Finder is committed to editorial independence. While we receive compensation when you click links to partners, they do not influence our opinions or reviews. Learn how we make money.

Compare car insurance after a DUI

How to get affordable car insurance after a drunk driving conviction.

Updated

Fact checked

A DUI isn’t the end of your time on the road, but it does mean it can be more difficult to find affordable car insurance. The bad news is that you can typically expect to pay higher premiums, but the good news is that not all insurers assess convicted drivers the same way.

How does a DUI affect car insurance?

While some insurance providers don’t place any significant premium increases on people convicted of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, other insurers won’t even offer coverage — or will only do so at a considerably higher price.

One of the main ways to find cost-effective car insurance is by shopping around. Drivers with DUIs can do the same, and shop around for a policy that has the right coverage at an affordable price, and fewer penalties for past offenses. There’s no one-size-fits-all approach, and getting multiple quotes from different insurers can help you see where you stand.

What are my car insurance options after a DUI?

Whether an insurance company will cover you after a driving conviction depends largely on its risk assessment style. In other words, different insurers will look at different factors when determining premiums.

For example, some might impose higher premiums on any driver with a previous DUI conviction — while another might raise costs based on how long your license was suspended, or not offer coverage until enough time has elapsed since your license suspension.

If you are unable to get insurance through a traditional carrier, you might have better luck with an insurance company that specializes in insuring high-risk drivers.

Best for SR-22 drivers: Dairyland

Flexible payment options and local agents make it easy for high-risk drivers to get covered.

  • Mobile app
  • One-on-one support
  • Same-day SR-22 filings
  • Flexible payment options
  • Mobile app
  • One-on-one support
  • Same-day SR-22 filings
  • Flexible payment options

Compare DUI car insurance

Name Product Roadside assistance New car protection Accident forgiveness Safe driver discount Available states
The General
Optional
Yes
All states except Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan and New Jersey
Basic, affordable coverage for almost any driver, including drivers with past claims or SR-22.
SafeAuto
AZ, GA, IL, IN, KS, KY, LA, MS, MO, OH, OK, PA, SC, TN, TX, VA
High-risk drivers can find no-frills policy at a decent price with multiple payment options.
National General
All 50 states
Nab flexible coverage and tremendous savings for drivers who have trouble finding coverage elsewhere. Talk to an agent at (833) 319-0553.
loading

Compare up to 4 providers

What is an SR-22 and why do I have to file one?

If you’re convicted of a DUI or DWI, you might be required to file an SR-22 to legally get back behind the wheel. In Florida or Virginia, you’ll have to file an FR-44.

An SR-22 or FR-44 is a document that your insurance company files with your state as proof you carry an active policy that meets minimum liability requirements. In other words, it’s your official proof of insurance to legally get back on the road.

Most providers charge a fee of $25 to $50 to file an SR-22 on your behalf. But the real cost of an SR-22 is the impact it has on your car insurance premiums. After a serious driving violation, you’re considered a high-risk driver, which means you could be looking at thousands of dollars more on your premium for as long as you need an SR-22 or FR-44.

How much will my insurance go up after a DUI?

While estimates vary based on your state previous convictions, most drivers can expect their rates to go up by about 50%.

Ask an expert: Do car insurance rates go up after a DUI?

Joe Hoelscher DUI lawyer

Joseph Hoelscher

Managing Attorney, Hoelscher Gebbia Cepeda PLLC

Most people don’t realize that even getting arrested or stopped for a DUI or DWI can affect insurance rates. A conviction isn’t required. This is because most states enforce laws requiring license suspensions and/or SR-22s for any drivers suspected of impaired driving. However, when a driver requests an SR-22 from their insurer, the insurer is likely to realize it’s for suspicion of DWI and react by raising rates or even refusing to renew coverage..

So, we advise our clients to obtain a “driver only” policy from a third party insurance company and request the SR-22 from them. Good DWI lawyers can often eliminate the negative driver history, prevent a license suspension, and avoid a conviction. In fact, sometimes we can have all of the records destroyed. However, it takes time, possibly years. So, by getting an SR-22 from a different insurer and through secondary coverage, drivers can protect their rates by not alerting their primary insurer to any problems before those problems have a chance to get resolved. It’s critical to do the process correctly, though, because adding coverage can be expensive and purchasing full coverage will cancel the primary coverage.

