Car insurance in Arizona
Minimum requirements and how to get cheap auto insurance in Arizona
Minimum requirements and how to get cheap auto insurance in Arizona
Enter your ZIP code and click Compare to see the best insurance rates in your area.
Think the level of insurance you’re required to carry in your state is the same as the policies your friends are required for theirs? Unlike immigration laws, which are federally mandated, car insurance requirements are governed by the states themselves.
If you plan to drive in Arizona, you’re not technically required to carry liability insurance. But if you decide against it, your alternative is to assign a certificate of deposit in the amount of $40,000 to Office of the Arizona State Treasurer. Not such a hard decision, is it?
When driving in the Grand Canyon State, you must keep proof of your car insurance in your car while driving. State law also allows you to present a digital version of your ID on your phone or tablet to prove coverage.
Nearly all states require registered drivers to carry specified minimum liability insurance. And if you’re financing or leasing your car, you could be required to buy additional collision and comprehensive coverage as part of your finance agreement.
Best mobile experience
Best customer service
If you live in Arizona, you can expect to pay about the average cost nationwide. Your individual cost is likely to range between $1,000 and $1,300 annually, according to rates quoted for a single man between 30 and 35 years old.
While it’s likely your costs will fall within that average range, a whole host of factors could play into the equation, giving you a much higher or lower rate than what the average driver in Arizona pays.
State minimum requirements for car insurance vary by state. You can’t legally drive in Arizona unless you carry liability insurance that includes at least:
When shopping for car insurance, you may see these liability limits written as 15/30/10.
A few states mandate that its drivers carry uninsured/underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage, which protects a driver if they’re involved in an accident with another driver that isn’t adequately covered by an car insurance policy. Arizona is not one of those states.
Because liability insurance does not cover potential damages to your car or your personal injuries, most car insurance providers in Arizona offer optional coverage that includes:
Many drivers purchase additional coverage beyond the state minimums to protect themselves and their vehicles. Insurance companies in the state of Arizona also offer:
Since all 50 US states and Washington, D.C. require you to carry proof of insurance when you drive, you’ll face some consequences if you’re caught without it in Arizona. The state’s penalty for driving without car insurance is a fine of at least $250 for your first offense; you could also face a license suspension of three months.
In spite of the law stating you must be insured to drive, an estimated 20% or more of Arizona’s drivers don’t carry the legal minimum for auto insurance. That’s above the national average, which seems to be around 15% of all drivers. To avoid getting stuck with someone else’s bill in an accident with an uninsured driver, you might want to consider adding uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage onto your policy.
Finding affordable coverage or getting denied for coverage because you’re considered a high-risk driver isn’t fun. With WAAIP, you can find options through the Western Association of Automobile Insurance Plans (WAAIP). You’ll be assigned an affordable provider through the WAAIP network of insurers. Any extra risk you pose to the insurance provider is spread across the network of companies.
Yes you can — and that might be a great option if you’re in need of insurance but don’t need a six-month or annual policy. Some examples of this might include renting a car, returning home on a break from college, or planning to sell your car within a few days or weeks of when your current policy expires.
If you’re stopped by police or are involved in an accident in Arizona and you don’t have car insurance, you face suspension of your license, registration and plates.
Arizona is one of 10 “No Pay, No Play” states. In these states, if you are in an accident and do not have your own car insurance, you’re limited in how much compensation you can receive for your injuries. For instance, you cannot receive compensation for “pain and suffering” — the legal term for physical and emotional stress that’s the result of an injury — but you can get reimbursed for related medical bills.
While most US states have a standard list of traffic and driving laws, the Grand Canyon State has a few you’ll want to make note of before hitting the road.
Most of Arizona’s other traffic laws are fairly standard — obey speed limits, obey all traffic signs and signals, and you should be just fine.
Laws concerning blood alcohol content (BAC) used to have some variance from state to state, but no more. No matter if you’re in Arizona or Maine, it’s illegal to drive with a BAC above 0.08%, and commercial drivers face even stricter rules with a BAC limit of only 0.04%. If you’re caught driving over the limit in Arizona, you’ll face hefty fines, a drivers license suspension and possibly even jail time for your first offense. Any subsequent instances of driving drunk, and the consequences quickly get more severe.
Yes you can. You may need an SR-22 form if you’ve been convicted of a severe moving violation, such as DUI/DWI or reckless driving, or if you’ve accumulated too many violation points on your drivers license in the past three years. An SR-22 form lets the state know that you’re carrying at least the minimum for auto liability insurance so you can legally drive again.
A car accident can leave you shaken and traumatized. Which is why it’s best to prepare for one so that you know the important steps to take afterward. If you’re in an accident, ensure that you’re safe and protect yourself against any unnecessary worries when processing your car insurance claim.
When you talk with the other drivers, never admit to fault for the accident. If you imply that you caused it, your car insurance company could refuse to pay your claim.
Arizona is not one of the 12 states that requires drivers to carry no-fault insurance. In states without no-fault coverage, insurance claims are typically paid out:
Arizona is a tort state. In tort states, you’re required to pay the medical expenses of any victim of an accident you’re at fault for. Victims also have the right to pursue compensation for lost wages and “pain and suffering” — the legal term for physical and emotional stress that’s the result of an injury.
Private citizens are not required to report car accidents that occur in the state. Instead, law enforcement will report the accident if it resulted in death or injury, damages in excess of $1,000 or a citation.
Although you aren’t required to report an accident, that doesn’t mean that you can leave if you were involved in any way. You must remain at the scene until police arrive, or risk a felony charge — fleeing the scene of an accident — and face possible suspension of your license.
You might not need a car accident attorney for a small property damage claim, like a fender bender or accidentally driving into a mailbox. However, it’s a good idea to at least consult with a lawyer for major car accidents that result in personal injuries to the driver or passengers, crashes due to negligence, preventable accidents because of road conditions or when your insurance won’t cover the entire cost of damages.
In Arizona, you have two years from the time of an accident to make a personal injury claim, and the same time limit applies to a property damage claim. This limit should allow enough time to discover any long-term effects from the accident, including internal bodily injuries or issues with your vehicle.
To drive in Arizona, you’ll need to purchase liability insurance or set up alternative means that can cost you at least $40,000. Research your car insurance options to find the cheapest coverage for your needs when driving in this sunny state.
finder.com is an independent comparison platform and information service that aims to provide you with the tools you need to make better decisions. While we are independent, we may receive compensation from our partners for placement of their products or services. We may also receive compensation if you click on certain links posted on our site. While compensation arrangements may affect the order, position or placement of product information, it doesn't influence our assessment of those products. Please don't interpret the order in which products appear on our Site as any endorsement or recommendation from us. finder.com compares a wide range of products, providers and services but we don't provide information on all available products, providers or services. Please appreciate that there may be other options available to you than the products, providers or services covered by our service.