 to $1,400 a year. If you’re looking to buy auto insurance in Arkansas, it’s reasonable to expect your rates to fall within this range.
However, because car insurance costs are known to vary so much between different drivers and different insurance providers, you could end up paying significantly more or less than that range. This is because your individual insurance rates are based on a whole host of factors, which can include:
In order to drive legally in Arkansas, you’ll need liability insurance that includes:
When shopping for car insurance, you may see these liabilities written as 25/50/25.
Some states require that you have uninsured or underinsured motorists coverage, meaning that if you get in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, your insurance will still protect you. Arkansas is an opt-out state, so while insurance companies are required to offer you this coverage, you have the option to actively opt out. If you choose to opt out and get in an accident, your insurance company will usually pay for some of your bills.
In addition to fulfilling the minimum state requirements, it’s usually a good idea to get additional coverage to better protect yourself in case of an accident. Most car insurance companies in Arkansas also offer:
While every driver in Arkansas must have insurance, Arkansas insurance companies are able to deny coverage to any driver they feel is too high-risk. If that happens to you, you can apply for the Arkansas Automobile Insurance Plan through any car insurance agent in Arkansas – all Arkansas insurance companies are required to participate in this plan. However, the company you originally apply with might assign you to a different provider for a better fit.
It’s against the law to drive uninsured in Arkansas. In fact, all 50 states have laws requiring a car insurance minimum before you can legally hit the road. Despite these laws and the punishments for breaking them, there are always some drivers who try to get away with less than the legal minimum for auto insurance. In Arkansas, those drivers are estimated to make up as much as 17% of all drivers on the road, which is above average; the estimated national average of uninsured or underinsured drivers is 13%, or approximately one in eight motorists.
Because of these statistics, you may want to add uninsured or underinsured motorists coverage to your policy, which ensures you’re still covered even if you collide with someone who isn’t. This kind of coverage usually isn’t free to add to a policy, but having that peace of mind could be worth the additional cost.
In Arkansas, there’s really no alternative to having auto insurance. If you can’t afford any of the conventional options, or if you’re being denied coverage because insurance providers consider you too high of a risk to insure, you can apply to the Arkansas Automobile Insurance Plan (AAIP). The AAIP is a state-sponsored network of insurance providers that are legally bound to give coverage to anyone who applies.
Some states allow for a surety bond or cash deposit to be filed with the DMV in lieu of a car insurance policy. The bond or deposit is meant to serve in place of liability coverage should an accident occur. However, Arkansas is not one of the states that allows this. To hit the road in Arkansas, you’ll need to purchase a policy through a conventional provider or else through a program like AAIP.
If you’re caught driving without the proper auto insurance coverage in Arkansas, you’ll face a fine of $50-250 for your first
It’s perfectly legal to purchase short term car insurance for less than six months, but most insurance companies won’t offer this option.
Shop around with various providers to get the best rate on your temporary coverage. You may also be able to find a conventional policy that lets you cancel early at little or no additional cost, and transfer to a more standard insurance plan when you’re ready.
While most of the driving laws in Arkansas are fairly standard, there are a few you’ll want to make note of before you hit the road.
The great state of Arkansas also has a law that states you cannot honk your horn outside a restaurant after 9pm, but that might not be as important as the regulations outlined above. Before driving through any unfamiliar state, it’s a good idea to know about any laws or circumstantial regulations that could apply to you.
It used to be the case that the BAC limit might differ from one state to the next, but all states currently have their limit set at 0.08% for non-commercial drivers. Professional drivers, typically defined as those operating trucks over 7,000 pounds or carrying paying passengers, are limited to a BAC of 0.04%. As in most states, repeat DUI or DWI offenders in Arkansas face more severe consequences each time they are caught.
You might need an SR-22 if you’ve gotten a DUI, lost your license or have too many points on your driving record. An SR-22 tells the state you have the minimum coverage required to get back behind the wheel.
A car accident can leave you shaken and traumatized, making it difficult to handle something like an insurance claim. If you’re able to address
If you’re a resident in Arkansas and plan on driving, you should remember that Arkansas is an “at-fault” state, meaning that whoever caused the car accident is responsible for paying for all the damages to property and person (if necessary).
Some car accidents will require that you report it to the DFA using the Motor Vehicle Accident Report. You’ll need to do this if the damage to property exceeds $1000 or if the accident results in injury or death. You’ll need to submit this form within 30 days of the accident, even if you weren’t found at-fault for the crash.
To report a car accident in Arkansas you should:
Failure to report an accident to the DFA can result in a suspended license.
If you live, work or are registered to vote in Arkansas, you’ll need car insurance in order to safely drive. Make sure you research your insurance options before choosing what plan will best fulfill your state’s requirements – and your personal ones, too.
finder.com is an independent comparison platform and information service that aims to provide you with the tools you need to make better decisions. While we are independent, we may receive compensation from our partners for placement of their products or services. We may also receive compensation if you click on certain links posted on our site. While compensation arrangements may affect the order, position or placement of product information, it doesn't influence our assessment of those products. Please don't interpret the order in which products appear on our Site as any endorsement or recommendation from us. finder.com compares a wide range of products, providers and services but we don't provide information on all available products, providers or services. Please appreciate that there may be other options available to you than the products, providers or services covered by our service.