Average insurance rate increase after a DUI

StateAverage car insurancePremium increaseCost of insurance after DUI
Alabama$72354%$1,113
Alaska$87280%$1,570
Arizona$84437%$1,156
Arkansas$73668%$1,237
California$841103%$1,708
Colorado$85734%$1,149
Connecticut$1,049100%$2,097
Delaware$1,14631%$1,501
Florida$1,18540%$1,659
Georgia$89747%$1,318
Hawaii$76562%$1,239
Idaho$57443%$821
Illinois$803470%$1,366
Indiana$66656%$1,039
Iowa$59960%$958
Kansas$69846%$1,020
Kentucky$80248%$1,187
Louisiana$1,23262%$1,995
Maine$61856%$964
Maryland$1,01751%$1,535
Massachusetts$1,05967%$1,768
Michigan$1,2319%$1,342
Minnesota$78837%$1,079
Mississippi$82727%$1,051
Missouri$74539%$1,036
Montana$69339%$963
Nebraska$68258%$1,077
Nevada$98529%$1,271
New Hampshire$77579%$1,387
New Jersey$1,26647%$1,861
New Mexico$76346%$1,113
New York$1,23549%$1,840
North Carolina$656112%$1,389
North Dakota$63833%$848
Ohio$70331%$920
Oklahoma$82428%$1,054
Oregon$82826%$1,043
Pennsylvania$87825%$1,098
Rhode Island$1,14825%$1,435
South Carolina$85427%$1,084
South Dakota$61627%$782
Tennessee$73819%$878
Texas$93444%$1,345
Utah$78439%$1,090
Vermont$68067%$1,136
Virginia$75142%$1,066
Washington$88428%$1,132
Washington, DC$1,1900.30%$1,194
West Virginia$85559%$1,360
Wisconsin$66551%$1,004
Wyoming$65752%$998

Get instant SR-22 quotes online

Compare SR-22 car insurance from companies near you.

Your information is secure.

Need help? Call (877) 959-5072 toll-free to speak to an SR-22 specialist.

How much does a DUI cost?

Your insurance premiums going up is going to likely be among the least of your financial worries after a DUI conviction. In total a DUI averages almost $3,300 for fines, towing, bail and court, license fees, alcohol education and other related costs — but keep in mind some states have significantly lower financial penalties than others.

How to compare rates after a DUI

The penalties for drunk driving vary between states, which can also interact with car insurance prices in different ways depending on the situation. For example, depending on whether it’s the first offense, which state you’re driving in and the situation at the time, driving with a BAC of 0.05% to 0.08% may only lead to a suspended license.

Other factors considered may include:

  • Number of points on your license
  • Whether your license was revoked, or the length of suspension
  • If it was your first offense
  • Whether there were other charges, such as reckless driving, speeding or criminal charges
  • If you tested positive for other nonprescription drugs
  • Whether you refused a breathalyzer or drug test
  • How long ago it happened

Insurers set premiums based on factors that are statistically known to affect the likelihood of claims, which generally reflects how risky the driver is. The exact factors considered and how they work them into the prices vary between companies.

How long will the DUI affect me?

There are many ways in which a DUI will impact you. You could lose your license; you could go to jail. And it will almost certainly cause your insurance rates to rise.

Some providers set their own time limits for how long a DUI will affect your premiums. In general, you can expect increased premiums for three to seven years. But the length of time an offense stays on your driving record depends on your state’s laws. In California, a DUI stays on your driving record for 10 years, but in Florida it’s 75 years.

Bottom line

If you’ve been convicted of a DUI, it’s sure to impact your car insurance. Your insurer might drop you or raise your rates. But no matter the outcome, there are providers out there that will insure you. Take the time to compare your options to find the best one for your situation.

Get the cheapest quotes

Compare car insurance companies near you.

Your information is secure.

Frequently asked questions

Ask an Expert

You are about to post a question on finder.com:

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Finder.com provides guides and information on a range of products and services. Because our content is not financial advice, we suggest talking with a professional before you make any decision.

By submitting your comment or question, you agree to our Privacy and Cookies Policy and finder.com Terms of Use.

Questions and responses on finder.com are not provided, paid for or otherwise endorsed by any bank or brand. These banks and brands are not responsible for ensuring that comments are answered or accurate.
Go to site